Votes: 21 7.1%

• Total voters

AuraKUPO

the argument is chiong red lights.
validate that.... can you?

base on experience.... or intellect? :s13: pfffttt
You need to be in their shoes to understand why. At that point, at that situation, people do different thing.

If you saw a train coming straight at your car, will you stay on the direction according to the law, or will you avoid by going to the opp direction to escape?

AuraKUPO

So what if the cyclist beat red lights there? Does it means majority do it = correct?? Have shown u the rules whereby cyclist on road need to obey to traffic signal and u still insist no need to. :spin::s22:

Instead of educating the cycling communities about what is wrong, u are actually encouraging more of them to do the wrong thing and treat it as correct by preaching what u assume is correct.

Like a person leave his phone on the table and go order food. Come back phone missing and he saw another person holding on to it. He confront the person and the person told him he found it so he not at fault even when the owner of the phone able to prove the phone is his. CCTV also capture the person taking the phone from the table and the thief still insisting he not at fault.

Based on your logic, the thief did nothing wrong as no one was hurt and no one was around when he saw the phone on the table. Police cannot do anything to him.

Or better still, as u r cyclist, u park your bicycle outside a washroom while u go pee. Someone saw the bike and look around. Saw nobody was around and it is safe for him, he proceed to take the bike and rode it away. U came out from washroom and saw the person riding your bike away. U shouted at him to stop and asked him why he took your bike. He replied the bike was there for the taking as no one was around it when he found it and it was safe to take it as no one was hurt. Does this sound logical??
I always bring my bike into the handicap toilet with me. Or bring into the general toilet. Never got stolen before.

leongws

I never say it's correct to beat red light. But some people got situation judgement, I can't say they are wrong but they are not right to beat red light. I sometimes will dash or move off early to protect myself - defensive riding. It's very different when you are driving vs cycling. You need to try it to know. I ride motorbike and cycle too, so I know.
But u never say it is wrong to beat red light. In fact u think it’s ok to do so.

Cmonster

I know they do that, but that doesn't make it legal or right. Just like many drivers don't slow down at zebra crossing at these quiet spots doesn't make it legal or right even if "normal"
I guess using his logic, since many married people have affairs nowadays

if his wife has an affair , it is ok also

because you can go Hotel 81 and see for yourself

leongws

I always bring my bike into the handicap toilet with me. Or bring into the general toilet. Never got stolen before.
Good for u then. So other cyclist who leave their bike outside washroom and gotten it stolen is their own fault? Not the thief fault? And police cannot do anything to the thief?

AuraKUPO

But u never say it is wrong to beat red light. In fact u think it’s ok to do so.
Wrong, but ok in certain situation and when conditions are met. It's actually safer to do so for a cyclist.

Got once, at a small road industrial area, I stopped at red light along with big truck beside me. I continue to wait even though there are no pedestrian. When light turn green, the big truck move off and suddenly lean to the left side almost knocking me.

See why I said it could be safer for cyclist to dash first? This is in order to protect ourselves from the siao lang drivers. Drivers will also feel safer knowing there are no people around their vehicle so that they don't accidentally roll over them.

leongws

Wrong, but ok in certain situation and when conditions are met. It's actually safer to do so for a cyclist.

Got once, at a small road industrial area, I stopped at red light along with big truck beside me. I continue to wait even though there are no pedestrian. When light turn green, the big truck move off and suddenly lean to the left side almost knocking me.

See why I said it could be safer for cyclist to dash first? This is in order to protect ourselves from the siao lang drivers. Drivers will also feel safer knowing there are no people around their vehicle so that they don't accidentally roll over them.
So u did stop at the beginning. This thread the video does the cyclist stop at the red light? Got same situation as u encounter?

PiPiChew

Car beat red lights demerit points sibeh painful one.

Cycling no bike plate how to have enforcement?

uni_user

One look can tell not many here cycle. The location in that video is seletar airport, every driver knows that is the cyclists training ground. It's normal to beat red light at small road when there are no cars around. It's not a busy road, not highway, not express way. The driver and his wife in that video are first time go that place is it?
LOL WTF...

SuperGreenHorn

Yes and what wrong with that? They are cyclists not in a motor vehicle.

Even traffic law you also want to twist. Which law say cyclist need not obey traffic light signals?
Pedestrians aren't motor vehicles too, so they can just cross on reds too?

Your logic is just astonishing, so uneducated.

Lifetime warranty

I was driving along nicol highway.. they occupy the 3rd lane.. anyway tp or police don't catch them what we do.. haha.. just relax lor.. bang into them get sue until drop pants lah.. so don't bother.. just pray lor

WussRedXLi

I know they do that, but that doesn't make it legal or right. Just like many drivers don't slow down at zebra crossing at these quiet spots doesn't make it legal or right even if "normal"

Of coz, i dont and cant speak for others....but......

I am a cyclist myself (over 20hrs weekly, leisure coffee rides + training for triathlons etc) and i can tell you.....actually red lights cannot beat one in vast majority of cases even at odd late night or early morning hours. The risk is still there. Drivers (and riders) are both tired etc. So why risk?

Just saw a close call last weekend @ T100 MBS Promonitory area....coz the traffic coming from the side involved a turn (Robinson Road), and if the cyclist cannot accelerate fast enough in order to get out of trouble and the driver did not see the cyclist (coz no lights + wearing dark clothings etc), gg.com
The fella on the TT bike, coz going for race had no lights on, and early hrs so probably also mind fog etc.

Anyway i don't think it was that "empty" in the vid regardless

hUwkLUJ.jpg

WussRedXLi

I think by and large, quite a lot of cyclists would abide by the law and wanna live another day and go back to their families, to further enjoy their hobby. I have even seen groups "advising" others to not do illegal things, eg beating red lights.
Unfortunately, you know how it is, some folks just do not like to be told, so majority of the time also mind our own fugging biz.

Unfortunately the black sheeps might one day cause a change in the law and regulations, first one i forsee might change is the Dismount and walk across at zebra / green red man crossings. Just way too many fcukers going too fast across these crossings (above walking pace). Citing reasons like difficult to judge lah coz no other pedestrians to have a frame of reference.......come on lah, dont give these crap BS excuses, you are not a kid anymore.
Just like the ebike regulations a few years back.

vee4044

That why Lhl hand over early to LW.....this is the Problem 20yrs no one cant Solve.

AMDK lead this Problem.....Their Coutry gave way to Cyclists. But Sin pay COE heavily....Road Tax.

No Worries. LW can handle. I trust hainanese. I Neighbor Hainanese. Many ideas one..........

I am a cyclist myself (over 20hrs weekly, leisure coffee rides + training for triathlons etc) and i can tell you.....actually red lights cannot beat one in vast majority of cases even at odd late night or early morning hours.
based on the comments in this thread, maybe someone is going to tell you the following
One look can tell you don't cycle.
I can tell you don't cycle. Let me explain to enlighten you. When all the heavy and carbon monoxide producing vehicles got stopped at traffic light, it's safer for the bicycle to move and go ahead first. If I saw lights turn red at a small road. Beside me is heavy vehicle and no pedestrian crossing, I will dash.
You are a bad cyclist

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.