Typical govt logic. HDB flats are on LOAN to you even if you buy it. Because at the end of the days its PUBLIC housing i.e. property of HDB. So everything you do needs permission. Why do you think you even have to apply for a permit to renovate your own flat?i didnt know we need approvals for installing cctv in the house... (so do we need approvals for a webcam as well? lol) anyway, it's just one of the laws that's around but not strongly enforced... who cares?
Have asked HDB before and basically their reply is regardless of whether you install outside or inside your flat, you need their permission. That's right, even if INSIDE your flat.Can install between the door and gate not? Coverage is just your own corridoor
Can the police / neighbor claim footage from you even if no crime?

Have asked HDB before and basically their reply is regardless of whether you install outside or inside your flat, you need their permission. That's right, even if INSIDE your flat.
HDB will liaise with police to see the reason you need CCTV and a TEMPORARY permit is given. For e.g. if you say got loan shark and have made police report and after liaise with police HDB say ok, you can install for 3 months, or 6 months or whatever period HDB says. After that must take down. If still got loan shark then you must apply again.
For outside the flat its hard to flout this as anytime HDB can check. Even if your neighbour don't object, if someone from HDB or town council happen to see and the fellow kaypoh, he can go and check if your unit have applied for permit and if no, then they will come and question you.
For inside the flat I don't think anyone gives a sh*t about HDB rules. I know MANY people install CCTV in their flats whether is to keep an eye on the maid, or to see if got intruders. HDB has better things to do then randomly go around to see if flat owners have "illegally" installed CCTV inside their flats.
Personally, I think its really stupid to have these rules. As far as outside the flat is concerned, as long as your CCTV don't aim directly at the neighbour's door, it should be allowed. Personally, I will be very grateful if my neighbour has a CCTV outside his flat because it makes my flat safer too.
When a potential thief sees a CCTV around, chances are he will avoid breaking into flats near that area in case he gets caught.
But we all know what the govt and govt linked organisations are like. They think they are damn smart. No matter what you say they will not listen.![]()
Well you can aim the CCTV to right in front of your door so there is no privacy issues but even then they don't allow itFor areas outside the flat, privacy issues arise since we would be covering common areas. Hence, the ruling not to allow CCTVs to cover common areas.
I tried using SpadeSolution services, they have good price and services
I saw a good deal for CCTV at www dot sg-sricam dot com
The only thing is no trucking and drilling services..
That means we need to DIY..

DIY can go buy those ready made cables, just plug and go mah easy leh. sls got a lot of shops selling but must find good ones. now cameras go HD liao but not cheap unless you get china ones![]()
What are some good brands for DIY with 2 wireless cameras and with iOS app to view it?
Thanks for recommending
Nowadays, no point getting those wired CCTV, I am thinking of that initially but change to IP Camera instead, easy to setup and less wiring.
Hi I am using wireless and wants to change to wired.
I find wireless very unstable. Many times cannot view online and the power can be easily switch off by anyone.
I see. So far having no issue with Dlink IP camera and I will pull the power cable of the camera from outside and connect to the 3 pin socket inside my house so nobody can switch off the camera.
Besides, I dun like the messy cables from the camera and the HDD Recorder, the power consumption will increase also.
Nowadays, no point getting those wired CCTV, I am thinking of that initially but change to IP Camera instead, easy to setup and less wiring.
Your modem is at the living room near the door?
Am also concern Abt maid offing the power of the camera in the house
Ur dlink allow u to keep recording via harddisk?