Bread is very expensive...

ZacharyA

I went to buy bread.
Looking for a affordable bread.
But those healthy bread is very expensive.
And those low quality one is chap.
I go for $1.90 bread. (Daily's wholemeal bread).

The poor will probably die faster while the rich enjoy healthy food.

On the way back, took a lift with one elderly lady.

She look at the bread n the price.
I told her bread very expensive.

She told me she buy one packet of bee hoon cost $5.

I told her everything getting expensive.

What you consume is just 1 way to determine your health. But a lot of things is more than just what you can afford financially. I think healthy lifestyle, jog / briskwalk often, eat fruits (which are relatively inexpensive), more veggie than meat, less processed food is equally or more important than what you can afford to purchase and consume daily.

Instead, I think you can live as long as or longer than ppl who are wealthier than you.

The difference I believe is if one is sick, the wealthier has access to better healthcare if it's cost prohibitive. Otherwise, so many factors, someone can be wealthy but inherited a lot of genetic issues from their parents / grandparents compared to somebody from a coolie background but the genes 10x of Jackie Chan.

Cyber_Ghost

Heng I bought wholemeal roti for rm4 (s$1.20), salad for rm6.59 (s$2) & peanut/ grape kaya for rm13.85 (s$4.20)~ :s22:

Lotus-gardenia-salad.jpg

Bonus: 30 eggs for rm8.25 (s$2.50)
KSL-lotus-eggs.jpg
you stay in JB ?

if not the transport or petrol (if driving) and all other toll charges etc etc is as good as buying from SG and no need to kena jam for 3 hrs.

chong18

Bread is one of the cheapest food around, if you find it expensive you have serious financial issues or TS just complain for the sake of complaining nia.. I see many young ppl spending $7-8bucks on breakfast daily. Kaya toast + eggs set $5-6 in cheapest kopitiam , fried beehoon+kopi C total also close to $7, one month easily spend $700 on food (mostly kopitiam food court hawker)
Learn to cook to save money.
Really need CDC vouchers to help lower COL.

sunsetbay

you stay in JB ?

if not the transport or petrol (if driving) and all other toll charges etc etc is as good as buying from SG and no need to kena jam for 3 hrs.

Pump full tank + groceries + pharmacy + makan with family can save alot~ toll charge ≈ s$7.60 can cover back with the saving~

if go in weekday can skip the jam~ or wait for RTS then can say bye bye to ntuc~ :s22:

Lchlch

Bread is one of the cheapest food around, if you find it expensive you have serious financial issues or TS just complain for the sake of complaining nia.. I see many young ppl spending $7-8bucks on breakfast daily. Kaya toast + eggs set $5-6 in cheapest kopitiam , fried beehoon+kopi C total also close to $7, one month easily spend $700 on food (mostly kopitiam food court hawker)
my life has changed 360 degree since a bad bad event happened to me.

fortunehunter

Can give break down how much you buy your fried bee hoon and kopi c for around 7 dollar?

Where you buy? Ya kun or toast box.

tanbrave

U shld hv told her. Did u voted for it? 😂

Even if 1 opts to cook at home. D ingredients r ex also.
My experiences very different.Normally I buy french loaf for 2 sin.But after 2 days ,got fungus growing.Overseas ,got dated clip on bread to show date of manufacture.But local due to undated , humidity,the bread spoils.Do you think the bread Co can be mandatory to have dates of manufacturing clips on every bread for sales.What do you think 🤔💬. Parliament don't bother and too small 🦐 and monitor lizard still around.

misterGomez

you IB doing OT??

verynormalguy

factory canteen close for one week. so yesterday go buy bread. swee heng. shock of my life... evn simple ham and cheese or hot dog $2.20... nothing below $2. i mean these are $0.02 flour wrapping a $0.10 slivers of ham and cheese... lucky govt reassure rental is not a big factor in shop's pricing.. if not maybe $5 per ham and cheese

miko66

you stay in JB ?

This one is not affordable !

This is kan silang cheap ah

几够力一下

carey

factory canteen close for one week. so yesterday go buy bread. swee heng. shock of my life... evn simple ham and cheese or hot dog $2.20... nothing below $2. i mean these are $0.02 flour wrapping a $0.10 slivers of ham and cheese... lucky govt reassure rental is not a big factor in shop's pricing.. if not maybe $5 per ham and cheese
Since G said rental is not a big factor, then must be the greedy bakers lor ;)

Kain999

Year | Bread Price | Weight | Price/100g | Wheat Price
---------|-------------|--------|------------|-------------
2022 | S$2.10 | 400g | S$0.525 | ~US$12.00
2023 | S$2.15 | 380g | S$0.566 | ~US$6.20
2024 | S$2.17 | 350g | S$0.620 | ~US$5.40

Price of wheat came down more than half since Ukraine war,
But prices still increase.

Conclusion is once price up, it won't go down.

Lchlch

Even rental (lets say ya), was low, stall owners or shop owners will still jack up the price too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.