Childless Marriage

ProLogic

Childfree by choice. I'll be the first to admit that I'm selfish: I want my husband to be all mine and remain my husband, not just my baby daddy. I want my space to be clean and free from noise. I want to watch any shows out there, scold vulgarities freely, and I want to sleep in. I want to travel or meet my (childfree) friends at a moment's notice.

Before you judge me, think about why you want children? Because you WANT (insert reasons here)... You don't need children. There are many reasons for wanting kids, and I respect everyone's reasons. I used to be in teaching, and raising a child is a tough job. Only when you judge me for my childfree existence then do I turn the judgment onto you.

No, I do not need "permission" from my husband to not have children. Are we living in the mid-20th century? I make sure the one I choose is someone whom I love to be around and can see myself growing old with, and whose beliefs are similar to mine.

I'm not sure how fertile I am, but I did plenty of research and made sure my contraceptive is reliable. This is MY choice. However, I have a few friends who are childless not by choice, but circumstances prevent them from becoming parents. They want to have children and would have made great parents.

These friends are the reasons why I think it's bloody rude for nosy people to ask why couples do not have children! Because these couples may be facing problems and suffering. They are not doing so to "save face". Save what "face"? They're simply trying to be strong and not break down.

Ish true that many people who ish either want to have kids or notch have kids. Moi ish know of people wHo ish want to be childless by choice but later on in years want to have children but biological clock no longer on their side.

Leave No Men Behind

Exactly
人生我, 我生人
人养我, 我养人

I dont think of wat enjoy/travel world etc. I need to fufil duty as children. Carry on generation. This is life, still it is.

Anyhow, up to individuals . #yolo. #zbl
Kids ish part of life sho kids can be enjoyed too mah, tio boh?

akloaklo

I like babies -> toddler age...damn cute. I also know the trouble they cause especially babies have to wake up at night.

For me also my duty to let my parents have grandkids. I know they will like it.

I never expect my children to take care of me in future but would be nice if they can give a monthly sum for maintenance when I retire just like what I do now for my parents. (If I have enough then I won't take their money)

There is always a chance that my kids will turn up to be gangsters , molester , parent abuser but we never know that so don't have to worry about it.

Leave No Men Behind

Could not agree further
I like babies -> toddler age...damn cute. I also know the trouble they cause especially babies have to wake up at night.

For me also my duty to let my parents have grandkids. I know they will like it.

I never expect my children to take care of me in future but would be nice if they can give a monthly sum for maintenance when I retire just like what I do now for my parents. (If I have enough then I won't take their money)

There is always a chance that my kids will turn up to be gangsters , molester , parent abuser but we never know that so don't have to worry about it.

mickey88

Hm..i used to think that i can adapt to a childless marriage but unfortunately, eventually it will become stagnant. Just another stage of life to proceed but how do you said you have a life?? Isn't life all about experience??

windwaver

Hm..i used to think that i can adapt to a childless marriage but unfortunately, eventually it will become stagnant. Just another stage of life to proceed but how do you said you have a life?? Isn't life all about experience??

Well, I don't have kids either and have been married for close to 20 years.

We don't have a medical problem but it's more like a personal choice.

My wife doesn't like kids even before we got married so I'm cool with that.

Kids are fun to play with but not easy to look after. Don't expect kids to take care of you in old age too.

My wife asked me then why have kids?

Like I say, it's a personal choice most of the time.

mickey88

Kids are fun to play with but not easy to look after. Don't expect kids to take care of you in old age too.

I Cun help but agreed with you that it is a personal choice. Anyway nowadays the idea of kids taking care of you in old age is not applicable anymore. Well..I do enjoy the process of being a fatherhood which is something I don't understand till I experience it.

It is always feel great when you open the door and your kid see you with big smile

ZacharyA

Can I check how do you maintain childless? Permanent contraception?

mccmmm

Is all about the environment surroundings you live in. In Singapore not practical to have offspring.

ZacharyA

Is all about the environment surroundings you live in. In Singapore not practical to have offspring.

