CPF Accounts Value thread

Mecisteus

Thats why he stopped and pumped all the winnings into CPF SA, this way he cant touch the monies anymore.

The winnings were put in SA.

Some who are not discipline may use other cash to gamble again.

This is a possibility.

Toni90

No, sorry, you have your basic facts wrong. The home ownership rate in the United States in 2017 was 64.2%.

As it happens, that 64.2% translates into a higher effective home ownership rate than Singapore's for at least two reasons:

1. Freeholds are very nearly universal in the United States. The 99 year leaseholds that are ubiquitous in Singapore, including for all HDB units, are virtually unknown in the United States.

2. The United States has a much higher percentage of housing units as single family detached homes that do not have any common area rental requirements.

....Almost all of you are renting, folks. ;)

1. What happened to you? How you made up this bullsh*t that 99 - leasehold is less home ownership than freehold? Do you find anyone calculate home ownership like this? You faked it yourself to make American great again?

BTW, If you want to compare, pls compare Singapore with New York City? What is the homeownership there? U.S. is a disgraced country in term of looking after its people, full of homeless people. Abandoned veterans on the streets.

2. You really had no idea about the common area in Singapore condo. How can it be rental? rent from whom? Ownself rent ownself ah?

BBCWatcher

How you made up this bullsh*t that 99 - leasehold is less home ownership than freehold?
It simply is; that’s why it’s called a leasehold, because it’s a long-term rental arrangement. Maybe you’ve heard of Hong Kong? ;)

You really had no idea about the common area in Singapore condo. How can it be rental? rent from whom? Ownself rent ownself ah?
Condo freeholders (or leaseholders) are required to pay maintenance and sinking fund fees. Those obligatory fees go toward the upkeep of the building and its common areas. “Rent” is a reasonable shorthand description of the arrangement, but if you derive comfort from however you have obtained housing, that’s fine with me.

It is a simple fact that the rate of freeholding (a very reasonable definition of ownership) is much higher in the United States than it is Singapore. Is that “bad” or “good”? No, there’s no assessment implied or intended. It just is. So what? Does this bother you? Why?

henrylbh

since you ignore my question, so I came to conclusion that previous reply was a typo, you meant to say have 310 K in OA or earned 31 K. :s8:

I already answered you question in post #58. Then you made assumption in post #59 and now you choose to draw conclusion. What's wrong with you :s13::s13::s13:

The capital then was no more than 300k. Last few years not much gain, except for dividends, when got stuck with Keppel at 12.56 and Lum Chang at 39c.

Ok I made it a little clearer. At end of each year to 2013, I have no more than 300k in my OA.

From 2014 I managed to realised little gain, mainly dividends but carried a disappointing unrealised loss. Nevertheless, the accumulated gain including dividends net of all charges came to $310k as of 30 Nov 2018.

As of Nov 2018 I have 349k in OA and cost of investment is 118k.

Please don't try to assume and draw conclusion or reconcile the numbers above :s13:

BBCWatcher

These are all just different ways to pay for housing. Pick what makes the most financial sense for you in your circumstances. If you want to live in a hotel for decades and pay by the day, like Coco Chanel did, FINE. If you want to pay cash for a freehold, FINE. If you want a 99 year leasehold HDB BTO financed with a HDB loan, FINE. Whatever housing payment approach is, unemotionally and genuinely, best and most appropriate for you is fine with me and ought to be fine with everyone else.

henrylbh

Conclusion? You can say 64% own real estate, but that left a very big number preferring to rent than buy?

Toni90

It simply is; that’s why it’s called a leasehold, because it’s a long-term rental arrangement. Maybe you’ve heard of Hong Kong? ;)

Condo freeholders (or leaseholders) are required to pay maintenance and sinking fund fees. Those obligatory fees go toward the upkeep of the building and its common areas. “Rent” is a reasonable shorthand description of the arrangement, but if you derive comfort from however you have obtained housing, that’s fine with me.

