CCTV camera

slurpy0099

oh ya, I'm eyeing for wireless one but see here, someone wants to go from wireless to wired lol

may be brands matter ...

Ya main reasons for wired
- stable remote viewing
- no one can switch off the camera
- able to store more videos via 1 or 2tb rather than just 32gb

Anyone has any experience that have overcome above issues using a wireless

pricklepantz

Ya main reasons for wired
- stable remote viewing
- no one can switch off the camera
- able to store more videos via 1 or 2tb rather than just 32gb

Anyone has any experience that have overcome above issues using a wireless

thanks for your advice, appreciate it.
at least for now it may be worth the hassle of wiring rather than often breakdown

frankneedit

hi guys, need your advise. im planning to install one outside my house (HDB), bto flats. do you guys have any lobang for a installer? because currently there is no hole to wire out the cable to the camera. so not sure how to pull that, guess need someone to drill through??

let me know if you have contact for this. thanks

frankneedit

hi harky, you got lobang? ya but i only have a temporary permit from town council. not sure how my father got it though :s13:. so even if temporary i also need cabling out. now above my main door r fully sealed, have no idea how to drill or pull wire out. hope you got some intro of electrician or someone who installed before?

harky

no lobang.. think u go sim lin tower or square to ask...
but than can drill meh?

Slayer1

I can get my own CCTV. Looking for wiring guys. Can share any contacts for CCTV wiring guys. Thanks,

testingabc

actually you guys can get those ready made coaxial cable and just DIY, not that difficult.

hahnhahnhahn

Any idea how long can we keep the videos recording? Need hard disk storage anot? Any good reliable brands to recommend?

testingabc

Any idea how long can we keep the videos recording? Need hard disk storage anot? Any good reliable brands to recommend?

many months possible, depends on the resolution of the cameras and the number and size of harddisk. need harddisk storage, average people get 1 month storage. brand depends on what are you looking out for like quality or user friendliness or price.

mintychips93

Those who are looking to install cctv can look for Sinseng Components Pte Ltd, Sim Lim tower. Their products are affordable and good, user friendly app to view live and playback on mobile/tablets

Fantalicious

Hi all,

I would like to share my traumatic experience with this Carousell seller (Carousell Username: installationcctv). Seller's name is Dylan and his mobile number is 82772920. He sells V380 brand of CCTV cameras.

Not only did Dylan sell defective cameras to me and went MIA during the 1 year warranty period, he is also suspected of invasion of privacy.

Dylan told me not to set any password as many of his customers would forget their passwords and it would be a huge hassle to reset these. I naively trusted him and only discovered he was spying on my husband and I in our master bedroom when the camera lens would move by itself to focus on our bed in the middle of the night.

I have already made a police report today, Report No: E/20170705/2025
This case is currently under investigation and the investigating officer in charge of this case is urging other buyers who have experienced unscrupulous business practice and/or invasion of privacy issues in relation to Dylan to contact him (Song Jian Li: 63918464).

Fellow members, pls beware of this seller, Dylan.

testingabc

Who knows What is the typical average price to install a CCTV that capture the direct clear front view of our HDB front gate's door view?!

Depends what type you are looking for, a good 4MP/2MP camera with a good 4MP dvr with harddisk around $500 (much cheaper if it's a China brands but danger is some of those cheap one has hacked backdoor issue). Installation cost probably $100+ per camera then you can connect to router to be seen remotely. (Now most dvr has QR code for you to scan and see, no need like last time pay money for dyndns and do port forwarding).

testingabc

No need fanciful cctvs, just any cctv that can capture the direct clear front view of our HDB front gate's door view will do.What is the total cost incl the installation fees?!

total cost depends on how many cameras you want to install, what resolution of the cameras and how long the duration for it to be kept (harddisk size) and the length per camera point and what cable used. a 4mp camera with a 4mp dvr with installation probably around $700 on average i guess, of course you can look online for those cheap china cameras and dvr but then you have to DIY but then I suggest you get reputable brands with no security issue one.

bullfrog

Why not just install ring, August or skybell doorbell at ur front door. They have motion sensors and will detect when someone is at your front door. Also has intercom features and will chime ur phone if someone rings the doorbell. Recordings are saved to their cloud. I'm using August doorbell now as i also have August door lock installed at my main door.

Apparatus

Ok so this is not furniture or decor but posting in the homeseeker thread is probably more OT.

Anyways, wanted to ask if its legal to install a CCTV camera outside an HDB flat? No need to be those super big ones lah maybe something like those IP camera. Perhaps on the wall just above the door.

Let's define the word 'Install'. It means you drill into the outside walls and mount your camera(s) there. Legally speaking the outside walls don't belong to the owner of the HDB unit since exterior painting is done by HDB contractor.

However, you can have

1) IP cameras by hanging from the windows ledge using cable ties/wires etc. However, they can be stolen if not properly secured.

2) Peep hole cameras installed on your front door with video capability

Just make sure such cameras don't look into your neighbors' houses or corridors. Point them to cover your immediate corridor will do.

There are many cameras installed in public places like gov buildings, hospitals, polyclinics, buses, lift/stairway landings, taxis, shopping centres, covered walkways, bus stops etc. What privacy are people talking? If a guy is talking of privacy ask him to stay at home lah. Security is more important here.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.