Eight Telecom discussion thread

leongws

I applied for port in online and received the physical SIM card on Thursday. Proceed to activate the sim with the temporary number and activation code. Temporary number working fine.

I porting over from ZYM. since yesterday, I tried calling my zym number to check if porting has completed successfully. However got voice msg saying “ sorry the StarHub number u have dial is presently not in service”.

Zym is SingTel and eight is StarHub. So is the number already ported to eight but got hiccup resulting in no service?
Now my temporary sim also becomes unusable. Zym number that was supposed to be ported in still same voice msg as above…..jialat.

matrix05

Sat 4pm retailer. Apply port in, pay $8, from Simba to 8. Sunday, woke up, Simba stopped, replace with 8 Sim, reboot phone and work, no hiccups. Speed seems slower than Simba.

AlvinDj

This is the normal process. The current telco has to terminate your line before the new telco can port in your number. There will be a period of several hours where you are stuck in between.

I applied to port in, to Eight this afternoon. I just received an email (an hour back) from Simba that my line with them has been terminated. My eight is still showing the temporary number. Now waiting for eight to port in my line to their network. I am slightly worried as tomorrow is a public holiday. I hope I wont be stuck in limbo. Lucky thing is that these days hardly anyone calls me. The only gap is when I need to receive OTP number. Let's hope the port in is successful.

:)

Update: Good news. My number was ported over to Eight at 1am. Huat Arh!
Yup, the same thing for me that the only worry is the otp. Suddenly my temporary number isn't connecting anymore, so basically im browsing only using my wifi now. Sad.

Hopefully later it will be ready. Thanks for sharing with me your experience man.

**Update** number ported in ! Phew ! Was worried with my trading account as I need to use otp to login
How long this 'limbo' mode took?

Is it approximately 24hours+/- from / after the time SIMBA emailed that the number is terminated?

I received the email last night at 11pm that my SIMBA was terminated, but it's been more than 12hours since, still stuck in limbo mode..

Tried calling that number but it says 'Starhub mobile customer unable to reach' etc.

Slowdown

Is it approximately 24hours+/- from / after the time SIMBA emailed that the number is terminated?

I received the email last night at 11pm that my SIMBA was terminated, but it's been more than 12hours since, still stuck in limbo mode..

Tried calling that number but it says 'Starhub mobile customer unable to reach' etc.
You may not like the answer. "It's depend".

I submitted my port-in (to Eight from Simba) on Thursday early part of the afternoon. Immediately I gotten a welcome email from Eight. Late evening gotten a termination from Simba. Next morning 1.30am my number was ported over to Eight. I was worried that (Friday being a holiday), that the process may be delayed.

I have done a few port over with different telco. So far the experience is quite acceptable. I will always try to do it on work week (Monday to Friday) and I will give ample time (a week) before my current plan (with current telco) expires.

There are two organizations at play. Any one organization failing to perform the required task, will cause the port-in to fail.

Be patient.

AlvinDj

You may not like the answer. "It's depend".

I submitted my port-in (to Eight from Simba) on Thursday early part of the afternoon. Immediately I gotten a welcome email from Eight. Late evening gotten a termination from Simba. Next morning 1.30am my number was ported over to Eight. I was worried that (Friday being a holiday), that the process may be delayed.

I have done a few port over with different telco. So far the experience is quite acceptable. I will always try to do it on work week (Monday to Friday) and I will give ample time (a week) before my current plan (with current telco) expires.

There are two organizations at play. Any one organization failing to perform the required task, will cause the port-in to fail.

Be patient.
Don't get me wrong.. I am totally fine with waiting lol..

I am just worried the number is 'lost' as it is taking unusually long.. Just feeling alittle uncertain with the situation..

Because my termination SIMBA emailed was received 11pm last night and it's already almost 2pm (15hours past) still in limbo..

Timeline:
Activated EIGHT temp sim on 10 Aug 12:30am
SIMBA emailed termination on 10 Aug 11pm
Limbo until now this very moment...

