Dell Laptop User Thread

BradenHeat

PandaCat said:
Hmm actually currently is aiming for:

Dell Inspiron 1420
1) Intel® Centrino® Duo Processor Technology - Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7250 (2GHz/ 800 FSB/ 2MB Cache)
2) 2GB DDR2 SDRAM
3) 14.1” WXGA Display (True Life)
4) 160GB* Hard Drive
5) 8X DVD Burner
6) 128MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8400M GS
7) Windows Vista® Home Premium
8) Midnight Blue Colour with 2MP Camera
9) 9 Cell Battery
10) Intel Pro/wireless 3945 Dual band 802.11a/g 54mpbs Wireless mini card
11) 2years limited warranty.

Altogether for above specs, pricing is around $1758.

Btw can i check whether is it possible that can go to their branch at suntec there, order the things there den after tat a few wks later den go there collect instead of asking them to deliver to my hse?

Hopin to get this b4 29/10/07 as offer end of tat day.
Delivery....hmm....Calling for Diavonx.....please help outs :crazy:

thats a steal man.

WAIT!!!!!

PLEASE OPT for windows XP!!!!

NO VISTA PLEASE!!!

Im Not kidding man :s16:

PandaCat

BradenHeat said:
Delivery....hmm....Calling for Diavonx.....please help outs :crazy:

thats a steal man.

WAIT!!!!!

PLEASE OPT for windows XP!!!!

NO VISTA PLEASE!!!

Im Not kidding man :s16:
Cuz if possible i will wish to collect personnally instead of asking them to deliver to my hse.

Hmm but for tat promotion, only available to choose window vista and cant choose XP lehZ? Or will i be able to ask them to give me xp instead when i go down to their Dell Branch in suntec to order it?

BradenHeat

PandaCat said:
Hmm actually currently is aiming for:

Dell Inspiron 1420
1) Intel® Centrino® Duo Processor Technology - Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7250 (2GHz/ 800 FSB/ 2MB Cache)
2) 2GB DDR2 SDRAM
3) 14.1” WXGA Display (True Life)
4) 160GB* Hard Drive
5) 8X DVD Burner
6) 128MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8400M GS
7) Windows Vista® Home Premium
8) Midnight Blue Colour with 2MP Camera
9) 9 Cell Battery
10) Intel Pro/wireless 3945 Dual band 802.11a/g 54mpbs Wireless mini card
11) 2years limited warranty.

Altogether for above specs, pricing is around $1758.

Btw can i check whether is it possible that can go to their branch at suntec there, order the things there den after tat a few wks later den go there collect instead of asking them to deliver to my hse?

Hopin to get this b4 29/10/07 as offer end of tat day.

No problem. Eh NFS most wanted game need graphic card like Nivda 128MB den can support ah else intergrated graphic card cant support? Btw eh wat is 'prawns'?
ACtually your spec, is highend if it was 2 years ago....
anyways STAY clear of windows VISTA

Eh EH EH....DONT ACT PURE HOR...

Prawns = prawns in the seafood.:o

BradenHeat

PandaCat said:
Cuz if possible i will wish to collect personnally instead of asking them to deliver to my hse.

Hmm but for tat promotion, only available to choose window vista and cant choose XP lehZ? Or will i be able to ask them to give me xp instead when i go down to their Dell Branch in suntec to order it?
Try to ask opt for XP...they sure can provide one.....home or pro...doesnt matter.....as long its Windows XP

Vista is ala vas vista, baby :s22: (Memory eater)

PandaCat

BradenHeat said:
ACtually your spec, is highend if it was 2 years ago....
anyways STAY clear of windows VISTA

Eh EH EH....DONT ACT PURE HOR...

Prawns = prawns in the seafood.:o
Hmm anyway i will be using the specs for a long long time even though it not tat high end cuz for my desktop, am still using Pentium 4 2.66ghZ which i have using for many many years le. :)

Hmm prawns mean *ahem ahem* riteZ? HahaZ.

