Dreamcore vs Aftershock Desktop Computers

finclk82

I remember in the past,we had to us3 jumper settings on the motherboard to tell it to run at what speed. High chance of overclocking fail.

Can go into any shop to buy the parts. And most would build it for you. Sometimes free. But if warranty is what you are after, then have to buy from the retailers

benjaminsg

That is quick tho, mind sharing where you get your rig from? I've checked with Aftershock and was told a 2-4 weeks wait, have not check with Dreamcore but im expecting roughly the same timing as well.

i got mine from Monster PC.
you can google or find from facebook.
my rig on the right. >>>>>>
just got it in Jan.

benjaminsg

You don't go to Dell, Acer, HP, Alienware and ask them what parts they use yea?

if you dun care about the parts they use, then you go to dell, acer, hp, etc.
if you have some kind of knowledge of parts and is particular / have a personal preference, then thats the reason you wouldnt buy from dell, acer, HP, etc

all comes down to personal preference.

i know of some people dun care of parts brand, just want a pc. so go dell, acer, hp, etc is the best for them. alot of mac users also like that. dun care about whatever parts. just want mac.

finclk82

Anyway electronics these days have low failure rates in general. But they must be used regularly. Not sporadically or will spoil.

The only fear one should have is dead on arrival items.

If it works on day1, it generally will work all the way.

benjaminsg

Anyway electronics these days have low failure rates in general. But they must be used regularly. Not sporadically or will spoil.

The only fear one should have is dead on arrival items.

If it works on day1, it generally will work all the way.

one of the reasons i dun really believe in "extended" warranty where one needs to pay a few hundred $$ extra

_DeS__

you dont go to Dell, Acer, HP, Alienware if u can DIY and build better system and part.....that cost u double the price buying from them yea?

OF COURSE LA. Your argument makes no sense.

If you had the technical/product knowledge then you scrutinize each and every part. Those that are not so tech savy like you just want a working PC and reliable warranty support.

Do you go to Dell/Acer ask them what motherboard/ram/ssd/gpu they use? So you don't go to Aftershock/Dreamcore and do the same thing as they cover in-house warranty for the whole PC, not by parts.

_DeS__

if you dun care about the parts they use, then you go to dell, acer, hp, etc.
if you have some kind of knowledge of parts and is particular / have a personal preference, then thats the reason you wouldnt buy from dell, acer, HP, etc

all comes down to personal preference.

i know of some people dun care of parts brand, just want a pc. so go dell, acer, hp, etc is the best for them. alot of mac users also like that. dun care about whatever parts. just want mac.

Ya same thing, those who don't care about the parts go for Aftershock/Dreamcore. Thats the reason those who care won't go for them as well.

xtractor

OF COURSE LA. Your argument makes no sense.

If you had the technical/product knowledge then you scrutinize each and every part. Those that are not so tech savy like you just want a working PC and reliable warranty support.

Do you go to Dell/Acer ask them what motherboard/ram/ssd/gpu they use? So you don't go to Aftershock/Dreamcore and do the same thing as they cover in-house warranty for the whole PC, not by parts.

Which part did I make no sense.?I advice TS IF U CAN and do I Force him to DIY?why are u so agitated about this.....ur build or TS build.If he decided to custom build his pc at aftershock or dell or wherever he think is good by all mean go ahead.we try to give best advice and option for him.......of course the best money can buy.thats all

It is covered for 2 yrs in house warranty.........not lifetime......cannot ask them the spec oso meh...what brand what size and speed ram?if u want to upgrade bigger size.........what gpu and what GDDR size?if u want to change better gpu......what mobo they used.......if u can update bios after warranty?TS no need to know anything meh......mean after warranty TS no need to ask advice if he want to upgrade or got some issue with his pc Eg @ HWZ forum?

Btw he already decided to buy @ Monster Pc.wish u happy with ur build TS

lifeishard

Aftershock is willing to share what brand/model of every parts that they are using for your build. I ever emailed them before and they did answer.

And TS had not bought from Monster pc yet.

fzhfzh

Maybe the PSU and chassis? Since we can't really choose the PSU model/brand when customizing the rig.

PSU and motherboard are the biggest place to cut cost. Eg Alienware uses the lowest power rating bronze rating psu for their aurora desktop. Motherboard is also custom built to be cheapest possible.

Omfgitzmark

I guess Dreamcore should be able to do the same? Even if there's a need to replace a certain brand to your preferred ones. Since I read somewhere around their site that state to email them if buyer would wish to customise on parts.. hmm...

Aftershock is willing to share what brand/model of every parts that they are using for your build. I ever emailed them before and they did answer.

And TS had not bought from Monster pc yet.

killtuna

Before I bought from Aftershock, I emailed them to ask about the parts.
Aftershock will share the model with you if you ask them.
Anyway most of the parts (CPU, MOBO, RAM, SSD, HD) already listed the model on the website.
PSU is either EVGA or FSP Hydro G.
GPU standard is Zotac Mini.

Wataru

As one of the people in charge of Typhoon Systems, what i can say is that to some extent we have more leeway with regards to GPU prices compared to someone buying the parts straight from retail.

And being able to decide which type of parts go in is the reason we call ourselves custom/boutique PC brands. Otherwise we will be no better than Dell or Alienware.

Sometimes however, we find ourselves recommending alternative parts especially when we know based on our own experience that what the customer wants is either unbalanced or unsuited to his or her requirements.

watzup_ken

What I meant is,
I am waiting for branded pc retailers to offer Ryzen APU PC.

DIY is so exp, maybe branded set more cheaper.

The problem is branded PC makers tend to use the cheapest possible parts, especially if you are looking for a budget one. Which means, the APU may end up with a very slow ram.

Tan Gee Ming

The problem is branded PC makers tend to use the cheapest possible parts, especially if you are looking for a budget one. Which means, the APU may end up with a very slow ram.

lol u must see what ram they use. i never like the computer parts they use.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.