Dell Laptop User Thread

GreenArrow2002

anewuser said:
Bro I still waiting for them to call me.

Called her (Kelly) but she on business trip sia from 1st -5th Sept.

What shld I do man?

And btw what are the NECESSARY THINGS I need to download when I get the laptop.

**Damn cheap man check out the TODAY today on the new pricing; I've saved around S$400.

COMMEX POWER!

The delivery dept will call u b4 they come down. Usually a day in advance. You don't need to install anything on your new lappy. Just plug in and boot up. Follows the screen prompts. Easy. U can always configure the system to your own style. The necessary drivers, etc are on the enclosed CDs. U can also d/l any new bios, patches from DELL website.

Hope this helps and enjoy your new DELL.

XPSGen2

Dun be so blurr lah!!! She's just the sales person...get commission forget abt you liao!!
Next time, anything wrong (touch wood) just call Dell directly. :p

blurpasta

Daedalus said:
just wondering, any 700m users run into audio problems??

I have been hearing abt some problems, wonder whether the new ones sold at COMEX are like that..

http://www.recall700m.com/

Cheers

u look at e previous page, somebody state tt there was a patch available to d/l at e USA site to stop e problem.

Daedalus

Has anyone tried these?? Looking at the US dell support forum and the dell recall page, it seems that this patch is just for the hard disk and doesnt resolve the mic in issuess..

blurpasta

anewuser said:
Bro good for you man.

damn they still haven't call me yet.

hmm... i call up today n give them my sales order form id. They told me it stated on their system tt mine has been sent out so i will received e call in 1 or 2days time & before i noe it, they call me today lor.

donald83

Anyway one quick question. Is the Win XP cd integrated together with all the Dell drivers? Cos they giving me XP home but then i wanna use my own Xp Pro to install in my new lappie. Is it possible?

darrenlee78

donald83 said:
Anyway one quick question. Is the Win XP cd integrated together with all the Dell drivers? Cos they giving me XP home but then i wanna use my own Xp Pro to install in my new lappie. Is it possible?
should not be a problem.

dforster

Short answer is yes the CD does contain some drivers, but its not linked to XP install, need to run seperate program.

I just reformated my own D800 so strongly suggest you download prior to your install.

1. All drivers, especially ethernet driver, as the XP one may not work and you will want to connect to internet or simething.
2. Service Pack 2
3. all Dell utilities

Once all was up, the utilities etc were actually improved on the defaults installed from when I bought it.

blurpasta

darren, i have just received my 700m... Pls update e list. Thanks!

Anyway I have to charge e battery for 8hrs rite?

darrenlee78

blurpasta said:
darren, i have just received my 700m... Pls update e list. Thanks!

Anyway I have to charge e battery for 8hrs rite?
updated. it is recommended you should so as to condition the battery

blurpasta

darrenlee78 said:
updated. it is recommended you should so as to condition the battery

okok... thanks! anyway i have about 80% of battery life when i on my lappy nw, shld i use up its life n do a 8hr charge or just charge 8hr lidatz

blurpasta

donald83 said:
Envious sia!! U using Xp home or Pro?

xp home... not much difference ba, although i haf e win xp pro oem but i tink i'm not going to install it to my lappy. Too troublesome as i nd to call up microsoft to activate agn. Unless there's prob, i shall stick with e xp home.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.