Big rant on new build cpu

lifeishard

definitely not monitor or cable issue,
im using igpu afew days already while waiting for for the new gpu,
previously i already tried testing old gpu on this board with vga/hdmi cable, also no signal .

Missed out this...then why din you go ask them at that point of time? So now what you gonna do? Bring your rig go to that shop ask them test their gpu on your rig and your gpu on their rig to know is it mobo or gpu issue lor.

hlots123

Im angry because the shop did not test with their gpu , what they mentioned is that they tried using motherboard to monitor and its fine but what about pcie slot ? They didnt try
how abt all hdmi, dvi, dp, vga ports
all usb 2 ports
all usb 3 ports
all pci & pcie slots
all fan headers

of every mb they assemble for all their customers?

shadow84

Previously i used my old gpu to test cannot also , thats why i purchase a new gpu .
It might be the pcie slot faulty ? I dont know ,
I thought motherboard will be able to detect gpu faulty or pcie faulty even without connecting to monitor ?
power on with gpu and psu and check the led light from motherboard ?
Im angry because the shop did not test with their gpu , what they mentioned is that they tried using motherboard to monitor and its fine but what about pcie slot ? They didnt try

But, you did not buy gpu from them? If so, they have no obligations to test though. Also, you did not request for it.

ANyway, it would be better to bring down ur whole rig to test the gpu. And get a swap if its really DOA.

Ark Law

Previously i used my old gpu to test cannot also , thats why i purchase a new gpu .
It might be the pcie slot faulty ? I dont know ,
I thought motherboard will be able to detect gpu faulty or pcie faulty even without connecting to monitor ?
power on with gpu and psu and check the led light from motherboard ?

I missed out the bold part in your opening post. My personal possible conclusions

1) Both GPU old and new faulty

2) PCIE slot faulty

3) Your CoolerEncik PSU ki siao deliver out of spec current and chibabooming your GPU

When you ask the shop test for you, you should've requested to test video output on both onboard and dedicated GPUs to rule out motherboard being faulty. Do note however that they have no obligation to specifically test your GPU without a fee since that was bought separately.

iNoStandard

I missed out the bold part in your opening post. My personal possible conclusions

2) PCIE slot faulty

3) Your CoolerEncik PSU ki siao deliver out of spec current and chibabooming your GPU

When you ask the shop test for you, you should've requested to test video output on both onboard and dedicated GPUs to rule out motherboard being faulty. Do note however that they have no obligation to specifically test your GPU without a fee since that was bought separately.

2) PCIE slot faulty

The chances of both gpu faulty is definitely lower than pcie slot faulty , maybe im wrong .
And the psu coolermaster b600 v2 is the shop recommend one. I already ask her is 600 too much, she say no, she say is 520/550 is too low.
I still have my old psu but forgot what psu is that 520 or 550 and its already more than 4 years.
Well, anyway i apologise for being so angry, i already send my cpu to another shop to run full test, if its mobo faulty, i will just buy a better one. If gpu spoil, i will exchange it from qoo or the shop that sells it

iNoStandard

But, you did not buy gpu from them? If so, they have no obligations to test though. Also, you did not request for it.

ANyway, it would be better to bring down ur whole rig to test the gpu. And get a swap if its really DOA.

sorry, i did not know that they will not test using their gpu when installing.
i presume that when they install, pcie slot if okay.
but when i reach home to test with my old gpu, it unable to detect also.
whether my old gpu faulty or not compatible i also don't know.

shadow84

sorry, i did not know that they will not test using their gpu when installing.
i presume that when they install, pcie slot if okay.
but when i reach home to test with my old gpu, it unable to detect also.
whether my old gpu faulty or not compatible i also don't know.

I recommend u bring your current rig +gpu to nigel's shop at #02-32 at sls. He is more experienced and will help u. But make sure u tell him what you had done and dun presume things.

iNoStandard

I recommend u bring your current rig +gpu to nigel's shop at #02-32 at sls. He is more experienced and will help u. But make sure u tell him what you had done and dun presume things.

i already send it to another shop , friend recommended @ serangoon.
tomorrow than will know the result but for 1 to 1 exchange is it at the shop or customer service centre ?
if mobo faulty, should i contact qoo10 or the shop(madcow @ amk) already more than 7 days.
if gpu faulty, should i contact qoo10 or the shop(videopro @ sls) less than 2 days.

iNoStandard

bro it actually happens. sometimes u can be that unlucky and get a faulty gpu.

didn't u own another gpu previously? that gpu is faulty too or what?

yeah it happens and i hope im not the sway one.
i did try the old gpu on the motherboard using both vga/hdmi cable to monitor,
no signal as well.
this is the part where the shop previously did not check whether the old gpu works on the motherboard, they only check motherboard to monitor.
and i thought that they did check, my fault for not checking on the spot.
That's why i proceed to purchase the gtx 1060.
anyway i need to prepare to exchange either the motherboard or gpu