BradenHeat

PandaCat said:
Hmm anyway i will be using the specs for a long long time even though it not tat high end cuz for my desktop, am still using Pentium 4 2.66ghZ which i have using for many many years le. :)

Hmm prawns mean *ahem ahem* riteZ? HahaZ.
TMD....you seibei the actor hor..

anyways....

TO potential Dell and even to ALL laptop buyers

DONT GET VISTA, It eats lots of ram for no F88k reason. Plus alot of security problems.....the security login IS the problem :s22:

PandaCat

BradenHeat said:
Try to ask opt for XP...they sure can provide one.....home or pro...doesnt matter.....as long its Windows XP

Vista is ala vas vista, baby :s22: (Memory eater)
Okie. I will take note of it. Btw wat is the different between home or pro ah?

Guess will be going down to their branch at suntec there to customise my laptop instead of getting online. For delivery wise, can anyone help me as in can i personally collect the laptop from their branch in suntec?

BradenHeat

PandaCat said:
Okie. I will take note of it. Btw wat is the different between home or pro ah?

Guess will be going down to their branch at suntec there to customise my laptop instead of getting online. For delivery wise, can anyone help me as in can i personally collect the laptop from their branch in suntec?
zzzzzzzz

sorry man...just check your ideal buy.....really no option for XP...

try to ask them bah....here i cant help out much liao.....Windows XP Professional offers a number of features unavailable in the Home Edition, including:

• The ability to become part of a Windows Server domain, a group of computers that are remotely managed by one or more central servers.
  • A sophisticated access control scheme that allows specific permissions on files to be granted to specific users under normal circumstances. However, users can use tools other than Windows Explorer (like cacls or File Manager), or restart to Safe Mode to modify access control lists.
  • Remote Desktop server, which allows a PC to be operated by another Windows XP user over a local area network or the Internet.
  • Offline Files and Folders, which allow the PC to automatically store a copy of files from another networked computer and work with them while disconnected from the network.
  • Encrypting File System, which encrypts files stored on the computer's hard drive so they cannot be read by another user, even with physical access to the storage medium.
  • Centralized administration features, including Group Policies, Automatic Software Installation and Maintenance, Roaming User Profiles, and Remote Installation Service (RIS).
  • Internet Information Services (IIS), Microsoft's HTTP and FTP Server.
  • Support for two physical central processing units (CPU). (Because the number of CPU cores and Hyper-threading capabilities on modern CPUs are considered to be part of a single physical processor, multicore CPUs are supported using XP Home Edition.)[4][5]

PandaCat

BradenHeat said:
zzzzzzzz

sorry man...just check your ideal buy.....really no option for XP...

try to ask them bah....here i cant help out much liao.....Windows XP Professional offers a number of features unavailable in the Home Edition, including:

• The ability to become part of a Windows Server domain, a group of computers that are remotely managed by one or more central servers.
  • A sophisticated access control scheme that allows specific permissions on files to be granted to specific users under normal circumstances. However, users can use tools other than Windows Explorer (like cacls or File Manager), or restart to Safe Mode to modify access control lists.
  • Remote Desktop server, which allows a PC to be operated by another Windows XP user over a local area network or the Internet.
  • Offline Files and Folders, which allow the PC to automatically store a copy of files from another networked computer and work with them while disconnected from the network.
  • Encrypting File System, which encrypts files stored on the computer's hard drive so they cannot be read by another user, even with physical access to the storage medium.
  • Centralized administration features, including Group Policies, Automatic Software Installation and Maintenance, Roaming User Profiles, and Remote Installation Service (RIS).
  • Internet Information Services (IIS), Microsoft's HTTP and FTP Server.
  • Support for two physical central processing units (CPU). (Because the number of CPU cores and Hyper-threading capabilities on modern CPUs are considered to be part of a single physical processor, multicore CPUs are supported using XP Home Edition.)[4][5]
Hmm really mayb have no choice but have to go down to their Dell Branch in Suntec to customise there. Well if possible, i will try to change to XP Pro as the OS. Hopefully will be goin down in a few wks time as then will have the $$ but who noe tat in between the time, Dell might just come up with more deal tat might just interest me. HahaZ.

