Car owner maths ??!?!

Unic0rn

Think once the car gets older the repair cost will increase as wear and tear set in. This is not avoidable one, and varies with different people different car. See heng-suay. So, it will average out more or less somewhat.

One thing with rental, what they pay is what they get. They don't have to worry and think about all the other costs or added. Anything wrong, just throw back to the rental. Thus less hassle for them perhaps.

But with quite some of those smaller rental, think they don't really keep the car tip top lah. Just can go on the road. Need to really spoilt liao then then bother. If not, non critical and such ask them they might not bother mch also.
Bro Ethan, I don’t agree with you on rental, the rental cars are overused and under maintenance 👨🏽‍🔧 there are news of them malfunctioning during drive and that is very dangerous especially for brake failure 😨. I prefer my own car that is only used sparingly by me everyday (low mileage) from home to office/lunch to gym/shopping mall to home with good fuel 98 and regular maintenance 👨🏽‍🔧 once every 6 months checks, change oil, check brakes fluid, check tyre pressure, check alignment and replace the worn out parts. Anyway the german car BMW drives much smoother, quieter and easier (individual opinion) compares to riding on private hire vehicles or rental vehicles.

Meemoosaa

PHV ride is not guaranteed when you urgently need one. Car owner travel as and when they need at similar cost…

During the days before PHV, yes this is a huge problem plus the inconvenience of standing on the road to keep flagging for one like an idiot or go through phone calls wondering if it will ever arrive. lol

The arrival of all the phv apps totally changed the game.

I think i would have definitely gotten a car if not for phv these days as I don't deny having your own car is the best (at a cost and effort).

Meemoosaa

Bro Ethan, I don’t agree with you on rental, the rental cars are overused and under maintenance 👨🏽‍🔧 there are news of them malfunctioning during drive and that is very dangerous especially for brake failure 😨. I prefer my own car that is only used sparingly by me everyday (low mileage) from home to office/lunch to gym/shopping mall to home with good fuel 98 and regular maintenance 👨🏽‍🔧 once every 6 months checks, change oil, check brakes fluid, check tyre pressure, check alignment and replace the worn out parts. Anyway the german car BMW drives much smoother, quieter and easier (individual opinion) compares to riding on private hire vehicles or rental vehicles.

Also a good point, while depending on phv is hassle free but the kind of cars and drivers that come to pick you up is also heng suay. To be fair, on most days they are fine, but on some days, some cars or drivers that come also a bit weird and uncomfortable but that's a first world problem.

I've also had Alfa Romeo, BMWs, Mercedes 2 doors sporty kind, hitch driver before. Beautiful cars. I often wonder why they are doing hitch or maybe parents cars but some of them are not all that young either. The most unforgettable one is the Alfa Romeo where he had his girlfriend next to him. :s13: .

Song Bro

$2000 for a month.
$24,000 for a year.
$240,000 for 10 years.
A standard Toyota Corolla Altis now cost $164,488 (according to sgcarmart).
I will buy a car. :)
Errr...

Cost of having a Car:
Monthly Expenses: $2000
Having a car for 10 years = 164,488/10years/12mth = $1370
Total: $3370/mth

Cost of taking grab /taxi:
i.e $20/trip, 365days usage = $608/mth

Meaning: 3370/608 = 5.5 times travel if by grab per day, everyday to be worth it

gnoes85

A person that owns and drive his car is more man than one that takes public transport.

gnoes85

Errr...

Cost of having a Car:
Monthly Expenses: $2000
Having a car for 10 years = 164,488/10years/12mth = $1370
Total: $3370/mth

Cost of taking grab /taxi:
i.e $20/trip, 365days usage = $608/mth

Meaning: 3370/608 = 5.5 times travel if by grab per day, everyday to be worth it
The monthly expenses includes the car price

Mecisteus

I don't get $15 everytime, sometimes it's only $10 - $12.

And why would I go to Orchard everyday during peak hours ?