Crooni

i5 7500 have an igpu, use it. easiest way to see which is working

I5-7500 / msi h110m pro vhl
Zotac 1060 amp 6gb
Psu mastercooler 600b
8gb kingston ddr4
Ssd and hdd

Recived my gpu today and tried to plug in using hdmi cable to monitor as i do not have the dvi adapter yet.
At first unable to detect, no signal and show red led on motherboard (VGA)
Then i restart and it able to detect but after 5minutes of usage, the screen shows alot of lines and the screen like tearing then auto shut down . I tried to restart and try again, either no signal or lines appearing on screen then shut down.
I went down to the shop where i bought my motherboard, i ask her to check whats wrong with it and did she use gpu to check when she install the motherboard, she say yes, window startup but no windows install hence never check gpu.
I f***king f her up and say the motherboard that she sell has the LeD indicator to show hardware components faulty with the lights blinking, she like dont know anything .

Anyone able to assist on what is going wrong ?
Is it because i cannot use hdmi ? Only vga or dvi cable can ?

nowhere here did you state if/how you tested it

if your monitor have hdmi, your onboard have hdmi, why do you still need a dvi adapter?

also, did you seat your gfx cards properly?

shadow84

i already send it to another shop , friend recommended @ serangoon.
tomorrow than will know the result but for 1 to 1 exchange is it at the shop or customer service centre ?
if mobo faulty, should i contact qoo10 or the shop(madcow @ amk) already more than 7 days.
if gpu faulty, should i contact qoo10 or the shop(videopro @ sls) less than 2 days.

For mobo, go to distro if its faulty since it has passed 7 days mark.

For gpu, go back to shop for 1-1 exchange. Bring along the e-receipt. If the results are out and it has passed 7 days mark, go to distro.

But before all these, u need to find out where is the root cause first.

iNoStandard

i5 7500 have an igpu, use it. easiest way to see which is working

nowhere here did you state if/how you tested it

if your monitor have hdmi, your onboard have hdmi, why do you still need a dvi adapter?

also, did you seat your gfx cards properly?

i did not mention that i use dvi adapter for igpu to monitor :(
i have been using igpu since last week via hdmi cable to monitor.
i tried using vga and hdmi cable for old gpu to monitor, doesn't work.
i tried using hdmi cable for new gpu to monitor, doesn't work and i do not have dvi adapter.

iNoStandard

For mobo, go to distro if its faulty since it has passed 7 days mark.

For gpu, go back to shop for 1-1 exchange. Bring along the e-receipt. If the results are out and it has passed 7 days mark, go to distro.

But before all these, u need to find out where is the root cause first.

thanks for the reply
created so much unhappiness to you guys :(

darkarn

thanks for the reply
created so much unhappiness to you guys :(

Chill lol, we all can understand the frustration that comes with troubleshooting (especially for essential/time-critical equipment)

Just next time don't suka suka direct anger at anything/anyone and diagnose properly first; in such situations, usually the cooler head(s) will prevail :)

MianBaoFren

yeah it happens and i hope im not the sway one.
i did try the old gpu on the motherboard using both vga/hdmi cable to monitor,
no signal as well.
this is the part where the shop previously did not check whether the old gpu works on the motherboard, they only check motherboard to monitor.
and i thought that they did check, my fault for not checking on the spot.
That's why i proceed to purchase the gtx 1060.
anyway i need to prepare to exchange either the motherboard or gpu

i got this funny feeling that the mobo is faulty.

MianBaoFren

If I have to hazard a guess, I would say TS is trying to use a Kaby Lake CPU on a Sky Lake MB without updating the BIOS to support Kaby Lake.

i think it's updated actually if i recall properly. the bios support for the kabylake cpus were released quite some time ago by msi.

Koenig168

i think it's updated actually if i recall properly. the bios support for the kabylake cpus were released quite some time ago by msi.

The Kaby Lake BIOS was out a few months back. This does not mean that TS has updated the MB.

Encrypted11

If I have to hazard a guess, I would say TS is trying to use a Kaby Lake CPU on a Sky Lake MB without updating the BIOS to support Kaby Lake.

He has an older thread on this as well, apparently the system is already running an OS and has normal PC functionality.

Not sure if it's coincidence that he's experiencing this on the new card.
At least on his 560 Ti fermi, he probably can consider running driver 314.22 probably up to windows 8 or 359.00 before testing on this machine?
(The 2 well regarded releases during the time where drivers were frying some older cards)

He should be able to get at least one of the 2 cards working. In a less likely scenario, both cards are dead or less likely, the PCIe slot..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.