[CONSOLIDATED] Myanmar/Bangkok earthquake

henghengonedragon

Stay in building later collapse, stuck under debris no die, starve to death or slowly bleed out, which one is worse?
No actual building collapse other than the one under constructing in Thailand right?

If I am not wrong, the first thing to do is to hide under table. Once tremors over then evacuate.

Zinna

I don't think our hdb designed for earthquakes. Build high or low quality doesn't matter, will collapse

Mountainnodew

Yes… I felt the aftershock last night at around 12 midnight. I experienced earthquake before so I know what it was like.

EDMW-Hates-Me

I don't, you also don't. Again, should have, could have, would have.

Chances of being stuck in rubble IN A BUILDING vs trying to get outside. I'll take my chances outside, at least easier to rescue.
That's why experts study which has better chances mah. SOP is to wear seat belt. But some people heng heng didn't wear, kena catapulted out and survived. Those who wore kena pancaked to death / stuck and the car exploded. Anyway, you happy can liao.

Thing is, Taiwan structures are earthquake proof.

Thai buildings aren't. She is just really stupid and shows her ignorance.

What JH did was right. You do not know if the building is safe.
Experts around the world said otherwise wor.

justln

That's why experts study which has better chances mah. SOP is to wear seat belt. But some people heng heng didn't wear, kena catapulted out and survived. Those who wore kena pancaked to death / stuck and the car exploded. Anyway, you happy can liao.

Experts around the world said otherwise wor.
Really is horse back cannon fairies, can compare this to seat belts. :s8:

People panicking, first instinct is run out to open areas like what our emergencies like fire drill have taught us, not hide below table. Human psychology please, logic doesn't work in chaotic situations.

Hyruga

No actual building collapse other than the one under constructing in Thailand right?

If I am not wrong, the first thing to do is to hide under table. Once tremors over then evacuate.
First to die is hide under table. Table is made of tofu now.

Should hide beside the bed. Bed usually sturdy enough for a while at least. It's called of triangle of hope in earthquake.

LAMtopia

Firstly, it is crazy that there are people wishing for earthquakes on their own country.

Secondly, Singapore’s buildings are designed to Eurocode standard in 2013. So at least for buildings built after 2013, it is designed to withstand tremors.

Additionally, while household shelters (which are present in every building built after 1997) are not specifically designed for earthquakes, with their reinforced walls, floors, ceilings, and blast-proof doors, offer significant protection against flying debris and shrapnel, which are primary risks during both bombings and earthquakes.

Finally, since 2007, Singapore's has implemented early earthquake warning systems which relies on a network of seismic monitoring stations, with tremor sensors in HDB blocks, and a public warning system using sirens, to detect and alert the public about potential earthquake threat. This was a major criticism with Thailand’s handling of the recent earthquake.

evilduxy

It's good advice but really Captain Hindsight horse back cannon.

Majority of tourist and Thai people have never experienced earthquake before. If it were me, I would have made my way down the stairs instead of staying under table.
its true ma if u bbfa if fit fit n young can but those old folk how to rush down

she got the bbfa feel

bbfa how to rush down so fast if the earthquake srs enough to topple building

best is to hide under table hope for best liao if i suay suay stay 20th story abv if tio earthquake i leave it to fate liao bbfa unable to rush down fast de

EDMW-Hates-Me

Both are SOPs, just giving you another example.

Simi horse back cannon fairies? Way before this earthquake I have already commented the same SOP: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...fter-japan-earthquake.6986508/#post-150764741

Edmwers jin satki, more expert than real experts in the world. In that thread also got people dismiss expert reccomendations with a Reddit link still dare to say other people's CDC and reputable uni sources that address their misconceptions are just "some articles by some people".

Level42

People panicking, first instinct is run out to open areas like what our emergencies like fire drill have taught us, not hide below table. Human psychology please, logic doesn't work in chaotic situations.

I didn’t check but trust @EDMW-Hates-Me that the lady lives in Taiwan. Based on this and the content she posted, I guess that she heard Taiwanese laughing at the evacuation attempts, especially videos of people running down many flights of steps and screaming. She has good intention for sharing the tips.

Come to the crux, as long as one is safe in such situations, that‘s all that matters.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.