It is a simple fact that the rate of freeholding (a very reasonable definition of ownership) is much higher in the United States than it is Singapore. Is that “bad” or “good”? No, there’s no assessment implied or intended. It just is. So what? Does this bother you? Why?

You tried to quote me out of the context? Why dont you quote the whole question? I just asked you if anyone when calculated home ownership rate considering the 99 year lease hold less than free-hold? Like 90% owning 99-year = 60% owning freehold? Obvious u just made it up for your own argument.

And why do you think I bother about freehold in US? Do you think I bother that land in JB is freehold?

What I bother is how you dare to compare US with Singapore in term of home ownership while US abandoned their veterans on the streets? Singapore is trying to save the abandon dogs on the streets, you know? How can you people feel OK with treating your veterans worse than dogs? Why? Because your land is freehold?

iamveryguailan

what's the big deal about the diff between FH or LH? Many people have made good money off both FH and LH, seriously no diff if chosen properly.

Stick to CPF leh.

henrylbh

Hmm how's that EDMW? Since there's some guy who wants to talk about investment returns and posted his own pictures and that's acceptable, surely it's acceptable to show CPF Account values too.

So far how many have or willing to post pictures that you keen to see. Yet you have not posted yours for others to see. Instead this thread has degenerated to TCSS and becomes leasehold, freehold and a ssholes :s13:

JuniorLion

So far how many have or willing to post pictures that you keen to see. Yet you have not posted yours for others to see. Instead this thread has degenerated to TCSS and becomes leasehold, freehold and a ssholes :s13:

I've never shown my "assets", in CPF/investments or otherwise, simply because I don't flaunt. There are many in MoneyMind who likes to either flaunt about their terrace house, lousy husbands, or YTD investments. These people are a dime a dozen. I'm trying to lure them out to flaunt their wealth.

Your second point regarding FH, LH, AH. The thread will simply degenerate into this when some CCR FH guy and JB person comes into it. They take the FH vs LH debate to every thread they go to.

Well, regardless. Good to see those who had posted.

OngHuatHuat

Nope, your previous post seems suggesting the gain from stock market alone is 310 k.
This post also unclear.
You said you have 349 k in OA but your never specify whether that comes from stock market alone or from your work as well?
And if your cost of investment is around 150 k, it is not correct to use the term gain of 300’k?

Correct calculation should be just dividend + gain - MC - VC?
If you meant your started with 150’k, and currently OA has 349k, bulk of it could be from your work?

Nothing wrong with me. You shared something, so naturally reader has the right to ask and you have the right not to answer or anyhow answer.

I already answered you question in post #58. Then you made assumption in post #59 and now you choose to draw conclusion. What's wrong with you :s13::s13::s13:

Ok I made it a little clearer. At end of each year to 2013, I have no more than 300k in my OA.

From 2014 I managed to realised little gain, mainly dividends but carried a disappointing unrealised loss. Nevertheless, the accumulated gain including dividends net of all charges came to $310k as of 30 Nov 2018.

As of Nov 2018 I have 349k in OA and cost of investment is 118k.

Please don't try to assume and draw conclusion or reconcile the numbers above :s13:

henrylbh

Nope, your previous post seems suggesting the gain from stock market alone is 310 k.
This post also unclear.
You said you have 349 k in OA but your never specify whether that comes from stock market alone or from your work as well?
And if your cost of investment is around 150 k, it is not correct to use the term gain of 300’k?

Correct calculation should be just dividend + gain - MC - VC?
If you meant your started with 150’k, and currently OA has 349k, bulk of it could be from your work?

Nothing wrong with me. You shared something, so naturally reader has the right to ask and you have the right not to answer or anyhow answer.

I know you will bug me further on the numbers (cause you think nothing wrong with yourself :s13::s13::s13:)

To preempt that, I already said don't try to reconcile the numbers. There are other factors you are not completely aware of and jumped to conclusion with little info that I declassified.

I can proof my numbers right to a cent but why would I need to?