BradenHeat

PandaCat said:
Hmm really mayb have no choice but have to go down to their Dell Branch in Suntec to customise there. Well if possible, i will try to change to XP Pro as the OS. Hopefully will be goin down in a few wks time as then will have the $$ but who noe tat in between the time, Dell might just come up with more deal tat might just interest me. HahaZ.

Man, the chinese saying goes

: the wise man avoids any potential problems

Or you treaten them

If YOU dont give me my xp ...... i will BUTTS**K YOU!

If really no choice .....arh...just see how your fate goes :s12:

ipporek

PandaCat said:

Better deal? Best deal go get from JB. Cheaper there. :D

DuhDoh

Erm, hi i have a inspiron 600m... which is about 3years old now... i'm not sure if i was allow to post this here?.....anyways i was thinking of getting a 1gb ram for this fellow cos its getting really really slow now...... but... i dont know how to check the Ram of the brand thats currently in it...so i could get the same brand..... to prevent system errors.. i think?....

so basically could any help me on how to check the Brand of my ram? and whats the price? and recommendation on a 1Gb ram suitable for this laptop? i really need help on this asap! thanks!!

thanks in advance!...

PandaCat

ipporek said:
Better deal? Best deal go get from JB. Cheaper there. :D
Eh dunwan lahZ, not familiar with the things there although i live near the woodlands checkpoint but i dun do msia often. HahaZ.

BradenHeat said:
Man, the chinese saying goes

: the wise man avoids any potential problems

Or you treaten them

If YOU dont give me my xp ...... i will BUTTS**K YOU!

If really no choice .....arh...just see how your fate goes :s12:
BradenHeat, really thanks for all the advice u given previously as for them den i know wat i truly want. :)

BradenHeat

DuhDoh said:
Erm, hi i have a inspiron 600m... which is about 3years old now... i'm not sure if i was allow to post this here?.....anyways i was thinking of getting a 1gb ram for this fellow cos its getting really really slow now...... but... i dont know how to check the Ram of the brand thats currently in it...so i could get the same brand..... to prevent system errors.. i think?....

so basically could any help me on how to check the Brand of my ram? and whats the price? and recommendation on a 1Gb ram suitable for this laptop? i really need help on this asap! thanks!!

thanks in advance!...

woa yours is a old timer ......dell now doesn't have the spec at their site but

http://supportapj.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins600m/en/sm/upgrades.htm

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

BradenHeat

PandaCat said:
Eh dunwan lahZ, not familiar with the things there although i live near the woodlands checkpoint but i dun do msia often. HahaZ.

BradenHeat, really thanks for all the advice u given previously as for them den i know wat i truly want. :)
ONWARD WITH BUTTSA*CKS! :s13:

Just get your purchases here and remember about charges on

1) Delivery

2) If can get XP, is there any rebate

3) Get abit of pity, thats how my relative got me a free laptop carrier.... :D

DuhDoh

BradenHeat said:
woa yours is a old timer ......dell now doesn't have the spec at their site but

http://supportapj.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins600m/en/sm/upgrades.htm

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

Hey, Thanks i just jotted down the brand name and some other stuff..

ProMos Techologies

V826632B24SATG-C0
256MB DDR - 333Mhz =CL2.5
Pc2700U- 2533 - 0 -a0

so any chance i could buy a 1gb ram that supports my comp now?like kingston or corsiar or something?

o ya... what do do with the CPUZ website u gave me?*edited* i figured it out liao...

this is the specs i think.... DDR, PC2700 (166 MHz), 256 MBytes, MOSEL

thanks!!

BradenHeat

DuhDoh said:
Hey, Thanks i just jotted down the brand name and some other stuff..

ProMos Techologies

V826632B24SATG-C0
256MB DDR - 333Mhz =CL2.5
Pc2700U- 2533 - 0 -a0

so any chance i could buy a 1gb ram that supports my comp now?like kingston or corsiar or something?

o ya... what do do with the CPUZ website u gave me?*edited* i figured it out liao...

this is the specs i think.... DDR, PC2700 (166 MHz), 256 MBytes, MOSEL

thanks!!
just go down the shop that sells RAM you know of and tell them the results....we're not selling ram here :s22: you know....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.