[Build Log] Ebony and Ivory

gaoxing84

UT60 Rad?
i can fit leh.
but tight between PSU and RAD.

PSU must get AXI one if you want shorter length.

monikernemo

UT60 Rad?
i can fit leh.
but tight between PSU and RAD.

PSU must get AXI one if you want shorter length.

Yeap ut 60 haha

Could it be the revision of the case different uh? Bought 'second hand', previous user never even open haha.

Had a leadex 750 but like too long the PSU and connectors also poking out Haha making it impossible.

The holes cannot even match for some reason. hmm maybe I do wrong or what. The base/end with one port quite too thick pushing it out of place. But since out upright Liao lazy Liao haha

Sent from microwave oven using GAGT

monikernemo

1DGENOcl.jpg

Tada~~

Ghetto mounted the pump-res combo.

The mounting plate couldn't fit in vertical orientation so tilted it horizontally and mounting using he bolts and screws provided.

Had a sibei hard time trying to fit the tubings into the fittings scared use too much force so ended up spending alot of time.

How does it look? Any comments? Hahaha

Waiting for cables to come while I decide which new PSU to use. Shuibian order fanhub, maybe coolant?

shadow84

From front rad to gpu, u might wanna consider running tube behind the pump? Cutting across dun look nice.

Also, maybe it would be good to connect gpu to top rad then to cpu? With your route, you will be pushing hot water into the cpu then to rad. Your cpu cooling might not be good.

Lastly, how you fill up the coolant? And you got drain pipe?

monikernemo

From front rad to gpu, u might wanna consider running tube behind the pump? Cutting across dun look nice.

Also, maybe it would be good to connect gpu to top rad then to cpu? With your route, you will be pushing hot water into the cpu then to rad. Your cpu cooling might not be good.

Lastly, how you fill up the coolant? And you got drain pipe?
Got one kkj in front
kKD5ch7l.jpg

LOL adding cable tie later bah.

Using front radiator top to fill bah, just use one extra fitting to fill?

Hmm initially wanted to put a rad between that, but saw a vid from YouTube (jayzee two cents iirc) stating that no difference because the temperature of the fluid will be constant. I will find the video later

Does the criss cross front tube to gpu look distracting? Hahaha. Okay think of a way.

shadow84

Got one kkj in front
kKD5ch7l.jpg

LOL adding cable tie later bah.

Using front radiator top to fill bah, just use one extra fitting to fill?

Hmm initially wanted to put a rad between that, but saw a vid from YouTube (jayzee two cents iirc) stating that no difference because the temperature of the fluid will be constant. I will find the video later

Does the criss cross front tube to gpu look distracting? Hahaha. Okay think of a way.

Not a good idea to top up coolant from rad as there is no coolant in the res/pump. I kena scolded by the pros with that idea initially and changed to top res filling with multi ports.

If you like your front rad to fill out, do include a stopper. But i prefer ball valve. And u sure u can close the front panel?

As for tubing cross, its IMO. If u like, can lr.

monikernemo

Not a good idea to top up coolant from rad as there is no coolant in the res/pump. I kena scolded by the pros with that idea initially and changed to top res filling with multi ports.

If you like your front rad to fill out, do include a stopper. But i prefer ball valve. And u sure u can close the front panel?

As for tubing cross, its IMO. If u like, can lr.
mm I see...

Because the ports on this barrow res quite close, cant get another fitting to go over it but I go yan jiu yan jiu how am I gonna do it.

Front panel can close haha tested also just that I had to take out the filter. The black end is a barb fitting with a stopper.

Mmm now that you say about the crossing, I dont want my pump cover to be covered completely. Gamxias

shadow84

mm I see...

Because the ports on this barrow res quite close, cant get another fitting to go over it but I go yan jiu yan jiu how am I gonna do it.

Front panel can close haha tested also just that I had to take out the filter. The black end is a barb fitting with a stopper.

Mmm now that you say about the crossing, I dont want my pump cover to be covered completely. Gamxias

Reason is that the pump will spoil as there is no water coming from res.

U can consider getting a T-joint at the top of the res. From your pic, i can presume its top rad out to top res port in? Maybe add a T-joint at that part, one for incoming coolant from rad, another for fill port. Once done, can use a stopper to close it.

But, good if you have multi port res for both top and bottom.

monikernemo

Reason is that the pump will spoil as there is no water coming from res.

U can consider getting a T-joint at the top of the res. From your pic, i can presume its top rad out to top res port in? Maybe add a T-joint at that part, one for incoming coolant from rad, another for fill port. Once done, can use a stopper to close it.

But, good if you have multi port res for both top and bottom.
Plausible also mm

But how does a fillport work uh? Like quite unintuitive leh. Maybe get one to play LOLOL.

