Eight Telecom discussion thread

MrAwesomeX

Not very good experience with roaming in Malaysia, full bar signal kept switching to "G", whereas my other hotlink line that utilise the same Maxis have no issue. Both line on the same phone (dual sim). Disconnecting and connecting only managed to resolved it temporary, afterawhile will happen again, once it goes into "G" it will not return to 4G. Seems like eight is being depriorited badly in Malaysia.

Even Malaysia own telecom isn't great in bolehland.

Free roaming data is liddat one

Habrosus

Not very good experience with roaming in Malaysia, full bar signal kept switching to "G", whereas my other hotlink line that utilise the same Maxis have no issue. Both line on the same phone (dual sim). Disconnecting and connecting only managed to resolved it temporary, afterawhile will happen again, once it goes into "G" it will not return to 4G. Seems like eight is being depriorited badly in Malaysia.
That's why I've been switching to Simba when that happens.

Even with my Hotlink cards, connection hasn't been smooth for the past few months already.

On recent visits with Simba and Hotlink on dual SIM phones, I'd let Simba roam until I'm sure Maxis is stable before switching the data source over.

If left to auto detect, Eight could hook onto U Mobile instead, something I've not encountered until late last year.

eddy0505

My eight roaming is flawless in JB and KL tho, could be your phone don't have the required bands.

skazzz

so far useable experience in malaysia be it via mvno or malaysia local sim card, performance in city area is actually more superior than sg

yujin86

today have some issues with roaming with maxis I think.
normally work quite smooth for me but today got line but no data, need to on and off airplane mode

yotoden

Our experience in MY roaming are always great, JB and Sabah both were good with Maxis. Both iPhone 14 Pro. I don’t understand what was your hiccups though. My friend uses Infinix also great fyi. Works in Japan well also. For an $8 plan, I can’t expect more.

eddy0505

Our experience in MY roaming are always great, JB and Sabah both were good with Maxis. Both iPhone 14 Pro. I don’t understand what was your hiccups though. My friend uses Infinix also great fyi. Works in Japan well also. For an $8 plan, I can’t expect more.
Hardware and bands related. I've friends using eight with china rom phones or iphone 13 and older having poor signal issues as well whether issit physical or esim. Even some global roms with weaker hardware and lesser bands struggles with eight connectivity sometimes. So best solution is to try out diff Telco or change phone lol.

tckrto

Price is good lah. But when got problem like me now is totally helpless. Send email need to wait 4-5days Whatsapp is just automated reply. Knn sitting duck waiting to die only.

eddy0505

Price is good lah. But when got problem like me now is totally helpless. Send email need to wait 4-5days Whatsapp is just automated reply. Knn sitting duck waiting to die only.
Check your apn settings. See if accidentally selected something else. Else need wait for support liao. My main phone has 0 issues with roaming in Taiwan in the past so can't help much.

kkgkkg

Someone use ur nric do funny stuff or their quota to port for the day maxed out liao?
Contacted Giga and found there were 9 numbers registered under my NRIC, but I had never registered with Giga. Don't know how others can do so without my physical NRIC or my SingPass.

Giga claimed that all the 9 numbers had been inactive for a while and shouldn't be counted. Still investigating...

tckrto

Check your apn settings. See if accidentally selected something else. Else need wait for support liao. My main phone has 0 issues with roaming in Taiwan in the past so can't help much.

I also have zero issues since last year Nov, but this month is really sitting duck.
Fakring curse and swear at the moment. Lucky I got a company issued Taiwan sim card to tight over. But cannot receive otp would pose future problems.

carboy00

Hi all, wanted to ask for eight service centres, will they entertain requests during weekends?

eight website puts only Mon - Fri but physically the stores are still opened during weekends. Want to drop by Clementi service centre to switch from eSIM to pSIM.

sibeiTrolled

Hi all, wanted to ask for eight service centres, will they entertain requests during weekends?

eight website puts only Mon - Fri but physically the stores are still opened during weekends. Want to drop by Clementi service centre to switch from eSIM to pSIM.
Not sure, so can't really help.

No harm just heading down to try your luck ;)

RLWZ21

well last year i did go down with my parents on 1 of the weekend to UBI and they still do attend to our quiries have helpe feedback to eight on the issues and it was working well on monday

RLWZ21

Contacted Giga and found there were 9 numbers registered under my NRIC, but I had never registered with Giga. Don't know how others can do so without my physical NRIC or my SingPass.

Giga claimed that all the 9 numbers had been inactive for a while and shouldn't be counted. Still investigating...
so right now can u still can sign up any more postpaid or really need to wait till police case finish their finding?

Kain999

Their APN settings have issues. The 2G network is not forbidden and despite phone setting as LTE as preferred, it will always connect to the strongest but unusable 2G Maxis.
Started like yesterday and continued to today.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.