It's very hard to "survive" if you have one, because as a responsible parent, you want to give the best to your offspring which often leads to $ issues

turnaround

I'm childless by choice too. But i have dogs which i treat like my child.

Enjoy the freedom and money that would otherwise go to a child. I really don't have any satisfaction at all when i think about raising my own kids.

Kia7200

I'm childless by choice too. But i have dogs which i treat like my child.

Enjoy the freedom and money that would otherwise go to a child. I really don't have any satisfaction at all when i think about raising my own kids.

Just sharing with u my experience

I used to plan not to have kids for my marriage. Like u , I want to enjoy life , trave Ard, buy more things for myself. And Fyi, im known my wife for 15yrs
I used to own a dog for 16yrs n I have a parrot

And now my daughter is 2 yo. if I'm given a chance to choose again, would I want to have kids? Hell yes

The statisfaction is diff

Buying watch, pets or cars r very diff from raising ur own child. Yes it's tough and lots of sacrifices but it's worth it.

turnaround

Just sharing with u my experience

I used to plan not to have kids for my marriage. Like u , I want to enjoy life , trave Ard, buy more things for myself. And Fyi, im known my wife for 15yrs
I used to own a dog for 16yrs n I have a parrot

And now my daughter is 2 yo. if I'm given a chance to choose again, would I want to have kids? Hell yes

The statisfaction is diff

Buying watch, pets or cars r very diff from raising ur own child. Yes it's tough and lots of sacrifices but it's worth it.
So what happened between when you decided not to have kids and when you had your daughter?

Planned or accident? And will you have more?

Every parent also say the sacrifices are worth it. I guess once they have their own kids they must all feel that way out of necessity. But I'll not be putting myself in that position where I'll have to feel that way or go through that journey.

Kia7200

So what happened between when you decided not to have kids and when you had your daughter?

Planned or accident? And will you have more?

Every parent also say the sacrifices are worth it. I guess once they have their own kids they must all feel that way out of necessity. But I'll not be putting myself in that position where I'll have to feel that way or go through that journey.

Planned.

Cause my wife is going to be 35yo, so I think its now or never. Really it's very fun to have kids in a family.

As long u got enough budget, get a good helper, time can be very well managed

Computeron

usually mom will say that, becuz they gave birth to them. not the fathers.
I'm a father of 2.

after having the 1st kid I SCARE ALREADY...

cons:
no gd sleep (bad for health)
money draining everyday (so much till I every day lunch each cai png only rice n 1 vegetable EVERYDAY. so broke till u will tear before u fall aslp)
freedom gone (im thinking my life is dead)
leisure gone (im thinking my life is dead)

pros:
NONE!

now I know y some parents stop after having 1 kid.

theres a saying "人要活的开心“, I'm not.

my wife said I'm not a gd father.. I must agree!

now when I reached home... I see messy house. noisy kids. grumpy wife.
want to sit down n rest. kids ask me to this do that. eating my dinner I hear screams n cry from kids n wife.

turnaround

Planned.

Cause my wife is going to be 35yo, so I think its now or never. Really it's very fun to have kids in a family.

As long u got enough budget, get a good helper, time can be very well managed
I see, thanks for sharing.

usually mom will say that, becuz they gave birth to them. not the fathers.
I'm a father of 2.

after having the 1st kid I SCARE ALREADY...

cons:
no gd sleep (bad for health)
money draining everyday (so much till I every day lunch each cai png only rice n 1 vegetable EVERYDAY. so broke till u will tear before u fall aslp)
freedom gone (im thinking my life is dead)
leisure gone (im thinking my life is dead)

pros:
NONE!

now I know y some parents stop after having 1 kid.

theres a saying "人要活的开心“, I'm not.

my wife said I'm not a gd father.. I must agree!

now when I reached home... I see messy house. noisy kids. grumpy wife.
want to sit down n rest. kids ask me to this do that. eating my dinner I hear screams n cry from kids n wife.
Wah such a honest recount... hopefully it'll be better once they are older

Why need to discuss this even?

It’s a inherent choice.

It’s like either you gay or you not gay. Cannot force a gay to like girls and can’t force a straight to be gay.

V funny leh you all. Can close thread liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.