e-Remote Broadlink RM-Pro

shacboi

I see. But if now I introduce Alexa or Google home will it work with my wifi smart switch in this config?
Sensor - hub - rm pro - Alexa/Google - wifi switch?
Haha wonder if so many device in between the lag is significant or not.

if u intro alexa / google-assistant in.. is another level liao. let's put this aside first.

if u using wifi wall switch.... mayb u want to consider using hub such as samsung SmartThings... which is compartible wit alot of brands.... Smartthings have their own sensors..... so i tink ur idea of sensor to on/off wifi switch will work in the flow below,

smartThing sensor -> smartThing hub -> compartible wifi switch to ON/OFF light (all via Wifi connection)

earlier u mentioned alexa / google-assistant... now put them in.... use alexa/google-assistant, enable SmartThing skill den u can control it via voice liao....

alexa/google-assistant -> smartThing hub -> compartible wifi switch to ON/OFF light

if lets say u hav the above 2 config, either u walk in sensor senses u n on light, or u ask alexa/google to on the light before u walk in the room/toliet.

u may need to do abit research to see wat suits u.. n wats ur plan... since u renovating now, so can plan properly first.... yea

MaoZeDuo

Shacboi... now u only using ir/rf? Not exploring zigbee/zwave? Im interested in xiaomi’s systemcos they also have sensors and many other stuff... but dont see ppl using them and their aqara wall switch...

shacboi

Shacboi... now u only using ir/rf? Not exploring zigbee/zwave? Im interested in xiaomi’s systemcos they also have sensors and many other stuff... but dont see ppl using them and their aqara wall switch...

hello MaoZeDuo,
right now i only hav alexa, RM pro for IR+RF, some RF sockets.

RM pro to use IR control aircon/tv remote etc.... RF to control the RF sockets to turn ON/OFF my floorlamp, bedlamp etc.

i'm controlling budget... hahaa.. (but i just order broadlink s2c hub kit & 3 Wifi smart light bulbs)

dun tink will go to zigbee/z-wave technology... will slowly try work from wat i hav, keeping the budget low.

Xiaomi system shld be good too, generally cheaper den big brands....

hAiZzZ86

if u intro alexa / google-assistant in.. is another level liao. let's put this aside first.

if u using wifi wall switch.... mayb u want to consider using hub such as samsung SmartThings... which is compartible wit alot of brands.... Smartthings have their own sensors..... so i tink ur idea of sensor to on/off wifi switch will work in the flow below,

smartThing sensor -> smartThing hub -> compartible wifi switch to ON/OFF light (all via Wifi connection)

earlier u mentioned alexa / google-assistant... now put them in.... use alexa/google-assistant, enable SmartThing skill den u can control it via voice liao....

alexa/google-assistant -> smartThing hub -> compartible wifi switch to ON/OFF light

if lets say u hav the above 2 config, either u walk in sensor senses u n on light, or u ask alexa/google to on the light before u walk in the room/toliet.

u may need to do abit research to see wat suits u.. n wats ur plan... since u renovating now, so can plan properly first.... yea

Wow sounds really complicated.
Introducing more devices will increase the cost.
But I guess at the end of the day it still work the same with the same intention.
Probably will just stick to the current rm pro with rf switches.
I also realised that each brand got their own hub to communicate with other devices. So if I get different brands means more hub and messy.
Thanks for the information!

shacboi

Wow sounds really complicated.
Introducing more devices will increase the cost.
But I guess at the end of the day it still work the same with the same intention.
Probably will just stick to the current rm pro with rf switches.
I also realised that each brand got their own hub to communicate with other devices. So if I get different brands means more hub and messy.
Thanks for the information!

yes, end of day is trying to acheive somewhat similar things.

some samples:
logitech harmony hub, have IR, no RF.
samsung SmartThings hub, have Z-Wave, No IR.
RM Pro (semi-hub on its own brand products only), have IR + RF.

so realli depends wat u want to control wit, n getting wat hub to work wit wat devices/switches. :s13:

Getjhere

Hi.. sorry extreme noob here

I came across the whole broad link smarthome and want to do the setup for my home which is undergoing renovation.

