[Consolidated] Discussion on Carousell encounters & experience

ChaoJiBoomz

There was once I was selling an almost new iPhone. Someone offered me 1/4 of my asking price. I said ok and added that for that price I'd throw in a mac book pro as well.

Lol. Sometimes it's good to have some light hearted fun with these idiots. But nowadays I learn to ignore lowballers.

This is a good one. Haha

ChaoJiBoomz

It also depends lei how long the items are listed and condition ma. Dont tell me item for almost a year on carousell you still want to hold up for better price?

Price aside, delete the listing and relist.

One of the reason is also because of the search algo (unless your item is one of a kind) where your item will be damn below.

KimJiHoon

matchy

actually i think heng suay one leh.

i make seller come my block to collect.
i dun do meet up.
either u come my house or i mail to u.
so far ok leh.
mostly drive. sincere one will even take bus come.

jus a small handful lowballer and mia which i dun really care.

wat u selling????

trax06

Sold many items, never got stood up and never let myself get bothered by lowballers or people who ask questions and don't reply.

Sent from your grandmother's road using GAGT

Very positive attitude. I have gd experience so far and the only selling platform which is straight with forward prompt notification, easy uploads, quick contact.

All the others like gumtree and even the buy/sell forum here cannot match.

trax06

Price aside, delete the listing and relist.

One of the reason is also because of the search algo (unless your item is one of a kind) where your item will be damn below.

I actually also spoil market if I really don't want the thing liao super big discount I also accept the deal. No point keeping and holding on hoping just for that extra dollars.

Goodbye

I just got stood up by one. Was selling a laptop, already agreed on time and location, went there, didn't pick up his calls, didn't reply SMSes. Wasted my whole trip. He still had the cheek to ask me to help him install iTunes (with no pleases and thank yous), machiam his maid.

Most ppl who wanted to deal also have such bad messaging etiquette, like they're from another civilisation that just learned how to use the keyboard. And a lot of them get unnecessarily aggro.

Why like that ah...

Not a perfect world we're livin' in.

Just live with it. :)

Some-one

you be surprised by people who buy second hand items. i sold one of my huge teddy bear from my storeroom kept dont know how long also can sell. buyer buy from me at my location straight away he go his gf house give her. lol

Damn right. I am also surprise that there are people who want my second hand ethernet cable which is only $6 in the market.

Mango_ice

Go your house more dangerous. Later they not happy with the things you sell and go your house to make a ruckus there. I only met face to face and never want them to go my house unless the product is too big to bring down. For example mattress.

i not so stupid to ask them come up right :s13::s13::s13::s13:

plus dun sell some random **** that is spoilt la.
at least decent ok condition.

Fennel

why would anyone buy 2nd hand mattress?!

I've been sleeping on a 2nd-hand IKEA sofa bed for the past 5 years. Some more from Craigslist. It used to belong to an AMDK expat. Really good condition. My experience for Craigslist is that got a lot of weirdos, but also got a lot of AMDK because this is what they use in the States to sell stuff. For those then dun wanna do research on where to sell to sinkies, they usually just list in Craigslist

Fennel

Damn right. I am also surprise that there are people who want my second hand ethernet cable which is only $6 in the market.

I sold off a stress ball for $5 to a primary school xdd. He say his friend quite stressed recently so he wants to give to his friend.. quite sweet

Fennel

Carousell should just blacklist them

Yeah I was wondering how big the Carousell team is. If they have a sustainable model, they can afford to hire some moderators to do QC. Also interested on how they get funding... did a little bit of Googling

Carousell is currently not monetized– meaning they don't generate revenue at all.
How does that work? Well, think about say, Facebook. Facebook doesn't make money from its ordinary users– it makes money from advertising. But it didn't introduce advertising until it reached a critical mass, where they could promise businesses and others reach, and so on. Same for Instagram, same for many other web apps.

Carousell has many potential ways to monetize– the most common ways are through paid ads and premium services.

How do they keep the lights on in the meantime? They raise funding from investors, who give them $$ in exchange for shares in the company. The investors hope that the business will grow and eventually exit, either by getting bought out by a larger company, or by IPO-ing (as Facebook did).

Ecommerce is a really exciting industry. It's growing in the double digit percentages every year, and there are so many more people coming online every day. It's going to be huge.

So they're running on VC funds at the moment..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.