XiaoFu99

Just to share, did a port-in "free physical SIM via post" for Vivifi, Changi Mobile & Simba. All 3 of the port in happened only 3~4 working days after activation (received physical SIM and trigger the activation).

None of the above received any SMS to notify of the successful port-in. Take note.

AlvinDj

Just to share, did a port-in "free physical SIM via post" for Vivifi, Changi Mobile & Simba. All 3 of the port in happened only 3~4 working days after activation (received physical SIM and trigger the activation).

None of the above received any SMS to notify of the successful port-in. Take note.
Were your previous telco numbers all stuck in limbo for that 3-4 working days?

Sumimasen

Let me share my port-in xperience from heya to 8 with free delivery of physical SIM via normal mail.

Activated on 10 aug bef noon.

Successfully ported over on 11 aug when I woke up at 3am. The reception bars for my old SIM was showing x. I'm using a dual SIM hp.

There is indeed no SMS notification on successful port-in hence, I called myself using another hp to confirm my port-in no. is reflected.

Can I check my current cycle will expire on 9/9 means on can recharge on 9/9 or latest by 8/9?

But wait... I sign up for free 88 days trial so how to know when to recharge or Eight will email us?

Revolee993

Just curious, how does plan renewal on eight work? I am currently on the $8 plan and have some main balance in my wallet. Does the plan auto-renew itself every month or do I need to do it manually via their app?

dashing_girlboy

FOC for the time being. Stated in Eight's FAQ. Don't know for subsequent switching.

Something to note for anyone looking to switch between eSIM and SIM card, please visit the Ubi service center

I paid $5 to do that at the Lucky Plaza Service Centre to get a replacement SIM card cause my eSIM was not working. Later on, the helpdesk email finally replied with a new QR for my eSIM. Now my SIM is not working anymore, so I've just wasted $5 for something that is supposed to be free.

Slowdown

Don't get me wrong.. I am totally fine with waiting lol..

I am just worried the number is 'lost' as it is taking unusually long.. Just feeling alittle uncertain with the situation..

Because my termination SIMBA emailed was received 11pm last night and it's already almost 2pm (15hours past) still in limbo..

Timeline:
Activated EIGHT temp sim on 10 Aug 12:30am
SIMBA emailed termination on 10 Aug 11pm
Limbo until now this very moment...
That is why I try to avoid weekend to do such things. I took a risk to do it on Thu, knowing Friday to Sunday is a long weekend. I believe Eight has not performed the port-in process, or they encountered some problem. Hope things work out for you.

Synchron

Mine around 10pm - 12.30am same night

Habrosus

Let me share my port-in xperience from heya to 8 with free delivery of physical SIM via normal mail.

Activated on 10 aug bef noon.

Successfully ported over on 11 aug when I woke up at 3am. The reception bars for my old SIM was showing x. I'm using a dual SIM hp.

There is indeed no SMS notification on successful port-in hence, I called myself using another hp to confirm my port-in no. is reflected.

Can I check my current cycle will expire on 9/9 means on can recharge on 9/9 or latest by 8/9?

But wait... I sign up for free 88 days trial so how to know when to recharge or Eight will email us?

alex22

Go to Ubi, I went today and it's not a weekday.

Did you provide all the required information when you requested termination via email?
Joon bo! Sat can go ubi?
Then like that i go liao on weekend and settle fast fast. Weekday cannot go

Habrosus

Joon bo! Sat can go ubi?
Then like that i go liao on weekend and settle fast fast. Weekday cannot go
I went yesterday. Yesterday Saturday?

But you go Saturday, if close, don't come find me. :s13:

Habrosus

Those who experienced SIM card cannot call or SMS whatever, how did you solve the issue/s?

Have to change new SIM card?

leongws

Now my temporary sim also becomes unusable. Zym number that was supposed to be ported in still same voice msg as above…..jialat.
Contact zym and was informed that port out was completed. Now it’s in eight’s hand. Wonder how long more need to wait. Both temp line and port over line unable to use.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.