Eczema

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

MysterOz

yep i sort of agree that eczema, asthma, sinus and maybe feng mo comes together in one package.. have since outgrown everything except for sinus (my nose having some problems for 3 wks le)
the period in which i had both eczema and feng mo was tormenting, both physically and mentally. Started eczema during my primary school days and happily scratched whenever it was itchy, leaving unsightly scars. During the transition to secondary school, for the sake to be more presentable to gals, i had to withstand scratching myself, and i always broke out into sweats juz trying to refrain myself from scratching. Serious, this is true. I think my eczema was gone during sec 1 days and i got quite happy. Didn't know what was coming then.

During sec 2 mid year, kena feng mo. This itch is more jialat and more intense and somemore it will only come looking for me after i've fallen asleep. Scratched for abt one month cuz canot tahan the itch during nite time and this time the scars lasted longer.. even after 10 yrs, quite a bit of the scars are still there on my thigh area. Had to resort to tying myself up before going to sleep, both hands and legs which kinda worked miracles for me. The ordeal was over in 6mths. The medication given by doctors was absolutely useless, self control is still the best medication for me.

Anyway i guess foot rot will come in NS (for those outfield ppl) if u had childhood eczema or skin problems. SAF's foot powder really work wonders and please do not use the snake powder. Snake powder is only for powder bathing lol.

5adisticD3vil

Care to share what are the names of medications and creams you are taking/ using to keep it under control if its convenient to you?

Cause i know for those stubborn type the medications and creams are more potent.

protopic
cloderm
fobancort
lamisil
mupirocin

all this are the creams i used, so far protopic is the "most" effective

oral medication..... throw away away after finishing.
but my case because tio a bit of bact infection, si beh troublesome...
now taking erythromycin ethylsuccinate

seems like your case is very similar to mine.. till a point went for UV treatment.. hmm not sure if we are seeing the same skin specialist.. is the doctor by the surname of Tham??? And on Gleneagles level 7??? If so, then we are seeing the same doc :s13::s13:

Bro, do try not to use the steriod creams too much.. i am a living example and how steriod had thinned my skin. Bones are more brittle as well which is now i am on full vitamins supplement to remedy the damages done.

So far primrose oil does helps abit though.. Bottomline, need cool weather and our skin cannot tahan hot and humidity.. sure flare up big time.. tio boh? ;)

ohh mine also lvl 7 but the doc is chan.....

same lor, the UV treatment i tried before. once every week, got a bit effective but since now work in private sector, very hard to keep taking off or leave to do this. last time regular, easier to take time off.

yar hot n humid is damn itchy.....buay tahan man. need to take hydroxyzine, some kinda anti itch medication

...eh tio eczema like this still can take IPPT mah?
everytime take already need to immediately go wash, all the dust n dirt

Skyeagle

Dont be shocked... 20 over years. Of course this includes oral western medication.. Antihistamine etc..

:s16:

Btw, u mentioned your bones are brittle? How do you know your bones are already brittle? And skin thinning? Can give examples of those?

Skyeagle

5adisticD3vil, how long have you been using this protopic?

How effective is it? I mean if you apply on wounds and bumps, how long will it take for them to go away.

Cause there is this black box warning that prolong use might cause skin cancer. My doc recommended me this. But I rejected it cause not very comfortable with it.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
ish good.. butch ish ghost doctor better..
ask him for the mildest steriod cream..
off the shelve hard to gauge sometimes.. :)

Some of the controlled medications such as steroid creams cannot be bought over the counter. You need a doctor prescription for it. Some more the pharmacists on duty may not be the best person to advise you.

Its best if you can see a doctor for your condition or the skin centre for it...

icic .. thx for de inputs . :)

'cos me thot by goin' to pharmacies smhw they cud recom me smthn' .. but yea hvg a doc to see de cond. of my reddish patch wud be much beta for 'em to assess .

see how it goes then . :)

breitling81

Btw, u mentioned your bones are brittle? How do you know your bones are already brittle? And skin thinning? Can give examples of those?

Bone brittleness was warned by my doctor for constant oral medication and excessive cortisol application in the long term. So far i didnt break any bones (touch wood) but certain parts of my body like joints are weak (not those muscle weakness) but rather the skeletal is not strong to support my weight.. Not sure how to describe but something to that extend.. have been exercising since and vitamins supplement intake helps but to what point i dont know. Perhaps 10 yrs down the road all body parts complain that its the only culprit that i can actually suspect or pinpoint.

Skin thinning is very obvious to see.. Take my top of my feet for example, simple light pinch will cause bruises (like blue black). Even my arms and thighs.. These are very clear cut skin thinning..

breitling81

protopic
cloderm
fobancort
lamisil
mupirocin

all this are the creams i used, so far protopic is the "most" effective

oral medication..... throw away away after finishing.
but my case because tio a bit of bact infection, si beh troublesome...
now taking erythromycin ethylsuccinate

ohh mine also lvl 7 but the doc is chan.....

same lor, the UV treatment i tried before. once every week, got a bit effective but since now work in private sector, very hard to keep taking off or leave to do this. last time regular, easier to take time off.

yar hot n humid is damn itchy.....buay tahan man. need to take hydroxyzine, some kinda anti itch medication

...eh tio eczema like this still can take IPPT mah?
everytime take already need to immediately go wash, all the dust n dirt

Thought your Doc same as mine.. UV treatment bullsh1t one.. waste of time and $$ and at the expense of us risking our lifes to contract skin cancer..

