Blossoms by the Park

roflolmao

Because of the transformation around Science Park 1 and One North, and NP is RCR, mega launch & below 2000 psf. I would say NP is more Science Park 1 and One North instead of GSW which would only take shape after 2040.

I dont think you can find a new launch other than NP that matches these characteristics

1) RCR
2) Below 2000 psf
3) Large development/mega launch
4) Future transformation (Science Park 1 redevelopment & One North expansion)
5) Can be own-stay & rented out (Next to Science Park 1 and One North)

At the same time, there are many HDB upgrader profiles here that primarily look at walking distance to MRT, Hawker/Kopitiam and popular Primary School within 1km when buying new launches. NP obviously do not fit them.
I have no idea why people compare NP to one North area - have you tried walking to mrt from there? They say got bus but with such a huge project, need to go queue for bus and also fastest fingers first for the bbq pit

Also, where can go for supper or quick groceries? I don't like NP and they always try to benchmark to one North but we'll see when they actually TOP

pcmdan

Tiagong it's first floor also public access area
2nd floor den condo. Is like those integrated project concept..

First floor not really part of the condo since must give access to public to walk and the shops to survive

De SantaClaus

I have no idea why people compare NP to one North area - have you tried walking to mrt from there? They say got bus but with such a huge project, need to go queue for bus and also fastest fingers first for the bbq pit

Also, where can go for supper or quick groceries? I don't like NP and they always try to benchmark to one North but we'll see when they actually TOP
If i dont drive and stay at NP, i would take a bus from the AYE bus stop to Kent Ridge MRT.

haha this discussion is symbolic of why NP is hotly debated. RCR at OCR prices yet lacks the typical amenities that people would typically expect of RCR. Same for ASR, and the upcoming Pine Grove launch. Future developments typically drive capital gains. Science Park 1 redevelopment is already taking place and will continue in the future.

Maybe a better naming should be Greater One North where Grab HQ is. I do expect the empty lands around Grab to be eventually developed into more offices or campuses. Diagonally opposite NP.

There are restaurants at Ascent, Oasis, and at least 1 at NP itself. Or just drive out to wherever you like.

De SantaClaus

Haha either lousy project or super good project where all the towkays want to give the vibes that it's a lousy project so developer can't sense the demand

With condos all selling at 2.5k+ psf, I think 2.2k is a great price but reality is this will probably trade at 2.3k to 2.4k or even 2.5k psf
Let's see the launch day sales. I suspect the 'starting from 2.2k psf ' is more marketing gimmick to bait potential buyers to deposit cheque. Per floor increment will be large to bring the average to 24xx psf.

And also agent purchase, which was abnormally high for both NP & ONE.

marshmallow96

Looks can be deceiving - if you've been to Rochester residences and one North residences, their layout not good (loft or large balcony) and the psf is always diluted a bit
I know la… but Rochester 2BR is not loft and even you take out the balcony, the house itself still got a good 10xx sqft

marshmallow96

Haha me too leh i don’t know why people compare NP to One North area… they are so far apart 😅

marshmallow96

Let's see the launch day sales. I suspect the 'starting from 2.2k psf ' is more marketing gimmick to bait potential buyers to deposit cheque. Per floor increment will be large to bring the average to 24xx psf.

And also agent purchase, which was abnormally high for both NP & ONE.
Actually hor ONE was an even smaller development but I don’t remember it being slammed as badly as Blossom, cos better finishing and more reputable developer?

Just btw, the TT Lum video mentioned about comparison of ONE vs Blossom reminds me of the situation of Lakeville vs Lake Grande in Jurong - Lake Grande launched about 2 years after Lakeville with some 2 or 300 higher in psf? and now Lake Grande is limited upside in the resale market cos their entry price is higher than Lakeville but the age is only 2-3 years apart

MrGDebonair

So from what I can gather, basically the chief factor is entry price - Normanton Park was cheap and a proper condo so it was a good buy. Other reasons re proximity like people who buy condos have cars etc. are honestly not convincing to me because all things being equal even if you have a car you would like the condo to be near a MRT station for your kids, future resale etc.

