[Build Log] Ebony and Ivory

monikernemo

ohh you got the haswell E ah. haha

borrow lor. usually people will test first. to be safe
Installed an air cooler TnT bought this deepcool neptwin tower heatsink from this guy for 40. Feels really light and cheap :O

My first time ever installing after market air cooler. H100i alot easier to install I swear...

Applied alot of pressure when installing CPU but Heng never brick the CPU or what

6a85c910-44cb-4b98-9244-96c92239446f318164966.jpg

Managed to boot !! No ram erors or what not so quite Heng. Abit kumgong forget to install pcie WiFi card...
f79d959f-6dc5-4a8b-bc5c-85822991185a1470844117.jpg

As for bios, abit luan but guess will navigate thru bah. Otherwise will try and update more soon!

Sent from microwave oven using GAGT

gaoxing84

ok la the bios. haha used to it.
but i oc once, i never go in again. haha

gaoxing84

Wah you jin satki set one time stable Liao Haha

Asus one last time keep tweaking, but quite accessible imo la.

either that or maybe it's basically the same thing just that I haven't gotten used to it

:(

no la. a few tries.
i meant once i get a good stable OC. i am done. haha
4.5ghz @ 1.235v sounds ok to me. haha

djdestiny

:OOO
Too generic Liao the name

Actually see how la but I purchased the flexi tubings Liao hmm think first loh.

Devil May Cry :s13:

Arghhh thanks Haha. I think may go with swiftech.

Dunch poison me hahaha :(

I going soft tube buy the tubes Liao paiseh haha

Hard tube for first timer looks daunting :o

My mate did acrylic tubing on first go :s13: For us we found a cheap way, like 1/5-1/10 the normal price :s13:
You can go with silverstone PWM splitter if can find, they're smaller and you don't need to bend your wires as much as the swiftech ...

Installed an air cooler TnT bought this deepcool neptwin tower heatsink from this guy for 40. Feels really light and cheap :O

My first time ever installing after market air cooler. H100i alot easier to install I swear...

Applied alot of pressure when installing CPU but Heng never brick the CPU or what

6a85c910-44cb-4b98-9244-96c92239446f318164966.jpg

Managed to boot !! No ram erors or what not so quite Heng. Abit kumgong forget to install pcie WiFi card...
f79d959f-6dc5-4a8b-bc5c-85822991185a1470844117.jpg

As for bios, abit luan but guess will navigate thru bah. Otherwise will try and update more soon!

Used to have a neptwin. They're heavy... And cheap feeling? I don't think so :s13:

monikernemo

Devil May Cry :s13:

My mate did acrylic tubing on first go :s13: For us we found a cheap way, like 1/5-1/10 the normal price :s13:
You can go with silverstone PWM splitter if can find, they're smaller and you don't need to bend your wires as much as the swiftech ...

Used to have a neptwin. They're heavy... And cheap feeling? I don't think so :s13:
DMC? Never a fan of that LOL

Was considering that too looks more elegant hmm but that thing is not to see daylight anyways so... Whats the 'cheap' way? I bought tubings already so might as well.

It feels really light imo compared to DRP3?

monikernemo

b3ef3404-f226-4e52-8fed-083390c731651596377194.jpg

Small updates:

Test painted three of the grommets, only this one slightly better/presentable... tore the paint off two of the other grommets. Even so, this one not very even. Looks okay for a 5 feet mod

Wasted alot of spray just to spray one! Maybe going to line them up one shlot just to paint to save some paint.
036734bb-9763-4195-a8da-158a12aa5dbd-466733904.jpg

Used a hairdryer to hasten drying.
For now it looks like this...

39 more grommets to go.

Barrow fittings arrived yesterday!
d03f6a6b-f569-4a4b-97f8-a0bae11e559c1218507785.jpg

Very solid, but imperfect paint jobs here there haha. Thanks to gaoxing for sharing!!

Ball valve is really tight though, can't get it to close shut. See if can loosen or not using Allen key.

monikernemo

58c481cc-9cde-4c91-93f0-dc8c0634a1c6-1397621618.jpg

b17c6b0e-0f8e-4599-8e4d-c308bdbb609d279808350.jpg

On a bad camera, sure doesn't look too bad...

But up close looks quite uneven.

Need to focus on the 'antennas' abit more.

The paint comes off really easily if you flex the rubber alot. The rubber coating coming off this one because i bent it quite vigorously earlier. Might be redoing as well...

