Driving in US

devilish_me

hey pple... i want to know the tipping culture there.... any advices and guidances please? when, how much and who should we give tips to?

thanks

for F&B eat-ins...usually between 15-25% depending on the level of service you've rec'd. for certain places offering highly discounted food/drink prices....usually i'd tip more so as not to shortchange the servers. they shouldn't be earning less for the same amount of work just 'cos restaurants are reducing the prices to attract customers. sometimes for bigger tables of 8 or more....the gratuity would already have been charged to your bill (+18-20% added to your overall bill)...so you need not tip more.

when the bill arrives...if you are paying cash, just work out the total inclusive of tip and leave the money there....if you don't need a change, you are free to leave at this point. if you require change, then wait for the change to be returned and then you leave the amount of tip in the check cover.

if paying with debit/credit card, you can either sign the amount of the bill without the tip and then leave cash for the tip.....or just sign for the entire sum with the tip (you'll need to indicate the amount of tip/total on the receipt when you sign).

for hotel rooms....i suppose between USD2-5/day is reasonable. for bellboys assisting with your suitcases, USD1-2/luggage.

devilish_me

Nope diddnt go philly leh. That cheesesteak was from this store @ hollywood and highland centre in la. Was good.

Oh lol. Saw in starbucks but diddnt know and paiseh to ask. :p

oh i see.....a pity you missed philly.....i visited philly in feb and i absolutely love it!!! one of my most fav places i must say.

proletarian

hi, i'm planning a one-way drive fr boston to san francisco this aug. it seems that other than avis & hertz, the other firms don't offer one-way rentals coast to coast. anyone knows otherwise, or can advise me? i'd hate to have to pay $1000 or $500 respectively just for the one-way surcharge. buying a used car is not a viable option as i'll only be renting for 3 weeks.

Erwinlow

Yup I will! By the way which was the best premium outlet you went? I don't think i'm going gilroy so probably will go desert hills
desert hill is the best imo.

if you don't want to go gilroy, and want somewhere nearer to SF itself, go great mall. very very big mall with all those discounted stores. luckily someone from here recommended me to go there!

heard ontario mills mall in LA is pretty good too. not sure on this.

patryn33

hey pple... i want to know the tipping culture there.... any advices and guidances please? when, how much and who should we give tips to?

in the past 10%, today ppl expects 15%. u can still tip 10%, just don't return in case they do something to your food.
1 person eating something cheap under $10, give US$1, even when the food cost US$5.

cormet

For my SF-LA drive, intend to stop at san luis obispo for the night, but accomodation there for 3 is hard to find and rather expensive. Found holiday inn at atascadero to be within budget, that area isn't dangerous or anything right?

Erwinlow

I booked only a room with 2 double/queen bed for my entire stay in US... 4 of us in a room.

cormet

Patryn, just a quick question, no problems booking through dollar.co.uk hor? Don't necessarily have to book via dollar.com right?

patryn33

Patryn, just a quick question, no problems booking through dollar.co.uk hor? Don't necessarily have to book via dollar.com right?

I have not book from here b4, but someone booked from there without issues. Search around for the post and U may PM him directly.

vernon_wmk

For my SF-LA drive, intend to stop at san luis obispo for the night, but accomodation there for 3 is hard to find and rather expensive. Found holiday inn at atascadero to be within budget, that area isn't dangerous or anything right?

Try peach tree inn, a nice little B&B.

icube

for F&B eat-ins...usually between 15-25% depending on the level of service you've rec'd. for certain places offering highly discounted food/drink prices....usually i'd tip more so as not to shortchange the servers. they shouldn't be earning less for the same amount of work just 'cos restaurants are reducing the prices to attract customers. sometimes for bigger tables of 8 or more....the gratuity would already have been charged to your bill (+18-20% added to your overall bill)...so you need not tip more.

when the bill arrives...if you are paying cash, just work out the total inclusive of tip and leave the money there....if you don't need a change, you are free to leave at this point. if you require change, then wait for the change to be returned and then you leave the amount of tip in the check cover.

if paying with debit/credit card, you can either sign the amount of the bill without the tip and then leave cash for the tip.....or just sign for the entire sum with the tip (you'll need to indicate the amount of tip/total on the receipt when you sign).

for hotel rooms....i suppose between USD2-5/day is reasonable. for bellboys assisting with your suitcases, USD1-2/luggage.

hotels also need to give tips?... as i'm paying my accom through credit card so at the same time i need to give tips? bellboys i understand need to give but hotels also need to give the receptionist? how about taxi drivers?

Qannik

anyone can guess where this cake is from?
206827_10150263883704199_511779198_9342334_1843217_n.jpg

cheesecake factory?

devilish_me

hotels also need to give tips?... as i'm paying my accom through credit card so at the same time i need to give tips? bellboys i understand need to give but hotels also need to give the receptionist? how about taxi drivers?

i meant tips for room cleaning service. no need to tip the hotel reception! =:p

i'd tip taxi drivers too....probably 10-20% depending on the fare amount. the amount is usually correlated to the level of service/comfort of ride of course. but i do know a lot of people don't tip.....so it's really up to you.

icube

i meant tips for room cleaning service. no need to tip the hotel reception! =:p

i'd tip taxi drivers too....probably 10-20% depending on the fare amount. the amount is usually correlated to the level of service/comfort of ride of course. but i do know a lot of people don't tip.....so it's really up to you.

ok thanks.. i'm not used to giving tips... so i'm afraid they will give me that kind of look if i just walk away.... :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.