Dell Laptop User Thread

tekman

Yea the patch and upgrade instructions are on their website, just flash and it will work fine in Vista :)

http://m1.com.sg/broadband/m1bb.htm

Select on the Windows Vista Support link at the bottom left.

Note that x64 versions of Vista is still not supported.

smpeh28

Click sound in XPS.

Hi guys, i am new here but having problem with my XPS1210. Everytime move to new folder or webpage, there's click sound. ANy guys face the same problems?

smpeh28

XPS Click

thks, think it's more of coming from inside. it did not happen a few days i bought it. likely still under warranty, first time use dell, anyone knows what's the XPS direct number? Really giving me a headache, wanna use it for presentation tomorrow.

tekman

The number should be in the black box :X
Just checked mine, the XPS support line should be: 1800-394-7464

Diavonex

tenyawph said:
I got a 640m with 32-bit Vista installed. Anything that I should watch out for?

Hope you have configure it with at least 2GB of RAM; otherwise it'll crawl.

You may face problems with your old software/games.

Diavonex

smpeh28 said:
Hi guys, i am new here but having problem with my XPS1210. Everytime move to new folder or webpage, there's click sound. ANy guys face the same problems?

It's normal, just reduce your speaker volume.

addict951

wah lao Diavonex, you're right.
Vista sucks ram like nothing ****
and dell gibe lotsa rubbish on the default vista home setup
1st boot up got 60 over processes i see liao want to faint
and at this setup ram usage is nearly 8xxMB ****
1Gb confirm boh kao, heng got 2Gb :D

AcerAF715

after ur good arrival cannot ask them change 7200rpm 100gig liao right? addicts the 5400rpm abit like crawling? lol

eh guys btw.. how to reformatt? same as xp? able to close up the "dell gibe lotsa rubbish on the default vista home setup" processes?

human_shieldz

addict951 said:
wah lao Diavonex, you're right.
Vista sucks ram like nothing ****
and dell gibe lotsa rubbish on the default vista home setup
1st boot up got 60 over processes i see liao want to faint
and at this setup ram usage is nearly 8xxMB ****
1Gb confirm boh kao, heng got 2Gb :D
Exactly! I also hahaha. Thought 2gb is a lot of spare but i would prefer that than no spare at all. Think that time Dell still offer Vista for notebook with 512bm RAM. Siao!

huntzer

human_shieldz said:
Exactly! I also hahaha. Thought 2gb is a lot of spare but i would prefer that than no spare at all. Think that time Dell still offer Vista for notebook with 512bm RAM. Siao!

This is the freedom to choose.

it is not siao...some ppl prefer to get ram themselves... If i can choose, i would like to take out the hdd, ram, OS. I will get them myself.

Diavonex

Hard disk price is resonable

RAM is very expensive

DELL Windows CD is good; no need to activate; don't have to worry about driver for SATA drive.

addict951

for me i'd choose more hdd space than speed. dun forget faster speed also brings greater heat.
60Gb 2.5" hdd space is a lot to sacrifice for me. hdd space is nv enuff. *ahem* I dun need blazing speed, reasonable can already. :o

and I tweaked the msconfig liao, now down to 42 processes upon startup :D

AcerAF715

hmm the dell stuff will definitely be installed if u use their vista setup? feel like reinstalling everything + partition my drive... but first time on vista.. not confident..

any drivers or so i have to install beside the vista cd?

Diavonex

addict951 said:
for me i'd choose more hdd space than speed. dun forget faster speed also brings greater heat.
60Gb 2.5" hdd space is a lot to sacrifice for me. hdd space is nv enuff. *ahem* I dun need blazing speed, reasonable can already. :o

and I tweaked the msconfig liao, now down to 42 processes upon startup :D

I've switched to a 7,200RPM HDD; no difference in battery consumption; HDD runs about 2 degrees higher but performance improvement is significant.

S

smpeh

thks, guys. Got the click sound under control.seems like got lots to learn about vista. XPS1210 speakers really bad.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.