Hot plus high humidity is a killer to us.. no doubt about it..

wah bro, it seems like sharing we might have the same similar skin condition.. My condition was not that bad during my NS and i went through IPPT as normal but under Pes C (knn all stations got to do cos i no excuse arms or legs or so.. pui.. feel so cheated). Then after NS, reservist my skin condition got worse and worse.. every year MO give me temp Pes E status for consecutively 3 years.. Till i Tulan asked for Medical Board and i told the MOs straight in their face telling them if they dont find my condition genuine, please for goodness sake upgrade me to Pes B status.. i dont have the time to keep coming back.. MO was pretty shocked and asked me go out wait.. Receive the slip from medic - PERMANENT PES E.. happy like ****.. hahaha but at the expense of my skin condition though..

You should fight hard to downgrade as i been through the reservist with that kinda skin condition is like going through hell TWICE!! BTW i am from Armour unit.. lagi sian...

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
should start a fanclub hor? :crazy:

so how ? got outings comparin' scratches de likes ? :crazy:

hee .. juz kiddin' .. :o

There are all sorts of doctors out there. If you are lucky, you will meet those patients one whom will tell you more than 101 things about eczema and he will be glad to answer any questions you have.

Some freaking docs are just impatient and wants to get it over and done with and chase you out of the consultation room

wth .. dats pretty screwed manns .. earn our bux tio chased out .. :s16:

my Achilles area also gotch eczema, so i ish also mush change socks everyday.

good for the shoe (so that it wun smell)
good for the feet (clean clean mah)
good for the person who wash wash (wun smelly smelly)

wow .. urs pretty bad as well .. :o

5adisticD3vil

5adisticD3vil, how long have you been using this protopic?

How effective is it? I mean if you apply on wounds and bumps, how long will it take for them to go away.

Cause there is this black box warning that prolong use might cause skin cancer. My doc recommended me this. But I rejected it cause not very comfortable with it.

it was kinda effective in the beginning but din use it for long,
cause everytime when it drys up, after applying, become all wet again
it din go away... it just kinda heals or close up the open wounds/areas

now i just use hospigel wash to cleanse and dry the areas

the affect areas now is dry but rough with those scars, you know like those normal cuts but dried up le... left the hard dried skin the kind.
then sometime bo dai bo ji sudden flare up again for no reason

Skyeagle

Sounds so scary...

breitling81, you have been using the steroid creams and medications for 10 years? You must have used before all the creams available in the market.

Anyway, congrats its all over now....

I think the skin on my fingers are starting to thin as well due to the creams. If I accidentally knock my fingers onto something, the skin will sure to tear and start weeping...

Skyeagle

it was kinda effective in the beginning but din use it for long,
cause everytime when it drys up, after applying, become all wet again
it din go away... it just kinda heals or close up the open wounds/areas

now i just use hospigel wash to cleanse and dry the areas

the affect areas now is dry but rough with those scars, you know like those normal cuts but dried up le... left the hard dried skin the kind.
then sometime bo dai bo ji sudden flare up again for no reason

I am now thinking if I should ask the doc for this protopic... Its kinda ex thou and with a risk somemore...

5adisticD3vil

Thought your Doc same as mine.. UV treatment bullsh1t one.. waste of time and $$ and at the expense of us risking our lifes to contract skin cancer..

Hot plus high humidity is a killer to us.. no doubt about it..

wah bro, it seems like sharing we might have the same similar skin condition.. My condition was not that bad during my NS and i went through IPPT as normal but under Pes C (knn all stations got to do cos i no excuse arms or legs or so.. pui.. feel so cheated). Then after NS, reservist my skin condition got worse and worse.. every year MO give me temp Pes E status for consecutively 3 years.. Till i Tulan asked for Medical Board and i told the MOs straight in their face telling them if they dont find my condition genuine, please for goodness sake upgrade me to Pes B status.. i dont have the time to keep coming back.. MO was pretty shocked and asked me go out wait.. Receive the slip from medic - PERMANENT PES E.. happy like ****.. hahaha but at the expense of my skin condition though..

You should fight hard to downgrade as i been through the reservist with that kinda skin condition is like going through hell TWICE!! BTW i am from Armour unit.. lagi sian...

but i doubt yours is as stubborn as mine.....
nothing i tried can make it go away, just keep it under control nia.
those strong medication that works i can't take for too long... got side effect
creams is like ****... useless

eh how you go about downgrading.... straight go MO tell them?
reservist in those pants n hot sun... wah lan.

breitling81

Sounds so scary...

breitling81, you have been using the steroid creams and medications for 10 years? You must have used before all the creams available in the market.