The other port for the res top quite close to the port I connect rad to res. Have clearance issues adding another fitting just to fill, unless I use syringe.
But see if taobao got options to change or not

shadow84

Plausible also mm

But how does a fillport work uh? Like quite unintuitive leh. Maybe get one to play LOLOL.

The other port for the res top quite close to the port I connect rad to res. Have clearance issues adding another fitting just to fill, unless I use syringe.
But see if taobao got options to change or not

Its just a fitting to connect ur tube nia.. lol... I put a 90 degrees adaptor + straight fitting to connect my tube. From there, i connect to a funnel and slowly fill up. Once done, remove piece by piece and put the stopper on but loosely as i wan air to escape.

monikernemo

Its just a fitting to connect ur tube nia.. lol... I put a 90 degrees adaptor + straight fitting to connect my tube. From there, i connect to a funnel and slowly fill up. Once done, remove piece by piece and put the stopper on but loosely as i wan air to escape.

I thought like you meant the special type of fitting "fillport" so can be generic straight fitting uh?

I think try to do it from res top bah less complicated. I think if do from top rad add t joint to fill very hard to close later. May have spills right if I intend to remove the straight fittings later.

Or unless I make it a permanent fixture, I don't remove the tubing and add a seal later on. If thats the case may as well get 90 deg, open up one more port on top rad to fill instead of getting a t joint?

But top res port still most elegant? Chop chop, no spills and frills, connect when needed and can double up as port for air to escape.

gaoxing84

Haha not a pro but fill port I think logically also must fill into res first. So when you kick-start the res. The coolant will flow thru the pump.

The drain port at the front? Removable?

monikernemo

For me I use the ball valve. Haha looks nicer. And use a stopper.
At my bottom rad.

Psu Axi liao haha short and good. Lol
Mine is hidden behind the front panel hahaaha so doesn't matter bah.

The ball valve sibei tight leh. How you loosen it uh?

For some weird reason my UT60 240mm rad cannot even fit front panel. Got it second hand though. Could it be a old version?

The base of the rad with one port like got some clearance issue with front panel.

shadow84

For some weird reason my UT60 240mm rad cannot even fit front panel. Got it second hand though. Could it be a old version?

The base of the rad with one port like got some clearance issue with front panel.

Turn it upside down, with the 7th port at the top. I faced that issue as well, its 750d poor design for front rad support.

monikernemo

DAS keyboard keycaps replacement!

Removed all the keys to clean them. Used cotton buds and some isopropyl alcohol to clean underneath the keycaps.

3TX1HT6l.jpg

The extended longer keys (save spacebar) were really tricky to remove. Really afraid that I may bend the metal piece or even the stabilisers (is that the correct word/name?)

OkbVr4Al.jpg

Some keys were almost impossible to remove, like the Esc key. The type of keycaps removers were not the 'wire types'. If not, maybe I weren't daring enough.

The two long keys (+ and enter) at the number pads were left untouched because the plastic stabilisers were really hard to remove from to the cherry stem of the original key cap. The plastic stabilisers were already stretching and bruising (like what happens when you try to stretch a plastic bag). Maybe will do them another time.

That being said, left some keys black intentionally so it looks a little asymmetrical and different.

The keycaps from taobao were PBTs (I suppose). Feels really different from stock keycaps of the DAS. The DAS feels smoother whereas the ones from taobao had a slightly coarser texture on them. DAS also seem to be a little lower than the stock keycaps. I prefer the coarse texture more than the original keycaps, but that's just my two cents.

gaoxing84

i put it flat on on the base. my res not long so ok.
photon 170 with d5 pump integrated.

go see my build lor.

don't like the rad to face the front leh haha the clearance below the case better than front cause of filter and the cover.

with the drain port. can close the filter bo?

the ball valve from barrows ok leh. looks good..

^shadow, my ball valve and rotary ok already, not loose. managed to stay in place. haha looks damn good.

got the idea from OCN to put the drain port there.

monikernemo

i put it flat on on the base. my res not long so ok.
photon 170 with d5 pump integrated.

go see my build lor.

don't like the rad to face the front leh haha the clearance below the case better than front cause of filter and the cover.

with the drain port. can close the filter bo?

the ball valve from barrows ok leh. looks good..

^shadow, my ball valve and rotary ok already, not loose. managed to stay in place. haha looks damn good.

got the idea from OCN to put the drain port there.
Yeah I removed the filter though. Feels quite haphazard for now.

If not wait for the high air flow I
Front panel to come into sg bah. Not really particular so... I think I can live without Haha. Worse case just see if can buy any aftermarket 240mm magnetic filters and place it directly in front of intake rad.

I ordered one but cannot get to close it shut. Really tight.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.