Driving in US

devilish_me

LOL... U have been in states how long? vs travellers?

digress here. I am real disappoint with the food in SG when I returned.
Tried all the old hawker that I knew it was once good or claimed to be good by TV programs, standard really drop.
hawker how to be healthy!!! Char Kway Teow sign.. the cockles so tiny today.
Oyster omelet also too healthy today.
what makes my trip back to SG worthwhile is all the durian I makan!

actually it's true....food at the SG hawker centre/kopitiam all feel quite unhealthy - too oily/salty! even the cai png also very oily :s22:

i don't miss singapore food so much la...'cos i'd usually cook chinese/indian/malay dishes at home. i also make my own bak kwa, baos & pineapple tarts =:p

Erwinlow

Some of the cai png in US even better than ours back in singapore. -.-

Its a Chevrolet, can't rmb what model. Will post a pic of the car later.

Damn sian go vegas when you're under 21! Go everywhere they ask for your ID. Lost $20 once @ Fitzgerlad :/

Erwinlow

Damn sian go vegas when you're under 21! Go everywhere they ask for your ID. Lost $20 once @ Fitzgerald :/

fone

and i remembered the "foodcourts" in US were horrible, but loved the burgers. is there any bubble tea there? :s22:

Only thing I eat at foodcourts is either macs (or fastfood) or the japanese food (teriyaki chicken), which is possibly a franchise, I see similar food everywhere. (Unless there are no other choices for food).

Bubble tea yes, in more Chinese-populated areas. LA has this shop called "Tea Station", the bubble milk tea is fantastic (milk is very fragrant with very chewy bubbles), I'd say it beats Koi and Gong Cha, but it is super ex, like US$5 for a large cup. The rest of the shops are just normal, though the price will be comparable to Koi / Gong Cha.

As for rental cars, other thing to take note is that it is just manufacturer rated and size might differ. I remember renting (insert some size) SUV from 2 different locations. Had a trailblazer which was very big with squarish boot and a CR-V, which seems much smaller, with curved boot, had much more trouble fitting all our luggages into the CR-V.

@devilish_me. Wah, where you stay? If I move back, I buy bak kwa for you, I usually miss the bak kwa, then go buy those taiwanese/hongkong bak kwa, unlike our Bee Cheng Hiang bak kwa.

genie47

For SF, rented Toyota Camry, but it was hybrid. Try not to rent hybrid as it has a smaller boot due to the gas tank. We rented a Chevrolet in LA, the boot was much much bigger. Can't rmb the model actually lol. Will try to recall.

Gas tank? Won't be a hybrid. More like bifuel like our CNG/petrol bifuel cars here.

genie47

218146_10150263882024199_511779198_9342310_7808206_n.jpg

@ Desert Hills lol.

some bbq shop near citadel selling bbq

206963_10150263886444199_511779198_9342395_3080193_n.jpg

Morton's

216550_10150263885454199_511779198_9342374_1903301_n.jpg

bloody shiokkkkk

205627_10150263880299199_511779198_9342282_2760994_n.jpg

some bigass pizza

217366_10150263874949199_511779198_9342184_6706882_n.jpg

and yeah...other food. you know. =:p

Now you are talking. In-Out is the best but from what I know, Morton's is rather expensive.

genie47

Damn sian go vegas when you're under 21! Go everywhere they ask for your ID. Lost $20 once @ Fitzgerlad :/

Most likely an Impala.

vernon_wmk

For car rentals, personally I prefer Hertz and Avis though these are also the 2 more expensive ones. There are numerous coupon codes available online to bring the cost down. Just make sure you have the necessary credentials/documents to prove that you are eligible from them.
eg. airline, credit cards, lodging chains, etc.

Food wise, in-n-out is great but i also like arby's and jack-in-the-box. Even for chains with presence in sg, give them a go as the menu is often larger/different.

For restaurants such as morton's, they do have specials available online to bring the cost down, eg. the steak and seafood, and you can actually make reservations on opentable for quite a number of restaurants in the US.

cormet

Haha good to hear that there's bubbletea there. Hertz seems to be the cheapest for me in Canada possibly because I'm renting for a week and it has the lowest underage charge + I've 15% off with AAS

cormet

Btw Erwin, OT abit, do you use a BB? I've seen u in the BB forums before, did you bring your BB there or buy a pre-paid card?

patryn33

Food wise, in-n-out is great but i also like arby's and jack-in-the-box. Even for chains with presence in sg, give them a go as the menu is often larger/different.

For restaurants such as morton's, they do have specials available online to bring the cost down, eg. the steak and seafood, and you can actually make reservations on opentable for quite a number of restaurants in the US.

in and out, culver's are great.
arby's not my type.
sand wiches - potbelly and jimmy johns.

to further bring you bill down get gift cards from costco! US$100 for US$80. just walk to costco and ask for 1 day sample trial pass.

devilish_me

@devilish_me. Wah, where you stay? If I move back, I buy bak kwa for you, I usually miss the bak kwa, then go buy those taiwanese/hongkong bak kwa, unlike our Bee Cheng Hiang bak kwa.

@fone: i'm on the east coast - massachusetts, near cape cod. if you are near...do come over for bak kwa :D i go back to singapore every year. going back again this june-aug. but can't bring bak-kwa back to the states leh....can't even mail? but thanks for the kind offer!

devilish_me

ahh.....don't tell me you like the very sweet sesame chicken, teriyaki chicken, general tso type of meats at the US "cai png" stalls?!!! :D

then you might really like to live in US la. those so-called chinese foods are adapted to the american tastes.

quick....find a job and move here.

Erwinlow

Btw Erwin, OT abit, do you use a BB? I've seen u in the BB forums before, did you bring your BB there or buy a pre-paid card?
Yup I use a BB. Nope diddn't buy a prepaid card. Just use WiFi mostly as the hotels I stay all have free Wifi except the ones in Vegas.

Erwinlow

ahh.....don't tell me you like the very sweet sesame chicken, teriyaki chicken, general tso type of meats at the US "cai png" stalls?!!! :D

then you might really like to live in US la. those so-called chinese foods are adapted to the american tastes.

quick....find a job and move here.
orange chicken loooool.

I wish I could!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.