When I'm not in a rush during the weekends, I take public transport or hitch that's why I was in their car ?! Of course when not in the mood, will use phv too. Admittedly, I do use a lot of phv but not everyday lah.

My monthly phv expenses is around $400 - $500 every month. Sometimes reaching $600. Can I get a car with that including cost of car + COE ?

Say even if my monthly phv expenses is close to $2K per month which is A LOT OF PHV ( 80 trips of $25 ! Lol) , it's also not any more expensive than owning a car right ? But don't know why the car owners gasp and feel like taking phv prices are so out of this world for them. lol.. I just find it amusing.
You are doing the right thing.

Taking phv occasionally can be cheaper than owning a car in SG.

If you are a salesman who is always on the move, then a car is probably worth it.

cosmothecat

Oh, easy. It is called "sunk costs"

Since we already paid for the car and COE in full, we use or don't use the car also same amount already paid (sunk costs).

Hence, car owners usually don't think about the sunk costs anymore but rather compare the variable costs per trip (example: petrol to travel for 10km, parking for 2 hours, ERP if any, etc)

Meemoosaa

dont know abt u guys
i no car i will hv no life..period

That was what happened to my retired parents who had a car all their life. After they gave up their car, had identity crisis, it seems like they don't know how to live a fulfilling life anymore. Everyday just stay home, get depressed which I suspect fuelled all the various illnesses. Ask them take grab as if asking them to eat poison.

Meemoosaa

Oh, easy. It is called "sunk costs"

Since we already paid for the car and COE in full, we use or don't use the car also same amount already paid (sunk costs).

Hence, car owners usually don't think about the sunk costs anymore but rather compare the variable costs per trip (example: petrol to travel for 10km, parking for 2 hours, ERP if any, etc)

But sunk cost still cost, how can not count towards overall expenses ? That's why I think its car owner math lor. Machiam false economy ma.

I thought I was missing out on some secret formula or something.

Unic0rn

Also a good point, while depending on phv is hassle free but the kind of cars and drivers that come to pick you up is also heng suay. To be fair, on most days they are fine, but on some days, some cars or drivers that come also a bit weird and uncomfortable but that's a first world problem.

I've also had Alfa Romeo, BMWs, Mercedes 2 doors sporty kind, hitch driver before. Beautiful cars. I often wonder why they are doing hitch or maybe parents cars but some of them are not all that young either. The most unforgettable one is the Alfa Romeo where he had his girlfriend next to him. :s13: .
I sat before BMW Z4 the car was quite low with the convertible roof up, have to be careful when going into the car to avoid unintended exposure topside and bottom side 😊

Orphan

Thanks for the detailed response. I think you nailed it... both driver and myself were probably comparing apples to oranges at the same time. The few hitch drivers who gasped at full fare are usually the ones with family without realizing my preferred lifestyle. Lol

I grew up with a family car most of my life so I know the awesomeness of having a car (and also very familiar with all the issues that comes with owning one). I get all that public vs private toilet thing, but it's not like the cost is so out of this world for $10 - $15 for 8km ? That's why I'm puzzled that they often have such huge reactions but I guessed they are assuming I do everything using the car - from picking up kids, tuition, visiting parents to everything else, none of which is a challenge nor an issue to me as a dink without a car.

As for the pointers you listed.... cannot be quantified using maths, I agree with you too and I can live with it for now. But lol @ loose bowels !!!

Regarding loose bowels: real experience but to a lesser degree - wife sat on a wet seat on a bus once. It was those blue coloured half velvet - half leather soft seats. The velvet part was wet, but because of the dark colour, can't really tell that it was wet.

Wife's first reaction when she felt something weird was of course to use her hand to touch/feel the seat to see whether it is really wet. Then she smelled urine on her hand...

Previous commuter pee'd in their pants on that seat...

