e-Remote Broadlink RM-Pro

lvlaTr1X

Hello RM pro users, need your input.
I plan to place the RM pro device in the TV console (behind the tinted glass) as I have my TV setup box and Android box inside.
Now my question :
- can it still effectively control the TV and sound bar above it?
- can it still effectively control the ceiling fan/air con directly opposite it through the tinted glass?
- where do you guys normally place your RM pro device in the living room?
SjZ5ISK.jpg

Not mostly it won't be able to control the tv and sound bar above because there's no direct line of sight for the IR.

Ceiling and air con, maybe but might have to see angle.

megaweb

Still new to these... so more reading and more trial. if it works well, i will slowly change all my light switches to Broadlink compatible models

Please share your light switch setup.

I am thinking to setup budget smart light by install IR LED ceiling to be controlled by Broadlink RM pro.

shacboi

I am thinking to setup budget smart light by install IR LED ceiling to be controlled by Broadlink RM pro.

Yea.. I oso want to know light switch configs. Pls share! Thanks.

Some of my switches are 2-way, not sure whether i can change one or both to broadlink tc2 and work not. Hmmm

shacboi

Now my question :
- can it still effectively control the ceiling fan/air con directly opposite it through the tinted glass?
SjZ5ISK.jpg

Hi there, rm rpo have ard 7 IR bulb to send out signal, will be a waste if u choose to put in the tv console. Rembr aircon and tv is IR.. So if rm pro not in line of sight it will not work.

Ceiling fan and soundbar rf remote? Rf u will hav no worries as long with 10m range.

I put my rm pro opposite the tv console, beside my sofa on a side table.. Position it so my ir aim livingroom aircon and the cablebox and tv.

The reason u wana put in tv console bcos u want it to turn on ur android box via IR? If dats the case can get a ir extender receiver transmitter wire at s$3-4, can solve ur hidden tv ir devices problems. :s13:

i bought mine here from shopee.
( https://shopee.sg/product/18784557/225811081/ )

xenocide

Hello RM pro users, need your input.
I plan to place the RM pro device in the TV console (behind the tinted glass) as I have my TV setup box and Android box inside.
Now my question :
*image removed*

thats the reason why i placed mine on top the TV console rather then inside.
i might get the IR extender suggested by shacboi to solve this issue.

xenocide

Yea.. I oso want to know light switch configs. Pls share! Thanks.

Some of my switches are 2-way, not sure whether i can change one or both to broadlink tc2 and work not. Hmmm

hmmm what do u mean by setup?
i simply replace the "click clack" light switch from HDB with RM-Pro compatible ones. i got them from TaoBao. Brand is Yoogee. The face plate can be customised with pictures or words for free. but i did not do it as i was experimenting. Imagine i customise 1 for bathroom with a shower icon and words, if cannot use then abit weird to install at other places. hahaha

from what i read there is 1 way and 2 way configurations of the switch.
I bought mostly 1 way. 1 gang for bedrooms and 3 gangs for living rooms.
i also got the remote for additional use cases

now the question is... if i add on Alexa, i will have to switch to IHC app (if i don't want to use RM Plugin) and all my light switches, fan remote etc will need to be configured as "TV"?

can i name the "TV" as Fan. then Channel 1 as Speed 1?
so i can say like, Alexa turn on Fan channel 1?

newgs01

Just in case anyone is interested, Broadlink Malaysia sells TC2 compatible switches called eTouch. They have 2way switches as well as switches for water heater.

shacboi

Broadlink TC2

Just in case anyone is interested, Broadlink Malaysia sells TC2 compatible switches called eTouch. They have 2way switches as well as switches for water heater.

Great info, but where to buy ? :s22:

i check out broadlink malaysia website, looks exp leh, they sell the rm pro convert to SG lik machiam S$80-90.

here carousell can get at S$32-35.

shacboi

IR extender receiver-transmitter

thats the reason why i placed mine on top the TV console rather then inside.
i might get the IR extender suggested by shacboi to solve this issue.

Yes, the IR extender receiver-transmitter will solve the issue of the devices that are not line-of-sight with your rm pro/IR remote.

The whole wiring consists of one transmitter, one receiver, and one usb (to power-up the wiring).

very cheap only, S$3.57 to be exact. i bought mine here from shopee.

shacboi

2-way and 1-way , different gangs switches

from what i read there is 1 way and 2 way configurations of the switch.
I bought mostly 1 way. 1 gang for bedrooms and 3 gangs for living rooms.
i also got the remote for additional use cases

now the question is... if i add on Alexa, i will have to switch to IHC app (if i don't want to use RM Plugin) and all my light switches, fan remote etc will need to be configured as "TV"?

can i name the "TV" as Fan. then Channel 1 as Speed 1?
so i can say like, Alexa turn on Fan channel 1?

arrr.. yes, i need 2-way and 1-way , different gangs switches if i want to implement. my livingroom 2 2-gang switches are 2-way, in fact my water-heater is oso 2-way. Thanks for the info. will check out that brand Yoogee.

and to answer ur question on ihc app, configured as 'tv'', Yes, u need to do that in order to let Alexa discover it in IHC app.

yes, u can rename ur tv to fan, learn the TV remote channel 1 to the rf remote speed 1. so to turn on fan, u can say "Alexa, switch fan channel 1'' sumthing lik dat, or if u use Routine in alexa app, rename to any command u wish, for e.g ''Alexa, switch fan speed 1'' :s22:

xenocide

Yes, the IR extender receiver-transmitter will solve the issue of the devices that are not line-of-sight with your rm pro/IR remote.

