COE going downhill.

Lss

with the poor and unreliability of the MRT/Bus, taxi, more and more people are going to buy cars to overcome the problem.

COE price can only go upward.

In fact, the current COE prices ish lower then some 20 yrs ago, when it hit S$100K.

when moi bought my Honda Accord in yrs 1988 or 89 (can remember the actual yrs), it cost moi S$128,888.00. :eek:

Means you jin rich sia. Back then 2 dollar 1 meal settle.

SpinFire

COE will trend down until the bumper crop of COEs thin out sometime in 2018, barring any policy changes.

Between now and then, you may still see some bidding ending at higher COEs. But overall, is still downward trending.

Do you think the govt will withhold COE supply to avoid the cyclical COE prices in the future?

minimalistism

with the poor and unreliability of the MRT/Bus, taxi, more and more people are going to buy cars to overcome the problem.

In fact, the current COE prices ish lower then some 20 yrs ago, when it hit S$100K.

when moi bought my Honda Accord in yrs 1988 or 89 (can remember the actual yrs), it cost moi S$128,888.00. :eek:
Qft. Last time car so ex also many ppl buy. Now still much more cheaper than last time

Sent from OnePlus A0001 using GAGT

onegoal

moi went to TC today and the price generally increased by S$3K.
(refer to moi earlier post pigture).

according to them, they received many orders and expected the COE price to increase in the next round of bidding (19th Aug).
Wait till November. Price drop another 5k. Then me laugh at you.

Sent from . using GAGT

satayxp

1994 rah.. ur memory kaput liao

Savantrainmaker

It was close during this current parliament- when the COE review was made.

One of the significant proposals was to prevent car dealers from bidding COE on their buyers' behalf. There was actually some traction on the proposal because COE was at a decade high of around $80,000.

But alas, the Minister of State in charge, Josephine Teo decided to sway towards the 'cartel' instead of consumers' welfare. And the reason given to the public in parliament is that "car dealers don't jack up the COE prices" and the general public is not sophisticated enough to bid for the COE on their own....

What bollocks!!!:s22:

Seriously? Would the consumer rather pay $30-40k more in COE than take the hassle to bid for the COE themselves?

Car dealers bid high high on your behalf to sell their cars, and the consumer has to pay for it regardless?

If Goh Keng Swee is still in the Cabinet, Jo Teo would have her policy proposal file threw out to Bras Basah...

minimalistism

One of the significant proposals was to prevent car dealers from bidding COE on their buyers' behalf. There was actually some traction on the proposal because COE was at a decade high of around $80,000.

But alas, the Minister of State in charge, Josephine Teo decided to sway towards the 'cartel' instead of consumers' welfare. And the reason given to the public in parliament is that "car dealers don't jack up the COE prices" and the general public is not sophisticated enough to bid for the COE on their own....

Seriously? Would the consumer rather pay $30-40k more in COE than take the hassle to bid for the COE themselves?

Car dealers bid high high on your behalf to sell their cars, and the consumer has to pay for it regardless?

If Goh Keng Swee is still in the Cabinet, Jo Teo would have her policy proposal file threw out to Bras Basah...
59.9 like such minister we all llst ok

toolbox03

Last time money is big, i can eat one bowl of mee for 30 cents, now very small

toolbox03

We are talking about thousands of COEs released.

50% DP could be around 50k for basic unit.

With TDSR, if you are heavily leveraged, you might not get the loan approved.

Many cash rich but not that many also.

Not many? Enough to fill the whole sport hub and these are ppl with $1m cash excluding property. Number easily 70k-80k of them. And not forgetting the FTs? Those tiongs carry cash around

Just look at the crazy number of ppl buying condos

Kinetic88

Qft. Last time car so ex also many ppl buy. Now still much more cheaper than last time

if take inflation into account, the car price of today ish in fact cheaper.

Wait till November. Price drop another 5k. Then me laugh at you.

Sent from . using GAGT

moi new purchase price of S$101K ish so much cheaper than moi S$128,888 Honda purchased some 20 yrs ago.

chiu can laugh as chiu like but unker can't be bother about the price drop, what moi want ish a car to drive around, afterall, moi had been driving since some 40+ yrs ago, moi can't live without a car.

1994 rah.. ur memory kaput liao

srsly, really can't remember the actual yr but the price of S$128,888 for sure ish correct for moi Honda. And it was on offer some more.

tidalstorm

Exactly. If consumers are able to buy stocks on their own via online. I dun see why bidding for a piece of sh1tty paper can be difficult. Will be interesting to see individual's fair value for the coe.

dealers have always been behind this manipulation all along. How do they interpret the fair value? It seems like big boys kup together to drive up the pennies, in this case the "see hor yee "!

Sent from Bona Fide Phone using GAGT

whatmeworry

Demand the next transport minister to lower COE prices or stop dealer from bidding. Ask such questions during rally???
This is one bidding rights that sinkies should make use of now......or forever keep your peace.

Kinetic88

Exactly. If consumers are able to buy stocks on their own via online. I dun see why bidding for a piece of sh1tty paper can be difficult. Will be interesting to see individual's fair value for the coe.

dealers have always been behind this manipulation all along. How do they interpret the fair value? It seems like big boys kup together to drive up the pennies, in this case the "see hor yee "!

Sent from Bona Fide Phone using GAGT

obviously, if allow individual to bid for COE, the price will not be high and it will affect the "income" of LTA, so the govt definitely reject this proposal.

even the proposal of "pay as you bid" also kena throw out for obvious reason.

so COE price ish at the mercy of car dealers for sure.

ksapple

Going to be bash but i still think is sg need coe a way to controll car in sg, if they scrap coe everyone buy car ppl will still kaopeh de

dnsfpl

if you factor in inflation etc etc

coe can hit 30k happy liao

all thanks to profit above people

they should think of more system to squeeze our $$

coe and erp not enough liao

average income of edmwer is 8k you know

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.