Do surge protectors actually lengthen the lifespan of electronics?

occifer

the Belkin gold series surgemaster still listed in Belkin SG web, but not sure whether it's updated cos it's very old model like my one~

https://www.belkin.com/sg/products/surge-protectors-power-strips/

Anyway I will not just look at the energy absorption rating, I'll pay attention more to the equipments warranty that is covered in SG~

my Masterplug though only rated 370 joules energy absorption, it has S$2k equipments warranty, which is enough to cover the cost of my son PC~ :s22:

Yes, thats the gold one with 2,700 joules but i cant find it online anywhere anymore. I think it is discontinued. Only the 900 joules one is available and it is avail everywhere.

The gold one cost abit but it is worth it imo.

Abletron001

Waste money only lah....if lightning strike also cannot protect and it has lifespan..

I have equipments running on generator..the surge from faulty generator starting up is wayyyy lower than lightning strike, non of this surge protector can help.

The only thing that work is a automatic voltage regulator...that cost a lot more than a simple surge protector lah. This is at least for me lah...but surge protector and AVR are two different device but the expensive AVR actually work faster than the cheapo surge protector that most have.

Apparatus

Thx now I understand liao. Type 3 is actually the common "surge protector" device that is marketed around. Basically is power strip with capability to protect against power spikes.

It is type 2 one install at Power distribution board that is very chim one. I definitely need to research more and hire a electrician to install one for me.

But you still need to choose the right Type 3 surge protected power strip for protecting those high value devices in your house eg. 8K tv, expensive AV system, NAS, expensive PC setup etc. Whether to add a UPS/AVR/Line Conditioner will depend on your needs.

For those low value type just buy a Type 3 one from your neighborhood shop or shopping centre will do. Eg for charging your phones, flashlights, laptop, Bluetooth speakers etc

anchoraz

1 day ur pub or town council need to change meter or wire outside. If u got gamer pc or server at home, better put 1. Can buy from shopee. Auto cutoff if more than 250v. Else u spend time restore and buy new hardware which cost $$.

Apparatus

1 day ur pub or town council need to change meter or wire outside. If u got gamer pc or server at home, better put 1. Can buy from shopee. Auto cutoff if more than 250v. Else u spend time restore and buy new hardware which cost $$.

As of now our gov has no responsibility to protect the equipment in your house which can be damaged due to over voltage surges. However, protecting lives is important so the circuit breaker box is there

matrix05

3rd world yes, 1st world power grid no because power is clean and steady like PAP.

sales69

Yes, thats the gold one with 2,700 joules but i cant find it online anywhere anymore. I think it is discontinued. Only the 900 joules one is available and it is avail everywhere.

The gold one cost abit but it is worth it imo.
Wow mine is the gold one. Must be over 15 years old. Still working solid. Got it from VR-Zone groupbuy.

occifer

the Belkin gold series surgemaster still listed in Belkin SG web, but not sure whether it's updated cos it's very old model like my one~

https://www.belkin.com/sg/products/surge-protectors-power-strips/

Anyway I will not just look at the energy absorption rating, I'll pay attention more to the equipments warranty that is covered in SG~

my Masterplug though only rated 370 joules energy absorption, it has S$2k equipments warranty, which is enough to cover the cost of my son PC~ :s22:

Those equipment warranty are probably impossible to claim lol

occifer

3rd world yes, 1st world power grid no because power is clean and steady like PAP.

Gemini says surge protector still help lengthen lifespan :s22:

Damage isnt the concern.

Wow mine is the gold one. Must be over 15 years old. Still working solid. Got it from VR-Zone groupbuy.

Nice but now no longer avail. Amazon.com has alot of high joules one but only for 120v :s22:

yildun

What kind of electrical surges that would happen in sg that we are protecting our appliances against?

I do not have any surge protector, and have never had any appliances damaged by surges.

occifer

What kind of electrical surges that would happen in sg that we are protecting our appliances against?

Already say it is to deliver more stable electricity to lengthen lifespan some. Cost of surge protector is small compared to cost of certain equipment

whatheheck

just beo-ed shopeee , their mall store 900j one $100+...500-600j+ cheaper at other stores . if still have gold one sure price over $ 200 :s13:

yildun

Already say it is to deliver more stable electricity to lengthen lifespan some. Cost of surge protector is small compared to cost of certain equipment
Thanks for your reply but it still does not answer the question. Is electricity delivered by sp power to our homes unstable? If not, what are the possible causes of instability?

helloicanseeu

Gemini suggests using surge protectors with 2,000 joules and above for costly PCs and TVs to lengthen its lifespan. I currently have those.

I get that surge protection is only one variable but does it actually work and to what extent?

Do u use surge protectors?

:s11:
if u dont live in hdb, and somewhere where the lightning can get into your house and damage your connected appliances, u need these things, else your thousand or hundred dollars electronics will fry when lightning strikes.

if u live hdb, u can be cheapskate and skip these, though i once saw my pc power off during a lightning strike, that that was once in the last 5 years

even mrt power station with around 2k volts can shut down when lightning strikes ... so ...

Apparatus

if u dont live in hdb, and somewhere where the lightning can get into your house and damage your connected appliances, u need these things, else your thousand or hundred dollars electronics will fry when lightning strikes.

If you stay in landed you can install a Type 1 surge protector in addition to a Type 2 and Type 3. Type 1 is more for lightning protection in addition to a lightning protection system. Every house/flat will have an independent lightning protection system besides the earthing system for equipment/devices

tootired

Finite Lifespan: They wear out and need replacing every few years, especially after major surges.

Wu-Han Clan

But i want my oled TV and PC to last as long as possible

Current gpu, ssd gen 5 and are already so powerful and fast that one does not need stronger ones for a decade imo

Gen 5 ssd is above 10gb per sec lol. Wifi and routers at 2 or 10gbps need to upgrade meh? :s22:

And i dont need more fps from gpu. My eyes cant really notice more frames :s22:.
ya loh... those basic surge protector soap bar $50 $70 only.. small investment....

Mecisteus

Majority of households including me and my family don't have surge protectors.

whatheheck

I dont think so.
8yrs only, it was only $68 sgd
https://www.amazon.com/Belkin-12-Outlet-Protector-Heavy-Duty-Extension/dp/B0C6S6TPRH/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?crid=2OW5TSK4LRZAJ&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.LFh2iyDRG7Z-htOeBPz-Dzedfpyci9RmMa9CbxRb8L3r36eM9BU8X0yakCiNoq5AzkyKFzOv1IJKQhGk3bTWwItGPQ8UAqGsAjiTWHr7KYC_rwr4WC1mO4dHQG0QmZzaDOcqDHCCzSDVgiFL7NudbVwagTyCzhhLTQw-srY0hg4g7Vo1Wxil-LKWKkoAu5zxr3RXAMoaTzsIXO4SLOrrcQ.3DPxohL1VDoXpaBM4G9bQKfRSiJYeMDzeWjOlkCZ5Tg&dib_tag=se&keywords=belkin+surge+protector&qid=1765083734&sprefix=belkin+surhe,aps,374&sr=8-3
U see usa 120v one, 12 outlet and near 4,000 joules and only 30 usd
bounce.gif

you give me link to one which needs converter and possibly shipping fees from US? buy one rock from there maybe deliver here become gold price ... :s14:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.