I have read thru the whole thread but haha im still very blur

So should I buy S1 or S2 starter kit? S2 is newer?

I have already bought my schnider gang switches ...so how can I connect my lighting points to link with broad link ? I read somewhere I can link my lights to some remote control instead of changing my gangs right?

And RM pro is for?..... 😳

Appreciate any help cuz I need to buy what is necessary and I need to install my lights next week already lol..

TIA! 🙏🏻

shacboi

Broadlink Intro

Hi.. sorry extreme noob here

I came across the whole broad link smarthome and want to do the setup for my home which is undergoing renovation.

I have read thru the whole thread but haha im still very blur

So should I buy S1 or S2 starter kit? S2 is newer?

I have already bought my schnider gang switches ...so how can I connect my lighting points to link with broad link ? I read somewhere I can link my lights to some remote control instead of changing my gangs right?

And RM pro is for?..... ******************

Appreciate any help cuz I need to buy what is necessary and I need to install my lights next week already lol..

TIA! ************************************

lemme try to help u out abit, i have a broadlink RM Pro.

broadlink products are cheap china smart devices, RM Pro is a device of theirs which uses radio-freq(RF 315/433mhz) and infra-red(IR).

common house appliances using IR such as TV, Aircon.
common house appliances using RF such as ceiling / bedroom fan with RF remote.

broadlink also have a temperature sensor, a home alarm hub kit S1/S2 (consists of door and motion sensors), smart plugs, RF wall switches TC2, etc.

u asked bout S1/S2, yes, S2 is the newer alarm kit, s1 is just an older version.

RM Pro is like the semi-hub of broadlink product, as it is RF + IR, therefore it is widely used in a broadlink setup to ON/OFF the common appliances and also somewhat similar radio-freq devices (can be other brands but must be 315/433mhz).

u mentioned that u have bought schnider gang switches, im assuming they are just normal manual-click switches with no RF or Wifi right. And the remote control u mentioning, i tink is refering to Sonoff(brand) RF 433Mhz Wireless Smart Switch ( https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Son...-Intelligent-For-Smart-Home/32833277339.html )?

In theory, if u put one of this little sonoff switch in ur wiring(hidden in within wall) to ur schnider gang switches, and let RM pro uses RF 433mhz to control the Sonoff smart switch, should be able to. But i'm not sure if you want to do that for all ur wall switches sia. Haha.

Better to just use a RF 433mhz wall switch replace your schnider gang switches if u set ur mind to do the Broadlink RM Pro way.

You may need to spend sometime doing research. :s22:

MaoZeDuo

Hi shacboi... everytime u post i learn something new :D

So the broadlink wall switches (and other smart wall switches) can only use for lights?

Anyone using any zigbee wall switches?

lemme try to help u out abit, i have a broadlink RM Pro.

broadlink products are cheap china smart devices, RM Pro is a device of theirs which uses radio-freq(RF 315/433mhz) and infra-red(IR).

common house appliances using IR such as TV, Aircon.
common house appliances using RF such as ceiling / bedroom fan with RF remote.

broadlink also have a temperature sensor, a home alarm hub kit S1/S2 (consists of door and motion sensors), smart plugs, RF wall switches TC2, etc.

u asked bout S1/S2, yes, S2 is the newer alarm kit, s1 is just an older version.

RM Pro is like the semi-hub of broadlink product, as it is RF + IR, therefore it is widely used in a broadlink setup to ON/OFF the common appliances and also somewhat similar radio-freq devices (can be other brands but must be 315/433mhz).

u mentioned that u have bought schnider gang switches, im assuming they are just normal manual-click switches with no RF or Wifi right. And the remote control u mentioning, i tink is refering to Sonoff(brand) RF 433Mhz Wireless Smart Switch ( https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Son...-Intelligent-For-Smart-Home/32833277339.html )?

