BOND$ Inve$ting

0218crawford

CHeck with you ah, can a retiree be an AI on bond express? My lao bu keen to invest in these bonds but she's not working liao. Her acct >500k.
as long as show net financial asset >= 1mil. no need working.

if don't want to declare AI, then need to buy min 200k

darwinkoh

How to? Just show CDP and bank account balance? Everything done online.. or must go to their office to do onsite? Thanks.

0218crawford

How to? Just show CDP and bank account balance? Everything done online.. or must go to their office to do onsite? Thanks.
just look for their link to declare online. it will show their doc requirement. not overly tedious. though got to do it every 2 years.nvestment on their platform is counted. just redeclared mine yesterday when suddenly discovered cannot access. they dont warn you status expiring soon :(

reddevil0728

There are multiple ways to be AI. The platform you want to invest with will state.

instructions will be there

rayzzzz82

For min 200k, mind recommending which bonds are Singapore government related (for eg HDB, LTA, JTC, etc) and have yield of more than 3%. Was thinking of investing them

darwinkoh

just look for their link to declare online. it will show their doc requirement. not overly tedious. though got to do it every 2 years.nvestment on their platform is counted. just redeclared mine yesterday when suddenly discovered cannot access. they dont warn you status expiring soon :(
Many thanks for the info.

d5dude

For min 200k, mind recommending which bonds are Singapore government related (for eg HDB, LTA, JTC, etc) and have yield of more than 3%. Was thinking of investing them

No such thing exist unfortunately. You can try SGS bonds if you dun mind longer duration, 10+ year SGS was yielding north of 3% just a few days ago.

0218crawford

that would be the wholesale space. 1 lot is 250K. on fsmone bond selector page, just filter for currency SGD and type: sovereign/quasi sovereign. there are plenty of them to choose from. different tenors. most have fallen in price and can easily find many yielding 3% & more especially those HDB and LTA ones. you have to decide which is your favorite durian.

d5dude

that would be the wholesale space. 1 lot is 250K. on fsmone bond selector page, just filter for currency SGD and type: sovereign/quasi sovereign. there are plenty of them to choose from. different tenors. most have fallen in price and can easily find many yielding 3% & more especially those HDB and LTA ones. you have to decide which is your favorite durian.

I think most are under 3% or barely at 3% after accounting for 20bps annual platform fee and 0.35% processing fee. Only those ultra long duration 30+ year bonds yield over 3%.

And yes its min 250k for SGD wholesale bonds.

rayzzzz82

Thanks so much. I have filtered and find a list of bonds which are quite suitable. Btw, just a couple more questions. are the bonds under the custody of iFAST Pte Ltd? any idea what would happen to the bonds if iFAST face solvency issue?

0218crawford

WOW. Sign of times?
above 8% investment grade SGD issue!
Barclays PLC
just listed on BOND EXPRESS

I think I just buy 5K play play. :ROFLMAO:

0218crawford

Thanks so much. I have filtered and find a list of bonds which are quite suitable. Btw, just a couple more questions. are the bonds under the custody of iFAST Pte Ltd? any idea what would happen to the bonds if iFAST face solvency issue?

yep. ifast custodian. like custodian shares, bankruptcy no impact. BUT its best you clarify with them. best to hear it from the horse's mouth ya.

0218crawford

For this bond, can non-AI buy it?
can. 200k.
but be mindful its a perp AT 1 bond with loss absorption feature like all banks one.
if you dont understand the above statement, better if you do more research.
if you do, then still need to do research. ;)

0218crawford

Bond IssuerHousing and Development Board (HDB)
Bond Guarantor-
Bond CurrencySGD
Initial Price Guidance2.940
Tenure5 years
Expected Issue RatingsAAA by Fitch
Issuer RatingsAAA by Fitch
DenominationSGD 250,000 / SGD 250,000

Someone was looking for wholesale HDB Bond? lai lo. :LOL:

dappermen

i think the someone likely to be in SGS/SSB bond too or even FD, now many Cash-rich in sg dont know where to park

they likely will keep discussing ov there, u may wanna "repost"

this means "Initial Price Guidance" it has to be determined later ?

0218crawford

i think the someone likely to be in SGS/SSB bond too or even FD, now many Cash-rich in sg dont know where to park

they likely will keep discussing ov there, u may wanna "repost"

this means "Initial Price Guidance" it has to be determined later ?
Yep. IPG means guide only. normally is lower. i guessing 2.8%

rayzzzz82

Bond IssuerHousing and Development Board (HDB)
Bond Guarantor-
Bond CurrencySGD
Initial Price Guidance2.940
Tenure5 years
Expected Issue RatingsAAA by Fitch
Issuer RatingsAAA by Fitch
DenominationSGD 250,000 / SGD 250,000

Someone was looking for wholesale HDB Bond? lai lo. :LOL:
Thanks much for the listing.

Is this considered similar to an IPO? Any idea how to bid for this via bond express? What are the associated fees?

dappermen

if to use bond express, u need to be an AI, accredited investor first
Is this considered similar to an IPO? Any idea how to bid for this via bond express? What are the associated fees?
although many filthy rice born and bred here, how many could: i not even 1/10000th of this:
An individual:

• an individual whose personal income in the preceding 12 months is not less than SGD300,000 (or its equivalent in a foreign currency), or
  • an individual whose net personal assets exceed S$2miilion (or its equivalent in a foreign currency), or
  • an individual whose net financial assets (net of any related liabilities) exceed S$1miilion (or its equivalent in a foreign currency).

A corporation with net assets exceeding $10 million in value (or its equivalent in a foreign currency) or such other amount as the Authority may prescribe, in place of the first amount, as determined by:

• the most recent audited balance-sheet of the corporation; or
  • where the corporation is not required to prepare audited accounts regularly, a balance sheet of the corporation certified by the corporation as giving a true and fair view of the state of affairs of the corporation as of the date of the balance-sheet, which date shall be within the preceding 12 months.

d5dude

Thanks much for the listing.

This is a wholesale bond, min 250k, costs are 0.35% transaction fee + 0.20% annual recurring platform fee. If the yield is lower than IPG at 2.8% then you end up with only about 2.5x% after all costs. Current benchmark 5 yr SGS yield is higher than that at around 2.7%, so totally no point in buying this bond.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.