Anyway, congrats its all over now....

I think the skin on my fingers are starting to thin as well due to the creams. If I accidentally knock my fingers onto something, the skin will sure to tear and start weeping...

yeah bro, it sounds scary and when young gong gong mum ask me to take i take. Let her apply whatever cream also dont know what's the side effect in the long run. I dont blame her as she is just trying to get me cured.. When i am older and when skin condition got worse, thats where i started to read abit more and research more on western and chinese medication on eczema on their side effects!

You are hit on.. Slight bumps or so, either you bruise or you tear your skin.. This is skin thinning effect!

Which is why we got to raise more awareness on the potent side effects of western medication like steriods as side effects does not kick in fast but a silent killer..

breitling81

but i doubt yours is as stubborn as mine.....
nothing i tried can make it go away, just keep it under control nia.
those strong medication that works i can't take for too long... got side effect
creams is like ****... useless

eh how you go about downgrading.... straight go MO tell them?
reservist in those pants n hot sun... wah lan.

Yeah man.. although mine now is under control but its not 100% cured.. about 80 to 90%.. Its something that i cant wish for more to be cured 100%.. its already a blessing to me that i can get it under controlled..

Downgrading wise, this is not to KHENG (got to repeat) as this is a genuine case of downgrading.. Ask your Medical Officer and tell him your skin condition.. Support it with letters from skin specialist and best from NSC (which i happen to have my records there).. Tell the MO if he cant refer a review of PES status, asked for Medical Board.. Like i said, if our cases are not genuine to support our eczema torment, ask them to upgrade once and for all like my case.. Cos NS men normally they dont like to waste our time. Imagine you take time off every now and then to go see doc? see what i mean? Hope this helps.

:)

5adisticD3vil

i know of the side effect....dat time i felt that if this can make it go away soon, its still ok...
but for like 7-8 yrs already....haiz.

5adisticD3vil

Yeah man.. although mine now is under control but its not 100% cured.. about 80 to 90%.. Its something that i cant wish for more to be cured 100%.. its already a blessing to me that i can get it under controlled..

Downgrading wise, this is not to KHENG (got to repeat) as this is a genuine case of downgrading.. Ask your Medical Officer and tell him your skin condition.. Support it with letters from skin specialist and best from NSC (which i happen to have my records there).. Tell the MO if he cant refer a review of PES status, asked for Medical Board.. Like i said, if our cases are not genuine to support our eczema torment, ask them to upgrade once and for all like my case.. Cos NS men normally they dont like to waste our time. Imagine you take time off every now and then to go see doc? see what i mean? Hope this helps.

:)

i'm still pes A.

i used to go to NSC for treatment but now i go geneagle, can still get NSC to write letter?
if can i get both to write letter le.

breitling81

i know of the side effect....dat time i felt that if this can make it go away soon, its still ok...
but for like 7-8 yrs already....haiz.

Thats not to bad liao compared to mine.. :(:( i was on such steriods and oral meds for 20 odd years leh.. felt like a blardy guinea pig..

Even now and then at times my skin will crack on fingers (folds area) if i soak water or do too much house work.. Pain like hell and it bleed!!!

At times when looking back, it brings back tears to my eyes... its really tormenting.. :(

But I have to be positive, life is still bright and i have my baby boy and my wife and family to care for. That spurs me on in life.. :D

Skyeagle

yeah bro, it sounds scary and when young gong gong mum ask me to take i take. Let her apply whatever cream also dont know what's the side effect in the long run. I dont blame her as she is just trying to get me cured.. When i am older and when skin condition got worse, thats where i started to read abit more and research more on western and chinese medication on eczema on their side effects!

You are hit on.. Slight bumps or so, either you bruise or you tear your skin.. This is skin thinning effect!

Which is why we got to raise more awareness on the potent side effects of western medication like steriods as side effects does not kick in fast but a silent killer..

Sometimes I find it very contradicting...

If dun apply the cream, the open wounds never heal... If apply already got chance the wound will close but causes thinning...

Signz...

Skyeagle

i'm still pes A.

i used to go to NSC for treatment but now i go geneagle, can still get NSC to write letter?

Maybe you need to spend a bit of money lor. Go there see a doctor and tell him your concerns and ask him to write for you lor.

breitling81

i'm still pes A.

wah brudder, PES A ah?? how you go through your reservist in such skin condition man?? I take my hats off you man..

The more reports you can gather the better your chances of having a medical board and downgrade will of course be more advantages..

Tell your doc that you still need to cheong 山 cheong 海 they will know what to do and normally they are quite sympathetic to skin disorder patients.. If they give you the slightest hint that it wont bother you to still go ahead with PES A, ask them go for reservist on your behalf.. they are definitely talking C0ck..

I would be surprised if your MO dont grant you a medical board review based on your skin condition.. alternatively make your skin flare up to a point like how ancient ppl saw leprosy victims and see if they can still say anything..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.