In theory, if u put one of this little sonoff switch in ur wiring(hidden in within wall) to ur schnider gang switches, and let RM pro uses RF 433mhz to control the Sonoff smart switch, should be able to. But i'm not sure if you want to do that for all ur wall switches sia. Haha.

Better to just use a RF 433mhz wall switch replace your schnider gang switches if u set ur mind to do the Broadlink RM Pro way.

You may need to spend sometime doing research. :s22:

shacboi

Hi shacboi... everytime u post i learn something new :D

So the broadlink wall switches (and other smart wall switches) can only use for lights?

Anyone using any zigbee wall switches?

Haha. Just sharing info.. Im oso reading up cos im using it and see if can explore and expand frm there.

Broadlink Tc2 wall switch... U wan to use for other thing lik on/off for ur curtain? I tink not much things i can tink of to use wit, main thing is light bah.

I realise got these two brands DIGOO and SONOFF products like pretty much lik broadlink... Not so exp.. Using 433mhz RF.. I tink may be able to use together with broadlink rm pro.

DIGOO focus more on home security with the door sensors, motion sensors ... using 433mhz.

shacboi

433mhz devices to work with RM PRO

Hi there,

any of you got other brands devies working with Broadlink RM PRO ??

Am exploring more options to work with RM PRO or the Broadlink S2C Alarm Hub kit.

Anybody using DIGOO or other brand sensors with Broadlink S1/S2 hub ?

xenocide

i'm using the S1 Hub
i placed the motion sensors outside my wooden frame to as to detect any people coming to my door.

I had the door sensor on the main wooden door too.

i have IFTTT set to:
1. if i open the door after 8pm, turn on living room lights and room lights.
2. if door close after 10pm, turn off living room lights.

The sad thing is, the push notification does not work for me. I do not get SMS notifications when someone approached my door as "person detected" nor when my door open/close as "door open/close". Not sure what i have to do but i can remote monitor the status of my alarm kit via 4G data. Even after enabling Push Notification on both RM Pro and the S1 kit

I've got the broadlink power stripe also which i have my tv, sound bar, starhub box and streaming box plugged in.
I can use RM Pro to turn on the stripe and in turn, all the appliances conenctd will turn on. then i created a scene with Mi remote to switch to the soruce of starhub box HDMI. with that scene, i set a IFTTT if power is on, delay, scene 1 (which is a combination of button presses on the remote). I can remotely turn on or off the whole stripe or set a timer for my kid to watch tv.

i'm also looking into adding more things RM Pro compatible but so far only limited to the light switches and the alarm kit.

have not explored other stuffs

shacboi

i'm using the S1 Hub
i placed the motion sensors outside my wooden frame to as to detect any people coming to my door.

I had the door sensor on the main wooden door too.

i have IFTTT set to:
1. if i open the door after 8pm, turn on living room lights and room lights.
2. if door close after 10pm, turn off living room lights.

The sad thing is, the push notification does not work for me. I do not get SMS notifications when someone approached my door as "person detected" nor when my door open/close as "door open/close". Not sure what i have to do but i can remote monitor the status of my alarm kit via 4G data. Even after enabling Push Notification on both RM Pro and the S1 kit

I've got the broadlink power stripe also which i have my tv, sound bar, starhub box and streaming box plugged in.

i'm also looking into adding more things RM Pro compatible but so far only limited to the light switches and the alarm kit.

have not explored other stuffs

Nicee. E... I wanted to use the s2 hub to do sum what similar for ur case.. Still waiting for it to arrive. Hehe.

As for the sms notification.. I duno issit cos of wcdma/gsm difference in china and sg, wat band broadlink is compatible with.... Not realli know in depth though.

DIGOO have door sensors and uses 433mhz so shld b able to use together wit s2.. Their door sensors lik cheaper at us$3.70 each whereas broadlink door sensor cheapest i seen ard is us$10.