The whole wiring consists of one transmitter, one receiver, and one usb (to power-up the wiring).

very cheap only, S$3.57 to be exact. i bought mine here from shopee.

means need to manage these cables as well. hahaha

arrr.. yes, i need 2-way and 1-way , different gangs switches if i want to implement. my livingroom 2 2-gang switches are 2-way, in fact my water-heater is oso 2-way. Thanks for the info. will check out that brand Yoogee.

and to answer ur question on ihc app, configured as 'tv'', Yes, u need to do that in order to let Alexa discover it in IHC app.

yes, u can rename ur tv to fan, learn the TV remote channel 1 to the rf remote speed 1. so to turn on fan, u can say "Alexa, switch fan channel 1'' sumthing lik dat, or if u use Routine in alexa app, rename to any command u wish, for e.g ''Alexa, switch fan speed 1'' :s22:

oh nice! pardon me for asking what are the use case for Echo Dot vs Echo?
other then the speaker function for streaming...

shacboi

echo dot vs echo

means need to manage these cables as well. hahaha

oh nice! pardon me for asking what are the use case for Echo Dot vs Echo?
other then the speaker function for streaming...

for the cables, no choice, u can plug the usb to ur cablebox, there's a spare usb port on my starhub cablebox so i juse make use of it to power the wiring.

echo dot vs echo, im not too sure, my current understanding is that the echo has better sound quality, but echo dot is way cheaper. :s13:

lovehina83

Thanks! I suppose this extender is to connect to whatever device I have hidden inside TV console via USB, then place the extender unit on top of TV console so that it is in sight of the RM pro (placed opposite TV console)?

Hi there, rm rpo have ard 7 IR bulb to send out signal, will be a waste if u choose to put in the tv console. Rembr aircon and tv is IR.. So if rm pro not in line of sight it will not work.

Ceiling fan and soundbar rf remote? Rf u will hav no worries as long with 10m range.

I put my rm pro opposite the tv console, beside my sofa on a side table.. Position it so my ir aim livingroom aircon and the cablebox and tv.

The reason u wana put in tv console bcos u want it to turn on ur android box via IR? If dats the case can get a ir extender receiver transmitter wire at s$3-4, can solve ur hidden tv ir devices problems. :s13:

i bought mine here from shopee.

shacboi

IR extender receiver transmitter

Thanks! I suppose this extender is to connect to whatever device I have hidden inside TV console via USB, then place the extender unit on top of TV console so that it is in sight of the RM pro (placed opposite TV console)?

yes, your understanding is correct.

connect the usb to power-up the wiring, place the receiver end of the wiring outside the tv console, aiming at the rm pro. placed the transmitter end of wiring at the IR devices hidden in ur tv console.

so when rm pro sends a signal, the wiring captures the signal via receiver...outputs via transmitter to ur hidden IR devices, so that the actual signal can still reach the hidden devices. :s12:

xenocide

The amazon app is just for setting up the Echo? Or has some interface to control the devices connected?

Cos iPhone needs US iTunes to download the app. Android I can just sideload... but android is not my main phone.

shacboi

The amazon app is just for setting up the Echo? Or has some interface to control the devices connected?

Cos iPhone needs US iTunes to download the app. Android I can just sideload... but android is not my main phone.

Yes, Alexa app does hav some control over ur echos. Good to have, u can still use desktop browser.

For us iTunes, u can use us vpn to create a us iTunes account to dl the Alexa app. Details on how to do, need refer to previous posts.

xenocide

Yes, Alexa app does hav some control over ur echos. Good to have, u can still use desktop browser.

For us iTunes, u can use us vpn to create a us iTunes account to dl the Alexa app. Details on how to do, need refer to previous posts.

i actually have an US iTunes account for downloading apps exclusive to US.
just the hassle to switch between cos a few times i forgot to switch and the app was tied to the US account (which i normally won't use)

i saw carousell cheapest at $65 for Dot.
Not sure wan to hoot anot. haha
or just hoot the remaining switches 1st
setup everything properly on RM-Pro before going voice with Dot.

Speaking of which... need to test again the profile sharing from my iPhone to android.
the shared profile is crippled eventhough the remote layout is received correctly.
when i tap ON or OFF, nothing happens on the android phone.

shacboi

RM Pro3 or Pro+

Do you guys recommend to get RM Pro3 or Pro+?

i saw on carousell got ppl selling rm pro+ , but actually i cannot find any info on this rm pro+, it seems to me that it is just the newer batch of rm pro3. i may be wrong though. :s11:

shacboi

i actually have an US iTunes account for downloading apps exclusive to US.
just the hassle to switch between cos a few times i forgot to switch and the app was tied to the US account (which i normally won't use)

i saw carousell cheapest at $65 for Dot.
Not sure wan to hoot anot. haha
or just hoot the remaining switches 1st
setup everything properly on RM-Pro before going voice with Dot.

Speaking of which... need to test again the profile sharing from my iPhone to android.
the shared profile is crippled eventhough the remote layout is received correctly.
when i tap ON or OFF, nothing happens on the android phone.

arrr.. i see, den ok la, u got the accts ready, just need to try out.

im oso waiting for my 2nd dot to arrive den can play ard with it.

switches ... mi havent reach dat stage, maybe in near future.

i see quite a number of posts saying that the sharing of config on broadlink app doesnt work alrdy, guess might be a bug on the app. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.