Divorced getting common?

Ethan_

actually mine also is. yea i think its generational.

i told some female friends, if got kid we will co-parent but i amnot marrying they said ok, even better :o

why need to marry? i got HDB, i got income, if u want kid i will support, take care etc.... so why marry if you can just do all these already?

marriage serve no purpose to me.
Think its also drastic changes in moral and values bah, or rather, lack of. More of the older generation tend value family as a unit, regardless of how they feel toward each other. Family is family. Keep it together. But not so much the younger generation.

Relationship sure have up and down one. Who doesn't. Even many parents and children don't see eye to eye with each other. Don't say two different people from different family and background come together and form a family unit. But those differences have not stop most from being parent and children.

Think there are quite some older generation who tend go about living their own life, doing their own things more in their old age. Don't bother each other much. But they still stay as family, and within the family they still have their role toward their children.

Although, think modern marriage system tend disadvantage men more. Thus choosing not to get married is just a practical choice. Co-parenting might seems good, but still not as good as a family unit bah. There will still be shortfall in term of the dynamics of the relationship.

Also, think more women might not agree to it. Especially those that looks toward marriage as a long term meal ticket, given the advantage they have in the modern marriage system.

Quite curious also, for co-parenting that is having child out of wedlock, do the usual pro family benefits still applicable to them?

Laneige

The only way in Singapore adultery will have an impact on asset split or custody is if the guilty party feels guilty and relinquishes all claims as “sign of guilt”. Unfortunately I hear from people that there is no sense of guilt among the adulterers and they will fight for “their share”.

Maybe to them a marriage broken down is never because of one party only

sidewind

If you know wife cheat on you, get PI to gather all evidence and let her lose the children custody and receive no alimony.
Just for awareness -

Reason for breakdown of marriage has no implication (at least in any Act or Charter) to the division of Assets or arrangement of the Children.

loveboon

This is Singapore for you where men lose out on everything… stay single the best

stingray1211

I'm surprised that my friend who happily married for 15 over years divorce recently. Got 3 kids and kids custody was awarded to the mother.
My friend was a PMET doing quite well, earning at least 10k pm. Lives in landed property bought using parent money without loan. Now divorce liao 50% went to wife.
The reason for the divorced was wife cheated on him

women cheating is as common as men cheating

Shawny88

i told some female friends, if got kid we will co-parent but i amnot marrying they said ok, even better :o

why need to marry? i got HDB, i got income, if u want kid i will support, take care etc.... so why marry if you can just do all these already?

Government policies and incentives do not support the idea of co-parent without marriage…

Teyemittisi

Bloody hell.. how many fwbs you have ? What a lucky chap.

jack-320

Where got so high divorce rate? All my friends, relatives, and neighbours remained married. Only a few outlier colleagues got divorsed
Exactly

I don’t see high divorce rate happening around me

I swear to god, all my peers, colleagues, relatives are attached, getting married or already married

only guys have difficulty to get attached and thus unhappy

where is the divorce being common?

I only know of 3 person who are divorced, but they are problematic from the start

those normal ones who get attached and get married, don’t hear divorce or unhappiness coming from them, their relationship/marriage last for life…they just get attached because someone appeared in their life, become official bf/gf and get married and start family, just follow zeng hu formula

I know, for those who are divorced, magically other divorcees will keep appearing in their life non stop, that is why they say divorce rate is high

of course I don’t wish anyone to get divorced, hope all get attached and married

Lolile

why still need WC ?
This era females are empowered and can earn their keeps, that’s why I mentioned WC needs to be reviewed including abolished if it no longer serves its original intent of protecting women during our great grandma’s / grandma era where most are housewives and helpless if their men divorce them

We should just let the couple decide on prenuptials if they choose to make their rs transactional

guliangs in the parlament wun do tat…
Wats guliangs? You meant guniangs?

Song Bro

The concept of alimony is an old concept.
To more address the current status quo, there should be an amendment.

For those around me.
Me - Single
Bro - Single
Cousin A (Aunt X) - 1
Cousin B (Aunt X) - Single
Cousin A (Aunt Y) - Married
Cousin A (Aunt A) - 1
Cousin B (Aunt A) - Married
Cousin C (Aunt A) - Married
Nephew C (Aunt A) - Dink
Cousin A (Aunt B) - 3 Married (Yes, divorce 3 times)
Nephew A (Aunt B) - Dink
Cousin B (Aunt B) - 1
Cousin A (Aunt C) - 1
Cousin B (Aunt C) - Married
Cousin C (Aunt C) - Single
Ex-neighbour's Child A - Pending engaged
Ex-neighbour's Child B - Engaged
Ex-neighbour's Child C - Dink
Ex-neighbour's Child D - Pending single
Mum's friend's Child A - 1
Mum's friend's Child B - Dink
Friend A - Married
Friend B - Married
Friend C - Single
Friend D - Dink
Friend E - Married
Friend F - Married
My BTO ex owner - 1

Divorce rate = 9/22 = about 41%, not counting multiple divorces 31%.
italics are 1 gen younger
Bold are females

Looks bleak to me.

askxyz

This era females are empowered and can earn their keeps, that’s why I mentioned WC needs to be reviewed including abolished if it no longer serves its original intent of protecting women during our great grandma’s / grandma era where most are housewives and helpless if their men divorce them

We should just let the couple decide on prenuptials if they choose to make their rs transactional

Wats guliangs? You meant guniangs?
if they want to move to "gender equality" , WC has to be removed. They can't fulfil that without WC being abolished.

SayPorkGuy

The concept of alimony is an old concept.
To more address the current status quo, there should be an amendment.

For those around me.
Me - Single
Bro - Single
Cousin A (Aunt X) - 1
Cousin B (Aunt X) - Single
Cousin A (Aunt Y) - Married
Cousin A (Aunt A) - 1
Cousin B (Aunt A) - Married
Cousin C (Aunt A) - Married
Nephew C (Aunt A) - Dink
Cousin A (Aunt B) - 3 Married (Yes, divorce 3 times)
Nephew A (Aunt B) - Dink
Cousin B (Aunt B) - 1
Cousin A (Aunt C) - 1
Cousin B (Aunt C) - Married
Cousin C (Aunt C) - Single
Ex-neighbour's Child A - Pending engaged
Ex-neighbour's Child B - Engaged
Ex-neighbour's Child C - Dink
Ex-neighbour's Child D - Pending single
Mum's friend's Child A - 1
Mum's friend's Child B - Dink
Friend A - Married
Friend B - Married
Friend C - Single
Friend D - Dink
Friend E - Married
Friend F - Married
My BTO ex owner - 1

Divorce rate = 9/22 = about 41%, not counting multiple divorces 31%.
italics are 1 gen younger
Bold are females

Looks bleak to me.
wc need to justify their existence.

SayPorkGuy

if they want to move to "gender equality" , WC has to be removed. They can't fulfil that without WC being abolished.
gender equality is female superiority to them. it's time for males to suffer for decades of female oppression and suppression.

StoicGuy

Don't dare to make amendments? No. They won't hesitate to make amendments beneficial to their female voters and most would only serve to benefit women more! :o
Actually I should said PAP.

Basically all political parties including WP will not dare to touch woman's charter..

SayPorkGuy

Actually I should said PAP.

Basically all political parties including WP will not dare to touch woman's charter..
which party want to face the world being called sexist? haven't talk already kena strawman.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.