As for Blossoms, went to see the show flat today, the layout and planning quite poor tbh, I find the unit layouts narrow and imo why they didn't build the 3BR dual key as it would look bad. High MCST fees and generally mediocre facilities as well.

I think it will sell very well though as there is little supply in the area and not many units to sell.

De SantaClaus

Actually hor ONE was an even smaller development but I don’t remember it being slammed as badly as Blossom, cos better finishing and more reputable developer?

Just btw, the TT Lum video mentioned about comparison of ONE vs Blossom reminds me of the situation of Lakeville vs Lake Grande in Jurong - Lake Grande launched about 2 years after Lakeville with some 2 or 300 higher in psf? and now Lake Grande is limited upside in the resale market cos their entry price is higher than Lakeville but the age is only 2-3 years apart
Issue with ONE is that even a good ballot number couldn’t allow you to buy a unit. The agents snapped it all up. Hopefully this will not be the case with Blossoms.

Lakeville vs Lake Grande is a great comparison. Side by side with similar number of units and just 2-3 years apart.

Advantage Blossoms have over ONE is the larger number of units and lower maintenance fees.

De SantaClaus

So from what I can gather, basically the chief factor is entry price - Normanton Park was cheap and a proper condo so it was a good buy. Other reasons re proximity like people who buy condos have cars etc. are honestly not convincing to me because all things being equal even if you have a car you would like the condo to be near a MRT station for your kids, future resale etc.

As for Blossoms, went to see the show flat today, the layout and planning quite poor tbh, I find the unit layouts narrow and imo why they didn't build the 3BR dual key as it would look bad. High MCST fees and generally mediocre facilities as well.

I think it will sell very well though as there is little supply in the area and not many units to sell.
Bingo ! Entry price & Supply/Demand.

There will probably never be a new launch RCR condo that has average launch price of 17xx psf.

All the Science Park / Greater One North redevelopment are bonuses.

Blossom buyers could get an immediate boost when Kingsford launch their Slim Barracks plot at a higher price.

Reputation aside, Kingsford is very good at pricing their launches to maximise their own profit. Which in this case, benefits Blossom buyers.

Narrow = lower sqft = lower quantum for investors 😅

roflolmao

Issue with ONE is that even a good ballot number couldn’t allow you to buy a unit. The agents snapped it all up. Hopefully this will not be the case with Blossoms.

Lakeville vs Lake Grande is a great comparison. Side by side with similar number of units and just 2-3 years apart.

Advantage Blossoms have over ONE is the larger number of units and lower maintenance fees.
Not much lower than ONE leh...

450 vs 550 even though 1.8x more units

ThinkCarefully

#####
One brother (now banned) and I are not fans of NP... you can read NP thread (one of the longest thread in this forum)

we think NP sales is due to timing... where farms. Trees and park projects all get sold out because really nothing much to buy...

anyway SSD ends 2024. We shall see.

####

ThinkCarefully

I found in general… discussion re anything in the west is less active, be it property forum here or school forum like KS parents 😅

#####

TT sharing what is good buy for investment. like Whistler Grand (west)
What is not so good buy, better not say, you watch and find out

it is not so much east, central or west but what is a Huat project

#####

De SantaClaus

#####
One brother (now banned) and I are not fans of NP... you can read NP thread (one of the longest thread in this forum)

we think NP sales is due to timing... where farms. Trees and park projects all get sold out because really nothing much to buy...

anyway SSD ends 2024. We shall see.

####
NP was launched on Jan 2021. There were still loads of units available at Treasure at Tampines. Jadescape, Whistler Grand, Park Colonial, Stirling, Daintree, Clavon, Forett, Penrose, Florence, Parc Clematis still had significant balance units then. PR8, ONE, Midtown Modern, Canninghill Piers, Watergardens etc not yet launched. Disagree on nothing much to buy.

Seemed like NSZ changed his opinion after seeing the post launch sales momentum despite price increases 😂

Anyway, I think those critical of NP values walkable to MRT, near Kopitiam/Hawker & within 1km of popular primary school greatly. I.e Attributes which typical HDB upgrader look for. NP doesn’t offer any of that.

We will see the results in 2024 once SSD expires for some buyers 😃. I do think ‘smart money’ got NP right.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.