Actually in fact i seen somebody mentioned they both work when implemented tgt just dat need more use cases. :s13:

When my s2 hub and digoo sensors come will let u guys know if they work.

xenocide

i see review videos like the sms notification works. if i also remember correctly, the malaysian adamlobotv who reviewed this kit also showed sms working?

the S2 hub gateway like bigger than the S1 and uses micro usb connection
i did not use the remote for "arm and disarm" as i did not set such security
merely using it as a gateway to the sensors for IFTTT

shacboi

S2 Hub + RM Pro + 3rd party 433mhz devices

this looks interesting...

but the response seems abit slow. as in the person press the door bell. it takes about 2 - 3 seconds to receive the "call"

i see review videos like the sms notification works. if i also remember correctly, the malaysian adamlobotv who reviewed this kit also showed sms working?

the S2 hub gateway like bigger than the S1 and uses micro usb connection
i did not use the remote for "arm and disarm" as i did not set such security
merely using it as a gateway to the sensors for IFTTT

ya, i watched the malaysian adam lobo review too, cannot remember when sms notification works or not in his review, haha watched too many videos.

i did a online search, i'm on StarHub mobile ( https://www.frequencycheck.com/carriers/starhub-singapore ), and heres their freq bands FYI.

i oso not into the 'alarm system' ... more of want to use the door & motion sensors to try out broadlink's own IFFFT with their S2 hub.

Actualli i spend some time searchin online, got many other brands beside DIGOO using 433mhz similar door & motion sensor as Broadlink's, so in theory should work, just need somebody to test and review. haha...
dats on the sensors and S1/S2 hub part...

UPDATES: i email DIGOO official supplier in aliExpress and they confirmed that the sensors work with Broadlink's hub !!! wheeee!

for broadlink RM PRO, right now i tink we only know that they are compatible with broadlink's own RF TC2 switch, Livolo RF wall switch & Yoogee RF wall switch.... any of these u using ?

xenocide

i'm using YooGee for all light switches.
So far so good. can be controlled and IFTTT on the e-Home app

shacboi

i'm using YooGee for all light switches.
So far so good. can be controlled and IFTTT on the e-Home app

NiceeEe.. Urs come wit rf remote?? Heard dat livolo ones oso have rf remote per switch.... Only broadlink tc2 dunhav the remote... Hmmm

xenocide

for yoogee you can buy separate remotes. they have few kinds.
1 is like car key kind
1 is like tv remote
and 1 is like the light switch (touch surface one)

i got the tv like remote and the light switch like remote.

shacboi

FUNRY

for yoogee you can buy separate remotes. they have few kinds.
1 is like car key kind
1 is like tv remote
and 1 is like the light switch (touch surface one)

i got the tv like remote and the light switch like remote.

UPDATES: i email DIGOO official supplier in aliExpress and they confirmed that the sensors work with Broadlink's hub !!! wheeee!

for broadlink RM PRO, right now i tink we only know that they are compatible with broadlink's own RF TC2 switch, Livolo RF wall switch & Yoogee RF wall switch.... any of these u using ?

oh i see, great!

Just sharing,

I think this brand FUNRY is also should be workable with RM PRO, since using RF 433mhz. (search in AliExpress FUNRY official store have alot)

Seems like just live wire and null wire, no need neutral,

there seems to be 2 version ST1 & newer ST2 of the RF wall switches, the only think i dun lik is the new version ST2 seems to have on/off embedded on the button which i find it ugly. Lol. :s13:

some package comes wit single keychain remote, some with a bigger remote with lik 10 buttons (can be used for remote for ur other RF 433mhz devices perhaps).. and they oso have lik a 315/433mhz RF round device (RC mini) which is like broadlink's RM Pro but only RF (no IR). :s22:

shacboi

Electrical stuffs

Hi, check with u all....

for the RF wall switches(no neutral) i saw at the back of the switch stated,

1. EU version they wrote 7w-200w/gang (100w/gang if using with LED lights)

2. UK version wrote 7w-200w/gang, total 800w.

is there realli any differences ?? in SG context understand we can actualli use both the EU or UK version as voltage, size of switch is similar.

So can I safely say I can purchase a EU version to use in SG ?? is there anything i need to take note ??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.