Current queue status at Parliament

Scotts

Raffles city was full at 10 pm. Well, you need to cross to the cenotsph to join those from city hall mrt, before reaching Padang. My advice: don't come now.

wah i wanna go tomorrow after work one... guess it will be worse than today since its a friday. :(

tkk97

Ya, now i also know why my real beloved ah gong, who passed away many years ago, always on tv punctually on 9 Aug, to watch lky, without fail~ :o

actually for the rest of the peeps who want to pay respect can just wait and bow at his casket on sunday by waiting at the roadside??~

Read his 1966 Superb Speech !

Friends and fellow citizens,

This time last year, my colleagues and I had already made a fateful decision on your and our behalf. In the nature of the circumstances, there was no time for consultations. We could not find out what the consensus would have been had we refused to acquiesce and had we insisted on going on with the kind of Malaysia which we envisages it was, at the time when we agreed to join.

It is useful this evening not so much to go back to the past - the whys and the wherefores - to apportion blame but more to search deep into our hearts to ask if the things we set out to do were right or wrong; were good or bad. And I say that we have no regrets. We are completely unrepentant that we set out to build a multi-racial and, for some time, a multi-lingual, a multi- cultural community, to give a satisfying life to the many different kinds of people who foregathered here in over 150 years of the British Raj.

And we, in the end, on balance decided to carry on with our multi-racial experiment - if you like to call it - just in Singapore alone rather than be forced into large-scale conflict in Malaysia.

Nothing has altered, not the basic data nor our basic thinking. What has altered are the circumstances in which we now find ourselves.

I think it is reassuring on an anniversary to weigh the odds to see how we have performed, the promises against the performances. And my experiences of Singapore and her young, active, energetic if somewhat exuberant people is that given honest and effective leadership, an honest administration within which to bring forth themselves, they will make the grade.
It has been a year of great and sudden change. Very few countries in the world go through this kind of climacteric we have gone through.

dricas_007

If anyone wanna come tml just come and queue...dun bother how long to queue seem like no difference

Crooni

funny thing is once u commit, u cannot get out of the queue liao

i am not prepared for that level of commitment just yet

can lar i see parents cannot liao lift barricade and exit. too dangerous. is really packed and stuffy. also got ppl dunno why keep pushing and others attempting to weave through crowd to get in front (which is impossible).

sunsetbay

after his body cremated, can the public pay a visit~?? see the queue hr, sian 1/2~ :(

2i7l4ds.jpg

dareaper

They are moving the crowds by blocks. So it's better to spread out and sit down in each block since squeezing forward in each block is pretty pointless

foreseer

at nite even longer, all tot nite no pple :s13: :s22:

yesterday night got may people say not much people

wait <2hrs....... like 1 hr or so, coz after announcement people thought they got lots of time so all nv go......... in the wee hours all quite empty right? anyone can clarify?

jeff79

Surprise to hear that total visitor currently only 146k :eek:

Where did you hear the total visitor count?

Someone posted yesterday night, visitor count was only 37K? Today visitors was more than 3 times yesterday and with the special parliament sitting. :eek:
If the queue was not moved to padang today, where will it snake to, zouk or great world city?

RuoQin

for me, i feel that it's very meaningful to see his casket passing through Bukit Merah...

yeah~ I will wait at one of the roads that he will pass by on Sunday to pay respect rather than queuing endlessly~ :o

add oil queuers~!

veryhungryboy

how can the queue move so slow, even if got security check, pple are still being moving, not as if queueing waiting for stores to Open.

u see the news, pple move in hordes to pay respect

Litmuss

146k quite a lot already, got target numbers to hit meh? 500k?

146k out of some how many 3 million Singaporeans? That's very little. Especially when the queuing up looks as though nearly 3/4 of the country turn up.

Red_Panda

i wont mind going if it's like 2-3hrs max....... these people dont even know their history just wants to go there to ton night only

sorry thats the cold hard truth i feel

They are not going for a History exam. As long as they are appreciative of what Singapore(or LKY and his team) have given them, I think that's good enough.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.