• No! I am a cyclist … how dare u! *glass breaking *

Votes: 21 7.2%
  • Neutral . I don’t go out during peaks hrs

Votes: 21 7.2%

• Total voters

The_King

Failing to slow vehicle down before reaching a pedestrian crossing - Demerit Points 6pts (at least)…. :ROFLMAO:

https://www.mha.gov.sg/docs/default...enalties-in-silver-zones-and-school-zones.pdf

Conduct at and when approaching crossings
14.—(1) Every cyclist, mobility vehicle user and PMD rider —
(a)when approaching a pedestrian crossing or zebra crossing, must proceed at such speed as will enable him to stop his bicycle, three‑wheeled pedal cycle, recumbent device, power-assisted bicycle, mobility vehicle or PMD (as the case may be) before reaching the crossing; and
[S 168/2024 wef 01/03/2024]
(b)when at the pedestrian crossing or zebra crossing, must stop and look for on-coming traffic before using that crossing.

https://sso.agc.gov.sg/SL/RTA1961-R24

both are in the wrong

Hyperephania

From the video cyclist already at wrong. He should not ride across the zebra, instead he should push the bicycle across.
no...just no...

already have so many threads on cyclist and every single time will have people comment this then get corrected. Why still have people saying this?

RedOrion

It's stupid or naive to assume the driver will even stop .

Some drivers will just bash through assuming pretend to wave sorry when you stare at him .
They like to play chicken one and knowing they got the advantage.

The only way to stop this is to install cameras assuming LTA even got the budget.

Likewise drivers will say only way to stop stupid behavior of people chionging across zebra crossing with barriers effective to stop cyclists and pmd from zipping across fast (barriers which still allow wheelchair to pass through safely).

The arguement will never end when both sides argue for the chenghu to spend money to clamp down on the other party when the easiest solution is grow more common sense and curb that self-entitled ahole mentality.

cearmouse

As a cyclist myself... I always stop first make sure car driver see u, driver stop first them I cross:s13:

savoirex

both driver and cyclist habe no intention of stopping at a road crossing...hence chiu reap huat chiu sow :s22:

Hot_Dog

If cyclist lay bicycle Infront of moi vehicle, moi jitao run it over huan.

AndroidComa

They can take out the whole lane lor.. was driving to suntec.. a group of them take out the whole lane 3.. power lor
our ministers like cycling mah
i think the mistaken village bicycle liao
village bicycle is NOT FOR CYCLING on the roads

as a driver, it is very stressful in these filter lefts, cos the bicycle comes at higher speeds as compared to walking
sometimes u really can't see them one, 0.1 sec they clear the pedestrian triangle and on the zebra crossings alread

flashbug

Both should have slowed down, with cyclist in a more disadvantaged position.
Better to be alive above all else.

As a cyclist, I always come to a complete stop at zebra crossings, especially those dual-lane ones. Car stop then move.
Something I make it a point to emulate and teach my son who often cycles with me on pavement that you cannot trust drivers/pple to do the right thing. You can only trust yourself to exercise discipline to do the right thing to protect your own interests first.

That said, this is the "culture of Singapore", which places cars first before pedestrians and cyclists. The initiatives rolled out actually make things more confusing because it create zones that priorities different groups of pple different, causing confusion.

In some European countries, they have much better clarity. Pedestrian walkings are always levelled at crossings, where as the road is always at a lower level. This meant that vehicles will always give way when there is a crossing. In sg, this is not the case (except for zebra crossings), which is why we always get such conflicts arising.

Darkshadows

when u turn left, u need to check for oncoming traffic on ur left, tio boh.? so u already saw a bicycle coming...and u will need to anticipate that he will be crossing the zebra, but from the video, looks like he wan to gamble who will reach the crossing first.. yes, the cyclist is at fault as well.. but driver is no saint to be honest.. and how come no sound.. i think driver may have horned to display road dominance..
For me, the traffic light was like an almost right angle from the zebra crossing so when I turned my head right, there was nothing. I can only guess that cyclist sped due to blinking green man.

Similar to the screenshot below. Red arrow shows where cyclist most likely came from as the green man was blinking.
LuCagqa.jpeg

benobiwan

For me, the traffic light was like an almost right angle from the zebra crossing so when I turned my head right, there was nothing. I can only guess that cyclist sped due to blinking green man.

Similar to the screenshot below. Red arrow shows where cyclist most likely came from as the green man was blinking.
LuCagqa.jpeg
so no need to slow down???

Macrossvin

cyclist self entitled...... as a cyclist.... they also have to slow down to ensure the road is safe to cross

Lifetime warranty

our ministers like cycling mah
i think the mistaken village bicycle liao
village bicycle is NOT FOR CYCLING on the roads

as a driver, it is very stressful in these filter lefts, cos the bicycle comes at higher speeds as compared to walking
sometimes u really can't see them one, 0.1 sec they clear the pedestrian triangle and on the zebra crossings alread
Just drive with care..

Nothing we can do.. I see them cycle on the west coast fly over, nicol highway etc.. I like.. that gd..

Sometime my heart turn black.. hope someone can do the job.. haha

benobiwan

Well, I did slow down back then but was taken aback when a cyclists appeared suddenly and managed to stop in time.
good for u... it can be cyclist, a kid, a man, anything.. the argument is that we need to watch out for more vulnerable road users at all times.. a mere few seconds/minutes delay would not cause u grief.. but an accident will

Courage

Cyclist's fault for failure to stop at zebra crossing and obstructing the road with his bicycle

The driver's view is blocked by many pedestrians but the bicycle can clearly see the car, and yet the bicycle accelerated instead of stopping at the zebra crossing knowing a car is approaching

The car did stop

benobiwan

Cyclist's fault for failure to stop at zebra crossing and obstructing the road with his bicycle

The driver's view is blocked by many pedestrians but the bicycle can clearly see the car, and yet the bicycle accelerated instead of stopping at the zebra crossing knowing a car is approaching

The car did stop
both at fault.. both rushing to hell, cyclist will pay a heavier price if he got banged...

ahbard

Both need to slow down when approaching zebra crossing. Esp the cyclist since he more vulnerable.. He think he have 9 lives? Both act like they own the road.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.