We immediately alighted at the next stop, washed hands in the toilet and cleaned up using tissue as much as possible, then cancelled plans so that we can go home and change clothes. Didn't sit for the trip back. (But imagine if we didn't give a damn and sat on another seat on the bus when making our way home...)

Also imagine that if she was wearing a short skirt instead of jeans that day...direct skin contact with someone else's urine...

What if it wasn't urine, but number 2?

We can now laugh about it, but it spoilt our plans and the whole day back then. Also a life long lesson plus life long phobia.

When we use public facilities ( swimming pool, public transport seats/handle bars, seats in hawker centers/benches at the beaches etc), we know and readily acknowledge/accept a certain level of risk/dirtiness. However, this incident was a bit too intense.

Meemoosaa

I sat before BMW Z4 the car was quite low with the convertible roof up, have to be careful when going into the car to avoid unintended exposure topside and bottom side 😊

Ocasionally when those low convertibles come as hitch, I would be like f****&^&£^$£** ............. ! I'm not so young anymore and the last thing I want to do is to bend up and down for those low seats and "exercise" my knees. 😓 lol. But no car, can't hiam hitch. :s13:

endlssorrow

I sometimes take grab hitch and ocasionally driver (car owner) will ask how much is the usual full fare to my destination, I said around $15 during peak hours and around $10 during off peak. This is for about 7-8km and I do it almost every day, one way. Without fail, they would always freaked out, gasped and said "wahhh so expensive ah".

I don't understand, they own a car, how is $10 - $15 for 7km any more costly than all their car cost and expenses added up ? At first I thought it was only one or two weirdos who can't do maths but then it happened a few more times.

I know there's girl maths, but is this a car owner maths thing or what ?

Are there any secret maths formula that car owners is aware of that I don't ? Unless the car + COE was gifted to them by someone else, how is it possible that taking a phv is more expensive than owning a car (any car!) right ?

Can edwmers pls enlighten ?
Simple maths
if u have to travel 10 to 20km and about 4-8 trips before get back home, u try grab u can Rajan snot lor

Meemoosaa

Regarding loose bowels: real experience but to a lesser degree - wife sat on a wet seat on a bus once. It was those blue coloured half velvet - half leather soft seats. The velvet part was wet, but because of the dark colour, can't really tell that it was wet.

Wife's first reaction when she felt something weird was of course to use her hand to touch/feel the seat to see whether it is really wet. Then she smelled urine on her hand...

Previous commuter pee'd in their pants on that seat...

We immediately alighted at the next stop, washed hands in the toilet and cleaned up using tissue as much as possible, then cancelled plans so that we can go home and change clothes. Didn't sit for the trip back. (But imagine if we didn't give a damn and sat on another seat on the bus when making our way home...)

Also imagine that if she was wearing a short skirt instead of jeans that day...direct skin contact with someone else's urine...

What if it wasn't urine, but number 2?

We can now laugh about it, but it spoilt our plans and the whole day back then. Also a life long lesson plus life long phobia.

When we use public facilities ( swimming pool, public transport seats/handle bars, seats in hawker centers/benches at the beaches etc), we know and readily acknowledge/accept a certain level of risk/dirtiness. However, this incident was a bit too intense.

Intense indeed ! :sick: Damn, that was really unlucky of her.

These days no more velvet cushion seats anymore.

charsiewfan

I prefer to control my car than let some Siaolang speedster driving me

and_who

Simple fact is that without car owner “math” you wouldn’t have your hitch rides almost everyday. Without your parents’ car, you wouldn’t enjoy all your convenience.

I wouldn’t question and debate and even worse refer to all your parents’ problems, I would be grateful for the ride 😂

Meemoosaa

Simple maths
if u have to travel 10 to 20km and about 4-8 trips before get back home, u try grab u can Rajan snot lor

The question wasn't is it better to own a car for 20km to and for a day but rather how is $10 - $15 for a 7km ride so out of this world for someone who pays so much to have a car ? Even if it's not any cheaper, it would be thereabouts.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.