I got complete excel records of every cents in my CPF accounts involving not less than 10 columns that reconcile Balances with working contributions, interest earned, government top-ups, housing withdrawals/refunds, HPS, DPI, MHS and PMI deductions, MA medical expense, withdrawals, voluntary contributions, topping ups, transfer to parent's RA, CPFIA withdrawals/refunds etc.

Similarly, in my CPFIA, I have all the details to the last cent. There lies my gain and dividends on investments. 310k that I can distinguish between gain and dividend including dates if you want.

Ok to add further to your bewilderment, the ytd interest I earned in my CPF accounts came to $361,721.64 as of 31 Dec 2017, excluding interest earned on CPFIA and the interest earned on transfers to my father's RA. Don't believe right? Or don't understand right? :s22:

You have to see my worksheet to believe/understand. That's protected.

But like you said, take that what I said as not true :s13:

OngHuatHuat

Well, you can prove if you want to, just as simple as that. :)
Nobody forces you if you don’t want to, there is no need for you to write a long essay. Just a few screenshots will give people much clearer picture.

I know you will bug me further on the numbers (cause you think nothing wrong with yourself :s13::s13::s13:)

To preempt that, I already said don't try to reconcile the numbers. There are other factors you are not completely aware of and jumped to conclusion with little info that I declassified.

I can proof my numbers right to a cent but why would I need to?

I got complete excel records of every cents in my CPF accounts involving not less than 10 columns that reconcile Balances with working contributions, interest earned, government top-ups, housing withdrawals/refunds, HPS, DPI, MHS and PMI deductions, MA medical expense, withdrawals, voluntary contributions, topping ups, transfer to parent's RA, CPFIA withdrawals/refunds etc.

Similarly, in my CPFIA, I have all the details to the last cent. There lies my gain and dividends on investments. 310k that I can distinguish between gain and dividend including dates if you want.

Ok to add further to your bewilderment, the ytd interest I earned in my CPF accounts came to $361,721.64 as of 31 Dec 2017, excluding interest earned on CPFIA and the interest earned on transfers to my father's RA. Don't believe right? Or don't understand right? :s22:

You have to see my worksheet to believe/understand. That's protected.

But like you said, take that what I said as not true :s13:

henrylbh

Well, you can prove if you want to, just as simple as that. :)
Nobody forces you if you don’t want to, there is no need for you to write a long essay. Just a few screenshots will give people much clearer picture.

Ha ha, after a long essay, you still catch no ball. You still need a screen shot? Well a pic says a thousand words. But even with pic you may not understand, if I don't explain.

Anyway here is a pic of summary worksheet on CPF accounts. And I think you will still be wondering where is the profit that I mentioned. Rite? :s13:

CPF-history-new.jpg

Ok to save you from imagining, the profit would be the amount described in the pic as Investments plus cost of stocks under CPFIA (pic not shown here)

OngHuatHuat

Yes I am still wondering. Please show more

Ha ha, after a long essay, you still catch no ball. You still need a screen shot? Well a pic says a thousand words. But even with pic you may not understand, if I don't explain.

Anyway here is a pic of summary worksheet on CPF accounts. And I think you will still be wondering where is the profit that I mentioned. Rite? :s13:

CPF-history-new.jpg

Ok to save you from imagining, the profit would be the amount described in the pic as Investments plus cost of stocks under CPFIA (pic not shown here)

CPF-history-new.jpg

How to get 300+k interest? :eek:

Pls teach me senpai! :eek:
Sent from . using GAGT

henrylbh

Yes I am still wondering. Please show more

Wa you really ....... What more you want me to show before you understand.

First sub-total is sources of 'income' or what were credited into the CPF accounts. My maths poor but not like that :s13:

The next sub-total is the various deductions against CPF accounts, followed by housing instalments paid net of refunds.

The last sub-total is various credits and debits to the CPF accounts

The grand total is the CPF balances as at (date).

The Investments is the net inflows i.e. inflows less outflows from CPFIA. In other word, this is part of the profit from investments returned to CPF. What's left in CPFIA (in the form of shares held) is the profit not yet transferred back to CPF.

Now clearer?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.