Custom Watercooling [Recomendation]

XcoldstarX

U got email to ek for exchange? I also noticed their cnc milling like more cui these days... u should see the nickel plated backplate for gpu... the marking very obvious and fugly.... :(

I did. They said that it is within specs. A friend of mine also bought the same nickel plated block for his 1080 FTW...also same thing. Very poor finishing.

Can understand that. Their customer service are a big minus. I have a similar encounter. However, i think your case is like an one off thing.

What made me switch wad the fact that a China brand that costs half, can offer almost mirror-like fonishing on the base of the block. And the water channels milled into the acrylic top is a lot more fine and polished compared to EK. Furthermore, EK just brushed me off saying the block with obvious machining narks are within specs.

Also, with EK waterblocks you are forced to use their backplates instead of the stock backplate that comes with your GPU. That is a ripoff.

XcoldstarX

Thanks for the tips~ Now looking at barrow d5, ddc pumps and some 2nd hand pump plus res combos.

Also looking at the bykski waterblocks, it is almost a copy and paste of ekwb supremacy evo nickle.

Can't find bykski waterblock for my evga gtx1070 sc card too..

Fittings and tube more or less finalized with a magicool 360mm radiator :s22:

Been awhile since I read so much mandarin..

Just get the Bykski block for founder's edition, it fits the 1070SC. You can chat with the CSO on the Bykski taobao store.

Donten

I did. They said that it is within specs. A friend of mine also bought the same nickel plated block for his 1080 FTW...also same thing. Very poor finishing.

What made me switch wad the fact that a China brand that costs half, can offer almost mirror-like fonishing on the base of the block. And the water channels milled into the acrylic top is a lot more fine and polished compared to EK. Furthermore, EK just brushed me off saying the block with obvious machining narks are within specs.

Also, with EK waterblocks you are forced to use their backplates instead of the stock backplate that comes with your GPU. That is a ripoff.

awaiting some comparison shots. been out of the wc thing for very long.

shadow84

My EK block for MSI 1080 seems to be the same as well. IIRC, BP blocks for Fury and AQC blocks for R9 290 have much better finishing...

Op_Valkyrie

Do u all know why ekwb is expensive? There is a valid reason...

Becos it's made by chio bu zeh zeh.... :crazy:
a38b7695_2EKWBSupremacyAssembly2.jpeg

70bca422_5gpuassembly.jpeg

Truestory.jpg.... lol

XcoldstarX

EKWB the finishing quality steadily dropping with every generation.

From 4870x2, 6970, GTX580, GTX980Ti and now GTX1080, can see the finishing drop tremendously after GT500 series. Was very happy with their older blocks. Mirror finishing and polished crystal clear plexi top. Now they cut corners, charge more, and force you to buy their backplates.

royfrosty

So far for me EK is fine. Got their nickel supremacy cpu block.

Then for msi seahawk ek x is also fine mirror polish. Probably when collaborate type they have better finishing lol.

kurui_

Just get the Bykski block for founder's edition, it fits the 1070SC. You can chat with the CSO on the Bykski taobao store.

Thanks man! Really good news to be able to use back the original backplate.Will go check it out! Do they come with installation guide? It's my first time doing, won't know what goes, lol.

Bykski got a store in taobao?

joshuaho

I actually kena before but thought I was the suay one, 2 980ti g1 gaming blocks but the finishing damn crappy. But previous GPU blocks still quite ok. << all from EKWB

On the other hand first time purchase from bykski 1080 strix. The quality was surprisingly good, feels very solid, polish was superb, just that I felt some of the plastic edges could be smoothed out a little

joshuaho

Dk if they got GPU blocks for EVGA eh, I know they have for MSI, Zotac, FE and strix.

Thanks man! Really good news to be able to use back the original backplate.Will go check it out! Do they come with installation guide? It's my first time doing, won't know what goes, lol.

kurui_

Dk if they got GPU blocks for EVGA eh, I know they have for MSI, Zotac, FE and strix.

I saw they got do evga ftw cards.

Just checked with their cso, the Evga Gtx 1070 can use fe blocks too! Can add card into loop sooner liao haha

XcoldstarX

They got official Taobao store.

http://c.b2za.com/h.dc368q?cv=lUFbRJAyFV&sm=ef05dd

XcoldstarX

I saw they got do evga ftw cards.

Just checked with their cso, the Evga Gtx 1070 can use fe blocks too! Can add card into loop sooner liao haha

Their blocks for EVGA cards more legit than EK. Got EVGA logo on the plexi top one.

Donten

actually to be fair, their nickel finished waterblocks have always been cui. i remember during their nickel plate flaking saga, there were people showing comparison what a good nickel plated waterblock would look like. my 6990 also not mirror finished.

Masa27

Sorry for asking noob question, first time buying from tb. How should I proceed to ask about the bykski product? Through tb? Have trouble reading Chinese.

TIA

joshuaho

Asking, seems like through TB. But if u Wan convenience with ordering, some people order through ezbuy

Actually what do u need to ask about their products?
Sorry for asking noob question, first time buying from tb. How should I proceed to ask about the bykski product? Through tb? Have trouble reading Chinese.

TIA

kurui_

TIA

I'll be ordering though ezbuy, but do note that need to pay them agent fee. What items you looking for?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.