Eight Telecom discussion thread

loganrunning

Has been unblocked and still cannot :(

i received calls, made calls back from jb and hcmc, using the free plan. no changes to number used or config.

in jb, maybe can try connecting to "u mobile", the other roaming partner.

edit: i didn't change the APN, left it at default (ref to faq instructions below). dunno if this makes a difference

roaming faq: https://www.eight.com.sg/roaming
1. Ensure that you’ve enabled Mobile Data and Data Roaming on your mobile.
2. Check if Access Point Network (APN) is set to ‘shwap’

~sabaisabai~

i received calls, made calls back from jb and hcmc, using the free plan. no changes to number used or config.
roaming faq:
https://www.eight.com.sg/roaming

free idd calls even on free plan??

TyL3r_DuRd3n

yes.

calls in and out, sms only incoming. they do say outgoing sms not supported.
Free plan not supported lah bro for the roaming incoming/outgoing calls, but the $8/$18 supported. :grin:

88GB​

$0/month for 88 days with Promo code: EIGHTNDP2024
(Super Eight Plan)
BUY NOW
  • 88GB Local Data
  • 1GB APAC Roaming
  • 88 Mins Local Talktime
  • 88 Local SMS

188GB​

$8/month
(Double Eight Plan)

388GB​

$18/month
(Triple Eight Plan)

~sabaisabai~

Free plan not supported lah bro for the roaming incoming/outgoing calls, but the $8/$18 supported. :grin:

88GB​

(Super Eight Plan)
BUY NOW
  • 88GB Local Data
  • 1GB APAC Roaming
  • 88 Mins Local Talktime
  • 88 Local SMS

188GB​

$8/month
(Double Eight Plan)

388GB​

$18/month
(Triple Eight Plan)
i also saw the $0 plan does not come with free IDD calls
but since @loganrunning mentioned can, so i tot maybe they allowed for free idd calls:p

wulu1_69

edit: i didn't change the APN, left it at default (ref to faq instructions below). dunno if this makes a difference

roaming faq: https://www.eight.com.sg/roaming
Did what you've suggested, call using maxis network kena block and uMobile has no dialing tone and the call cut off by itself :(

~sabaisabai~

Did what you've suggested, call using maxis network kena block and uMobile has no dialing tone and the call cut off by itself :(
something wrong somewhere:(
can you try to turn off and on the mobile, and re try again?

loganrunning

88GB​

(Super Eight Plan)
BUY NOW
  • 88GB Local Data
  • 1GB APAC Roaming
  • 88 Mins Local Talktime
  • 88 Local SMS

188GB​

$8/month
(Double Eight Plan)

388GB​

$18/month
(Triple Eight Plan)

but it worked, so that's what counts :ROFLMAO:

loganrunning

that is very strange, esp on a paid plan. sounds like backend problem.

going from the anecdata here, eight may have backend/provisioning issues. like cannot get otp from eight after porting in, receiving overseas sms etc.

best to escalate - fastest reported escalation seems to be at ubi.

~sabaisabai~

that is very strange, esp on a paid plan. sounds like backend problem.

going from the anecdata here, eight may have backend/provisioning issues. like cannot get otp from eight after porting in, receiving overseas sms etc.

best to escalate - fastest reported escalation seems to be at ubi.
bro, you sounds from telco industry leh.. knowledgeable:D
jsut quite unlucky if cannot receive otp after porting in

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.