highsulphur
Why lugiI contributed as well.
You guys tan tio liao lor. I lugi big big![]()
Why lugiI contributed as well.
You guys tan tio liao lor. I lugi big big![]()
According to @royalmix , i helped to contribute to bigger CPFLife pool and the rest with FRS/BRS (smarter ones) song song sit back and enjoy the shared benefits?Why lugi
Those I know who do not reached FRS or BRS w pledge off property to sell are usually not on long term careers type Or those BBFAs who says they got no children to take over property.According to @royalmix , i helped to contribute to bigger CPFLife pool and the rest with FRS/BRS (smarter ones) song song sit back and enjoy the shared benefits?
Given the drop in yields elsewhere, where are you guys investing your CPF-OA into ? Keeping them inside CPF-OA or moving them to CPF-SA ?
Keeping in OA isn't such a bad choiceGiven the drop in yields elsewhere, where are you guys investing your CPF-OA into ? Keeping them inside CPF-OA or moving them to CPF-SA ?
Yes I dont like it but I dont need the potential downside risk if otherwiseKeeping in OA isn't such a bad choice
Given the drop in yields elsewhere, where are you guys investing your CPF-OA into ? Keeping them inside CPF-OA or moving them to CPF-SA ?
For those nearing 55yo or already >55yo,Keeping in OA isn't such a bad choice
What is your limit for "young"?Assuming u are young:
Firstly empty OA for property downpayment.
Secondly, use cash top up 8k to SA for tax relief instead.
Thirdly, invest excess OA into approved global equity fund.
Haven’t buy first propertyWhat is your limit for "young"?
I wouldn’t factor credit card availability into your CPF LIFE-related decisions. Most (all?) issuers have an age 75 limit, for example. And they all can consider liquid net worth, not just income.But 3 or 4 x to ERS, is for higher payout for myself, at least $30k gotten annually can get my own credit card when in senior age.
T-bills made some sense when interest rates were higher and the intention was to use those dollars for housing soon, or fairly soon.Long term money = investments for higher returns. I don't understand why younger people would want to put their CPF monies in bond funds or tbills. Waste of time.
There’s no “one size fits all.” First of all, everyone under age 65 at least gets the opportunity for some tax relief via MA every time the BHS is raised. Add in MA deductions for MediShield Life, CareShield Life, Integrated Shield base plan premiums, and qualified medical spending and you can at least get close to $8K per year just with VCs to MA. Don’t worry about tax relief specifically via SA when MA exists. Second, if you’ve got plenty of dollars for housing (basically, if you’re rich, or at least your family is), you shouldn’t worry about specifically using OA for housing. You’d just shove it into SA every month as long as you can, then you’d start investing it after OA to SA transfers are done. (OA to an elder’s RA is also possible.)Assuming u are young:
Firstly empty OA for property downpayment.
Secondly, use cash top up 8k to SA for tax relief instead.
Thirdly, invest excess OA into approved global equity fund.
I plonk 237k of OA into equities and now almost reach limit available for stocks.Given the drop in yields elsewhere, where are you guys investing your CPF-OA into ? Keeping them inside CPF-OA or moving them to CPF-SA ?
I am 45, considering doing VHR with my surplus cash. After doing VHR already, then I'll invest the excess OA in UT. Not sure anyone has experience going through and what are your thoughts?
Hi BBCWatcher,
- Unit trusts are generally high cost. You can do better.
I disagree. Infinity Global Stock Index SGD C is merely a feeder into VHVE, listed/traded on the London Stock Exchange. VHVE has an expense ratio of only 0.12% — 24 basis points below Lion Global's feeder route. Yes, there's a currency conversion and broker commission, but there are no CPFIA fees. (With OA dollars you have to pay initial and recurring CPFIA fees levied by your CPFIA bank.) And you don't lose any liquidity or burn any CPF OA repayment quota to get cash into VHVE via the direct path. There are also no risks involving the extra intermediaries that an indirect pathway would entail.Yes, unit trusts are generally high cost with one exception, ie. Infinity Global Stock Index SGD C. The expense ratio is 0.36% and only available for CPFIS. Being index unit trust, there're no brokerage fee, sale charge and bid/ask spread. The US withholding tax treatment and diversification are great too.
So, it make sense to: (1) inject funds into CPF OA and (2) invest in this unit trust via CPFIS.
I'm using Phillips POEMS (previously)/FSMOne (now) and DCA around 2k SGD monthly into Infinity Global Stock Index SGD C. My calculation is that the 2 dozen or so basis points expense ratio for the unit trust is worth paying.VHVE has an expense ratio of only 0.12% — 24 basis points below Lion Global's feeder route. Yes, there's a currency conversion and broker commission, but there are no CPFIA fees. (With OA dollars you have to pay initial and recurring CPFIA fees levied by your CPFIA bank.)
Why would it be worth paying treble the expense ratio? And taking the liquidity hit? And consuming CPF OA repayment "quota"?I'm using Phillips POEMS (previously)/FSMOne (now) and DCA around 2k SGD monthly into Infinity Global Stock Index SGD C. My calculation is that the 2 dozen or so basis points expense ratio for the unit trust is worth paying.
Initially, and every quarter. Why pay that extra fee?For the unit trust, my DBS agent bank CPFIA charges me 2.73 SGD. That's it!
Yeah, OK, so don't use POEMS for London Stock Exchange ETFs. Use Interactive Brokers, for example.For ETF, Phillips POEMS charges (1) 12++ GBP brokerage (2) currency exchange bid/ask around 0.5% (3) LSE price bid/ask another 0.5% hit. When I sell, I'll get hit again.