Dell Laptop User Thread

RobVanDam

yes its quite playable, just dun siwtch on everything to max can already ... i tried everything at max only can get like 4FPS .. haa haa.. but set some low some medium becos quite good !

anyone know abt the latest drivers

Shinji_U

I'm using the NVIDIA BETA Forceware drivers, force it to install as NVIDIA Geforce 7500 LE... so far.. no issue... just that when I close my LCD the backlight won't turn off by itself...

Tokieda

how long does it take for it to arrive in singapore when u order one?

how many shipping methods are there

RobVanDam

Shinji_U said:
I'm using the NVIDIA BETA Forceware drivers, force it to install as NVIDIA Geforce 7500 LE... so far.. no issue... just that when I close my LCD the backlight won't turn off by itself...
if hey do u play Company of Heroes as well,
if so do you see any improvement in the game play?

or what about any other games or benchmarks any improvements ...
cos if not much than i dun think i wanna mess with the drivers and
my lcd not turning off is gonna be quite irritating for me .. heh heh

li_chenwei48

Just ordered the XPS M1210

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor T7200
2GHz, 4MB Cache, 667 MHz FSB
Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED HD Audio
256MB NVIDIA(R) GeForce(TM) Go 7400 TurboCache
Genuine Windows(R) XP Professional SP2 Edition
3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover - 20% Discount
12.1" Wide Screen XGA display with TrueLife(TM) (1280x800 res.) & 1.3MP Web Cam
1024MB (1 X 1024MB) DDR2 SDRAM
100GB SATA 7200RPM Performance Hard Drive
Internal 8X DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer write capabilities
9-cell 85Whr Lithium Ion Primary Battery

For $2950(inc GST)

Hope I get it quick! Cos now it's my term break got time to fiddle with it

piggyxiaozhu

anyone with the xps M1210 that comes with the intergrated graphic card? me nt a gamer, jus to play games like sims 2... is it ok?

skyways

li_chenwei48 said:
Just ordered the XPS M1210

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor T7200
2GHz, 4MB Cache, 667 MHz FSB
Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED HD Audio
256MB NVIDIA(R) GeForce(TM) Go 7400 TurboCache
Genuine Windows(R) XP Professional SP2 Edition
3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover - 20% Discount
12.1" Wide Screen XGA display with TrueLife(TM) (1280x800 res.) & 1.3MP Web Cam
1024MB (1 X 1024MB) DDR2 SDRAM
100GB SATA 7200RPM Performance Hard Drive
Internal 8X DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer write capabilities
9-cell 85Whr Lithium Ion Primary Battery

For $2950(inc GST)

Hope I get it quick! Cos now it's my term break got time to fiddle with it
It took approx. 5 working days to deliver the product to your doorstep. I suggest you call them up or check the status through dell web site. This will make sure your order has been put into production.

I got my XPS M1210 in 5 working days. Order on Monday afternoon, got it on friday morning.

With this ultralight machine, it makes my trip easy than before, not like last time carry a 15.4" 2.9kg laptop which is quite tired after walk for certain distance. Although the XPS screen is small, but no problem after extend it with a 19" monitor at work. Solve the problem for long hours usage.

silencer22

anyone tried weighing how heavy xps is??
i mean after all the upgrades, like gfx, webcam, hdd, c2d??
1.9kg is for base config rite?

btw i heard frm my fren tt u r unable to format/partition ur hdd for dell laptops... is tt true??? so absurd to me...

dr34mc4st3r

checked my order status

Further Information
Order Date 25-Sep-2006
Build and Testing Date
Estimated Delivery Date * 09-Oct-2006

sian.

subisisniki

Diavonex said:
It's free for a couple of months after that you pay.

AVG is free all the way.

then i can juz use this for 15 mths first... unless of course, the success rate is better for other free antivirus software

li_chenwei48

silencer22 said:
anyone tried weighing how heavy xps is??
i mean after all the upgrades, like gfx, webcam, hdd, c2d??
1.9kg is for base config rite?

btw i heard frm my fren tt u r unable to format/partition ur hdd for dell laptops... is tt true??? so absurd to me...

Basic Config 1.98 kg

After all upgrades incl webcam + extended battery Abt 2.2kg
Pretty heavy for a 12"
But still it's the size that matter

li_chenwei48

dr34mc4st3r said:
checked my order status

Further Information
Order Date 25-Sep-2006
Build and Testing Date
Estimated Delivery Date * 09-Oct-2006

sian.

Wah How come so long?
Too bad Dell hasnt send me a email to confirm my order.

silencer22

li_chenwei48 said:
Basic Config 1.98 kg

After all upgrades incl webcam + extended battery Abt 2.2kg
Pretty heavy for a 12"
But still it's the size that matter
kk.. thx alot...

VoodooEx

li_chenwei48 said:
Wah How come so long?
Too bad Dell hasnt send me a email to confirm my order.

That's pretty long too. I order on Tue and I got it on the Sat on the same week. Only 3 days of waiting, not including Sat.

syn_fan

e macfee suk..
sian..
only last for 3months i think then nd to sign up again..
last time i was using a acer laptop tat 1 1yr lor..
sad..
lol

li_chenwei48

Order Date 26-Sep-2006
Build and Testing Date
Estimated Delivery Date * 06-Oct-2006
Shipment Method TO BE ADVISED

Hai...

ultraman070

Static electric

I just got my 640m, When i use my hand to touch the IEEE1397 connector or other ports on the left side. I can feel some static electric. Is this common? I dont think there should be electric coming out from the ports rite??? Anyone got this prob?

li_chenwei48

ultraman070 said:
I just got my 640m, When i use my hand to touch the IEEE1397 connector or other ports on the left side. I can feel some static electric. Is this common? I dont think there should be electric coming out from the ports rite??? Anyone got this prob?

There will, I felt on desktop USB Cable and also Laptop Adapters
Cos you are grounding it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.