e-Remote Broadlink RM-Pro

shacboi

3-way Circuit system with two locations

Ioso have two-way switches.. I chat wit a seller for broadlink tc2 switches. She mentioned for two-way switches we need to disable the two-way bcos wiring is slightly different... So for ur case of 4gang 2-way wit one switch is two-way... I dun tink u can change to wifi switxh due to the two-way switch in the overall configuration. Dats my understanding frm the seller.

Sian. I oso got this same issue.

Does anyone has a good recommendation for 4 gang smart switches that's proven to work with RM pro or with Alexa? Searched online but found not much results...

Very noob in electrical stuff...hope the technical pros can advise.
If one of my switch in the 4gang is 2 way (there is another switch that controls the same light), should I be buying a 4 gang 2way or 1 way?

i think in angmoh context we are having "3-way Circuit system with two locations" i think some of my hse switch is lik dat, refer to the link below got diagram so easier to understand.

http://www.tp-link.com/us/faq-1372.html

lovehina83:
i try search online and chat with wifi wall switch seller, think only way is to 'short' one of the switches wires (so they are always "connected", making the switch always 'on' like tat) so that u only use the other location wall switch and make into ur wifi wall switch and only control via that switch. not sure u understand wat i say or not.....

i arga know the concept i think, but definitely dun think i will do now cos wife sure dun agree.

summary is ,
1. one of the switch disabled (short the wiring circuitry).
2. the other switch change to wifi wall switch (may need to do sumthing to the wiring too cos it is abit different from normal 1-way switch).

shacboi

rm pro2, rm pro3, rm pro+

I don't like the idea to run the broadlink plug-in app in the background to do the bridging. It is like using my mobile to be a smart device. If I am not at home, the feature will not work at home. Does Logitech hub has the same issue?

I come across something that read RM Pro 2 is RM Pro+ surely I would suggest to get the RM Pro 3. Bought RM Pro 3, mini3 and TC2 switches from Lazada today.

megaweb:
yea, i dun lik having rm plugin running backgrd too, wat i understand is logitech harmony no need plugin.

Uno_Hu:
rm pro2 = rm pro+ ??
i dun tink so, rm pro2 is older version.... then we hav rm pro3...... latest in nov17 come out rm pro+ ..... so all three different versions.

good u bought rm pro3.... heard sum ppl having issue setting up with rm pro+ mayb too new....

megaweb

megaweb:
yea, i dun lik having rm plugin running backgrd too, wat i understand is logitech harmony no need plugin.

Anyway Broadlink RM pro is the cheap hub to control IR/RF devices.

shacboi

Anyway Broadlink RM pro is the cheap hub to control IR/RF devices.

yes, dats y i bought it to try out with home automation.... since its cheap.

but really hope it can be compartible with IFFFT and/or other brand devices. :s12:

lovehina83

summary is ,
1. one of the switch disabled (short the wiring circuitry).
2. the other switch change to wifi wall switch (may need to do sumthing to the wiring too cos it is abit different from normal 1-way switch).

Thanks! Chim, think if I'd ever do that, I'd get an electrician.
Think if possible I will convert most of the 4gang to 2 or 3 gang switches.... Seemed to have a lot more remote switches choices!

Uno_Hu

Seen in YouTube configuring Broadlink RM Pro as an access point (AP mode). Asking experts here, is this able to improve the wi fi signal and speedtest results as my living room signal is weak.

edmundw

hi... may i know if it's possible to mimic a long button press on ihc? i have a remote that needs to be pressed for 3 seconds... thanks

shacboi

hi... may i know if it's possible to mimic a long button press on ihc? i have a remote that needs to be pressed for 3 seconds... thanks

Haha.. Interesting question... May need to test out to know.

lighter

A noob question, for RM pro to work must it be using the same wifi network? Meaning if I'm outdoor using 3g or other wifi can i still control the app?

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

shacboi

A noob question, for RM pro to work must it be using the same wifi network? Meaning if I'm outdoor using 3g or other wifi can i still control the app?

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

Once ur rm pro setup in home wifi network... Using app to control ur rm pro ay hm works.

U can control outside using mobile network alrdy.

AsusEpoxy

hi guys, i got an RM Pro, unable to set it up. press reset button very long , but it doesnt go into setup mode. did i get a lemon? any advice?

shacboi

Any of u guys got the broadlink s2 kit... The hub n motion sensor one... Is it good?

Kain999

yea, 2 rf sockets and 1 rf remote for $30++ abit exp.

i bought online $28+ for 4 rf sockets and 1 rf remote. but need to wait shipping from china la, almost 2 weeks+.

see how urgent u need it.

Shacboi,

Can share where u bought from? Many thanks.

I searched Aliexpress cannot find yet.

Kain999

hi guys, i got an RM Pro, unable to set it up. press reset button very long , but it doesnt go into setup mode. did i get a lemon? any advice?

Press reset and hold for 6 seconds, it is supposed to go quick blink.
Then press reset for another 6 seconds, it will go into intermittent quick blink.

The setup mode is the 2nd intermittent quick blink.

I had problems connecting my RM Pro to my wireless in Room when i set my room wireless router as bridge and disabled DHCP.
It simply cannot connect to wifi network till i almost pull my hair out and thought i got a faulty set
It only works after i turn back on DHCP so maybe u can check ur DHCP settings.

But once i enable DHCP in my room, my echos think they are in separate WIFI network and cannot play multi room music.
I need to turn off DHCP and quickly set them up as a group for multi-room, then turn off DHCP for Broadlink RM Pro to connect back.
Then somehow, this works for multi room music as long as i dun mess with the group settings for echo again else they will assume is different WIFI network again.

shacboi

Shacboi,

Can share where u bought from? Many thanks.

I searched Aliexpress cannot find yet.

The seller i buy frm dun sell liao... But i manage to find alternative... Sumthing lin dat will do

Universal remote control socket plug rf power socket wirelss control controller outlet plug UK standard 433mhz smart plug switch
http://s.aliexpress.com/6veAniae?fromSns=Copy to Clipboard
(from AliExpress Android)

Kain999

Uno_Hu

Yay ! received sms that Lazada delivering my RM Pro 03 by end of today.

apch01

Chances the ceiling fan r RF....
Im using fanco... Works with rm pro.
Got aum use crestar fan... Oso works with rm pro although RF not 315/433mhz.

How to get your fan to work as a TV remote? i can only get min to work via scan frequency in the "user defined" options

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.