Driving in US

Erwinlow

Philly Cheesesteak!

207007_10150263871504199_511779198_9342130_4007419_n.jpg

207758_10150263871574199_511779198_9342131_4546224_n.jpg

207829_10150263871674199_511779198_9342133_3019356_n.jpg

also, what is half and half? See that everywhere in starbucks etc etc.

one of my fav food in the US!

208691_10150263883589199_511779198_9342333_2695000_n.jpg

anyone can guess where this cake is from?
206827_10150263883704199_511779198_9342334_1843217_n.jpg

patryn33

then you might really like to live in US la. those so-called chinese foods are adapted to the american tastes.

U can find authentic chinese food.
go to a chinese place and speaks chinese, in cantonese restaurants speaks some cantonese and many do whip out chinese menus!

in NYC some chinese joint, those ppl working there cannot speak much English.

patryn33

@fone: i'm on the east coast - massachusetts, near cape cod. if you are near...do come over for bak kwa :D i go back to singapore every year. going back again this june-aug. but can't bring bak-kwa back to the states leh....can't even mail? but thanks for the kind offer!

U got to know how to pack, ppl have brought in bak-kwa don't know how many times already. SG trained u too well to obey rules to a tee.

devilish_me

@erwinlow: ehhh, you went to philly arh? i thought it wasn't in your plan?
half and half is half milk half cream. hee hee....you like macNcheese....you are really quite "american".

devilish_me

U can find authentic chinese food.
go to a chinese place and speaks chinese, in cantonese restaurants speaks some cantonese and many do whip out chinese menus!

in NYC some chinese joint, those ppl working there cannot speak much English.

yeah...i go to boston for chinese chinese food. there's this dim sum place that i frequent...they can't even speak chinese but only speak cantonese.

cormet

omg that cheese steak looks so good.

is it everywhere like macs or only at a particular restaurant?

devilish_me

U got to know how to pack, ppl have brought in bak-kwa don't know how many times already. SG trained u too well to obey rules to a tee.

to tell the truth...i've kenna it bad at customs before so once bitten twice shy. and i also don't see the need to risk anything to try to bring in some bak kwa which i can easily make myself. and yes, i do declare everything at the customs these days and pay the duties if i need to.

patryn33

to tell the truth...i've kenna it bad at customs before so once bitten twice shy. and i also don't see the need to risk anything to try to bring in some bak kwa which i can easily make myself. and yes, i do declare everything at the customs these days and pay the duties if i need to.

LOL, I had friend kena big time next time still do it.
so what is the bak kwa recipe? can share?

devilish_me

LOL, I had friend kena big time next time still do it.
so what is the bak kwa recipe? can share?

wah lao...not worth it la. nothing is so important to try to sneak in. even if you don't make your own bak kwa....i see them selling at some asian online grocery shops too. these days, anything also can get online i.e. mooncakes, bak kwa, penang tau sar piah, beh teh sor, wang wang etc. :D

fone

wah lao...not worth it la. nothing is so important to try to sneak in. even if you don't make your own bak kwa....i see them selling at some asian online grocery shops too. these days, anything also can get online i.e. mooncakes, bak kwa, penang tau sar piah, beh teh sor, wang wang etc. :D

I don't find our type of bak kwa there leh. I stayed at Chinese area in LA and on the chinese channels, there are advertisements to sell bak kwa, went to the shop and bought some, theirs has more sauce then our type.

patryn33

mooncakes I know a place in CA selling online that is made in USA.
the other place are import from China.. sian!

bak kwa where to get online? this place?
http://www.asiansupermarket365.com/SearchResults.asp?Search=+bak+kwa&Search.x=0&Search.y=0

SpinFire

Hertz currently has a promotion for one-way car rentals out of Florida and Arizona. Only $5/day for economy size, max rental of 2 weeks.

Erwinlow

Lol when I fly in to US, collect our luggage and when walking out, this customs officer(who was chinese or taiwanese), asked us if we got bring food or bak kwa in to the US.

Erwinlow

omg that cheese steak looks so good.

is it everywhere like macs or only at a particular restaurant?
Nope not everywhere! Desert hill premium outlets the foodcourt has the same store I THINK!

Do try cheesecake factory!

Erwinlow

@erwinlow: ehhh, you went to philly arh? i thought it wasn't in your plan?
half and half is half milk half cream. hee hee....you like macNcheese....you are really quite "american".
Nope diddnt go philly leh. That cheesesteak was from this store @ hollywood and highland centre in la. Was good.

Oh lol. Saw in starbucks but diddnt know and paiseh to ask. :p

cormet

Nope not everywhere! Desert hill premium outlets the foodcourt has the same store I THINK!

Do try cheesecake factory!

Yup I will! By the way which was the best premium outlet you went? I don't think i'm going gilroy so probably will go desert hills

icube

hey pple... i want to know the tipping culture there.... any advices and guidances please? when, how much and who should we give tips to?

thanks

devilish_me

i googled and found this http://www.reddotkitchen.com/bak-kwa-online-store

ya....the mooncakes sold here are mostly from china/taiwan. they taste a little different from those we get from SG. i bought some last year from a bakery in boston and was a little disappointed with the tastes. i might make some myself this year.....but i'll have to go back to SG to buy the wooden moulds.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.