Prolly the structure of the rubber breaks up and stretches, becoming looser and less adhesive to the surface when you bend it.

djdestiny

DMC? Never a fan of that LOL

Was considering that too looks more elegant hmm but that thing is not to see daylight anyways so... Whats the 'cheap' way? I bought tubings already so might as well.

It feels really light imo compared to DRP3?

Deepcool heatsinks are already comparably the heaviest on the market ... And DRP3 is just ENORMOUS.

58c481cc-9cde-4c91-93f0-dc8c0634a1c6-1397621618.jpg

b17c6b0e-0f8e-4599-8e4d-c308bdbb609d279808350.jpg

On a bad camera, sure doesn't look too bad...

But up close looks quite uneven.

Need to focus on the 'antennas' abit more.

The paint comes off really easily if you flex the rubber alot. The rubber coating coming off this one because i bent it quite vigorously earlier. Might be redoing as well...

Prolly the structure of the rubber breaks up and stretches, becoming looser and less adhesive to the surface when you bend it.

Paint on a rubber is a bad idea. Did it once and the moment something touched it bye bye goes the paint.

monikernemo

Deepcool heatsinks are already comparably the heaviest on the market ... And DRP3 is just ENORMOUS.

Paint on a rubber is a bad idea. Did it once and the moment something touched it bye bye goes the paint.

Read alot about rubber and paint. The issue is that while most paint coatings are rigid, rubber is flexible so therefore the paint wears easily. I'm using plastidip Btw, and do find that it is easy for the paint to come off the rubber too despite its rather elastic nature.

Well thanks for the info on heatsinks Haha as I've said this is my second heatsink. Drp3 being the first.

djdestiny

Read alot about rubber and paint. The issue is that while most paint coatings are rigid, rubber is flexible so therefore the paint wears easily. I'm using plastidip Btw, and do find that it is easy for the paint to come off the rubber too despite its rather elastic nature.

Well thanks for the info on heatsinks Haha as I've said this is my second heatsink. Drp3 being the first.

Rubber paint + rubber = double disaster :s13:

Well to be fair it's not supposed to be heavy. The Assassin is the true definition of heavy ...

In fact if light = cheap, then I suppose ALL CM heatsinks feels cheap then :s13:

monikernemo

Updates:

Sold pump and reservoir, going for a D5 combo with reservoir tube from Barrows.
Comes with a pump cover as well! Looks like this:
gpavT9tl.jpg

As such, going to reorganise the original order as well.

Ordered two strips of 60cm LED at 18 rmb!!

And some white blank keycaps.

monikernemo

Painted the grommets:
rqn9in3l.jpg

QaseRsBl.jpg

Just a very slight coat, too thick then will form the distinctive plastidip layer making it easy to come off.
LWB2lKGl.jpg

Not bad far away huh.

3lIsva0l.jpg

LOOK AT MT WHITE ARMY!!

:o :o

Meanwhile, waiting for stuff to come. Led lights, pump kit and more fittings taobao. Mainframe finally (after two months) tell me that the cabled extensions will be shipped!

Haven't settle the fan hub, and still finalising loop set up. Once fittings and cables come will start with the water blocks!

monikernemo

Almost completed! Just a sneak peak of progress:

XEcb5RCl.jpg

rREw2rNl.jpg

Sold off PSU because wanted to mount rad horizontally, but base of the rad was too thick, making it incompatible with the mounting holes of the case. Have to source for new psu in the interim sigh~

The rads are freaking hard to install!! Had just one set of screws to secure the fans and rads together along with he case. After installing the first fan, you have to push and slide another fan between the rad and casing.

The rubber anti vibration pads of these noctuas added much resistance, making it infinity times harder.

CPU block on the other hand was a breeze thanks to the 2011-3 socket.

Assembling GPU block:

Quite tacky to remove the screws, some of them almost wouldn't budge!! Had to put some pressure in them to generate enough friction to turn

fS0W8fil.jpg
CjGPIvAl.jpg

N93cTsJl.jpg

Shiny GK-110 silicon!
gSK4HpVl.jpg

Put on thermal paste and thermal pad.

Hmm didn't use kaya method because don't have any spare credit cards to use... Moi is chao peasant.

b5aZkHyl.jpg

vV1Semdl.jpg

Tada~~ virgin water block experience.

Not really difficult, though can be daunting initially if you don't know anything. All in all feels like removing a CPU cooler just, that this is more massive.

Hopefully pump accessories, led, keyboard stuff (from taobao) and cables (f*** lutroo man so long Liao still diao there) comes soon!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.