Dell Laptop User Thread

Diavonex

Because the battery may not be fully charged, use the AC adapter to connect your new computer to an
electrical outlet the first time you use the computer.

For best results, operate the computer with the AC adapter until the battery is fully charged.

To view battery charge status, access the Control Panel, click Power Options, and then click the Power Meter tab or Fn+F3.

AcerAF715

any recommend hours to charge the lappy? of just once battery full will do? or must i charge overtime at the first charge? like 8-10 hours etc?

AcerAF715

Ahh.. for the dell 640m, did u guys have any issue with the touch pad? like super sensitive... when i use the touch pad to move around... keep on ended up double clicking somethings... when i did even click on the "click" buttons

addict951

I dun care, I plugged in the batt and used liao. wow can last 3 hrs ****, but I set to the dimmest display

I let the batt run dry liao then charge till full

Diavonex

AcerAF715 said:
Ahh.. for the dell 640m, did u guys have any issue with the touch pad? like super sensitive... when i use the touch pad to move around... keep on ended up double clicking somethings... when i did even click on the "click" buttons

You can set the sensitivity via Control Panel>Mouse>Touchpad (if I remember correctly)

od00bo

I think it's ideal to charge the battery for 10hrs +/- for the first time :)

AcerAF715 said:
any recommend hours to charge the lappy? of just once battery full will do? or must i charge overtime at the first charge? like 8-10 hours etc?

AcerAF715

but seem like no use.. cos the battery itself will stop charging once it's 100%

and btw last prob.. the battery itself cos 5 tiny lights right? how to make it shine? lol to chk the batt.. i read the manual. must press some button.. bo leh.. :D

lol.. paiseh

a_h_f_s

Anyone knows how to go about changing from Vista(preinstalled) to XP on my Dell Inspiron 640m?

addict951

a_h_f_s said:
Anyone knows how to go about changing from Vista(preinstalled) to XP on my Dell Inspiron 640m?

just insert your WinXP CD, restart, boot from cd-rom?

addict951

anybody familiar with Vista can help?
Now it's like Vista is preventing the rubbish sw from installing
Whenever I click on the vodafone icon in My Computer, the windows cursor will start to spin (as in going to install), then it disappears, and that's it. No response liao.
Any idea where I need to go to disable or enable whatever?
I install until face green green liao

clairvoyance

Mine comes with a fully charged battery. Lasts about 2h 45 mins on balanced settings. Can make it last longer using power savings.

AcerAF715

btw last prob.. the battery itself at the bottom of the lappy have 5 tiny lights indicator right? how to make it light up to chk the batt.. i read the manual. must press some button.. bo leh..

lol.. paiseh

Diavonex

DSC06655.jpg

AcerAF715

u guys got reformat n partition a few drive from the mass abundance of hdd space? or just use as it is? 150gig drive C 10gig drive D

Diavonex

Use Disk Management and have a look at your HDD.

There are at least 2 hidden partitions.

Backup the whole hard disk before you mess with it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.