COE Predictions

Instigator

That is what we are trying to tell you this. Your coe back then was 60k, now is hovering at 33k. In paper, you have loss 27k oredi.

Therefore, you either drive to the end and get parf plus body value or scrap it and take back parf, the unused coe value at estimate of 30k + $xx value for car body.

2nd option might result in a big loss...

cscs3

That is what we are trying to tell you this. Your coe back then was 60k, now is hovering at 33k. In paper, you have loss 27k oredi.

Therefore, you either drive to the end and get parf plus body value or scrap it and take back parf, the unused coe value at estimate of 30k + $xx value for car body.

Usually for high COE car. You can scrap early. 60K COE means if you scrap your car at 5 years. You take back 30K (COE) plus some % of OMV. This happen some years back when COE goes very high. Some new car simply go for scrap even at 3 years old, as taking cash back plus some top up can get you a new car plus warranty when COE is super low.

Remember COE and scrap value is cash. It does not depend on car condition. Offcouse like above example, we so call scrap, but car agent actually export your car and sell some where else.

This is how salesman try to get you car changed when COE is low.

warr

Unless the drop is very significant, it's still a higher cost by selling to the dealers and buy a new one, if the buyer only thinks about cost. Of course most decisions are made mixed with other psychology. For one thing, at the moment of sale, the old car is valued at scrap value, though maybe still functional another 100Kkm.

ftpofmpo

if old coe price is 100k but 3 yrs later drop to 20k, can we replace old coe with new coe?

car is too new to scrap

warr

car body itself has lots of value in usage if only 2 years old. But , by selling to a dealer, dealer will only give u paper value worth almost nothing in dollars. But remaining Coe still worth a lot, so worth considering for your example of coe dropping from 100k to 20k. Reality from 2018 to 2020 is not so, right?

hawthorne

if old coe price is 100k but 3 yrs later drop to 20k, can we replace old coe with new coe?

car is too new to scrap
See u can deregister for export or not. High COE sure bohua one. Dealer will low ball you. Might as well try to get your balance COE back from LTA

Sent from 10char using GAGT

kebinu

car is too new to scrap
Answer is yes. If your car is 6 years old and you renew COE, you will be giving up 4 years balance of COE.

A lot of people do it for their commercial vehicle in 2007.

hachi

Answer is yes. If your car is 6 years old and you renew COE, you will be giving up 4 years balance of COE.

A lot of people do it for their commercial vehicle in 2007.

That time my previous van renewed for $86 or something like this...

ftpofmpo

Coe might really goes 5k and below soon

10 years ago it can go so low as there is record number of quota plus financial crisis

now the number of quota has gone down compared to 10 yrs ago, still can reach 5k???

garmen will accept lose so much money?

spurman

All ears to hear your reasoning on your statement. Enlighten us :s13::s13::s13:

My opinion only.
Maybe only.
I dunno if the april n may 4 times quota will be backdated or combined into june quota. Or govt take away the extra.

Secondly. Economy tanks. And this time rd real bad. I myself also backside itchy want to change or not. 3yrs old car liao. But i reckon and also coz i losing money this 2 mthd as a biz owner. I tink forget it. Need cashflow and much more cashflow as money collection also super slow now. No sales. No income. Simple.

Also many ppl now fear ricebowl now than spending time tinking to but car.

Thus i tink coe will drop. A fair bit. Maybe to 18k 20k range and continue to drop more till economy goes back up normal again.

GenuineSeller

yes, $5K....it's possible....

The predictions are out: Singapore could see between 150,000 and 200,000 retrenchments this Covid-19 season as circuit breaker measures have kicked in from April 7 until May 4.

Nurse.Vijay

5k coe wait long long. With the quota controlled so tightly no financial crisis can force the coe down. If can reach 20k considered good already.

SBS2716G

yes, $5K....it's possible....

The predictions are out: Singapore could see between 150,000 and 200,000 retrenchments this Covid-19 season as circuit breaker measures have kicked in from April 7 until May 4.

Every time said no money but when condo new Luanched so many ppl go buy. Don’t worry lah. COE won’t drop lah. Next bidding is for 3 months of demand leh.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.