Eight Telecom discussion thread

eddy0505

Now waiting see if Eight will introduce the long awaited Senior plan at $4.80? :o
Don't need to, eight don't need to fight for the $5 senior plan market share. The introduction of this mid tier plan will attract more customers who are willing to pay more for the value it brings. I feel in the long run Simba will eventually just drop the senior plan.

cracker

Don't need to, eight don't need to fight for the $5 senior plan market share. The introduction of this mid tier plan will attract more customers who are willing to pay more for the value it brings. I feel in the long run Simba will eventually just drop the senior plan.
does Simba know their main problem in Sg is coverage?

eddy0505

does Simba know the main problem in Sg is coverage?
Tell me about it bro, their backend failed to deduct my working active recurring card for renewal. I changed a card but still failed and eventually deducted the amount, but after deduction they failed to find the payment and ask me to pay again manually. Until 48 hours later then they reinstated my line after "verifying the payment"..I've already lodged a complaint to imda see what they respond or if Simba will tio fine bo coz they refused to compensate for the downtime.

chaiscool

https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-manage-my-account

• What eightplans can I change to? Can I upgrade or downgrade my plan?
    • Learn more about our plans here ($0, $8 and $18 Mobile Plans).
    • Change plan can be done via eight account or simply head down to our eight retailers/ service centre.
    • Your latest entitlements will take effect as soon as you upgrade. For downgrade, your plan will take effect after your current cycle of plan ends.
If travel can upgrade for 1 month and downgrade back? Pay $4 more to get extra roam 6GB for travel.

chaiscool

His faq literally answered your question why you ask the same question sia.
Not clear can do both on the same month mah. Hence, the question is to those who tried before?

Only need 1 month so have to upgrade and downgrade at same time.

wav35_

Ehhh. What abt for 8.
Say my plan next due is 15 Apr, i can change in app (from $8 to this new $11.80) on 14 Apr? Or i can change now and takes effect on the upcoming cycle?

i have the same question, next $8 double eight plan renewal is due to start on 19 Apr - already paid.
wonder if i can just upgrade before renewal to this $11.80 plan and pay just $3.80 balance.

Habrosus

https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-manage-my-account

• What eightplans can I change to? Can I upgrade or downgrade my plan?
    • Learn more about our plans here ($0, $8 and $18 Mobile Plans).
    • Change plan can be done via eight account or simply head down to our eight retailers/ service centre.
    • Your latest entitlements will take effect as soon as you upgrade. For downgrade, your plan will take effect after your current cycle of plan ends.
Going with the norm that these telcos will not refund unused portion of your monthly payment, AFAIK they won't do partial collection either. So...

Your latest entitlements will take effect as soon as you upgrade.
Say you decide to upgrade tomorrow, 1st April. You will be charged $18.
That would mean that your payment for the month of April (which has 30 days) is $18.

For downgrade, your plan will take effect after your current cycle of plan ends.
From the above example, your current cycle of plan ends on 30th April. So, your downgrade will take effect from 1st May.

You can apply for the downgrade on 15th April, but it will only take effect from 1st May and no, you won't get a refund coz you would still be on the $18 plan for the whole of April.

So paid $8 for March, pay $18 for April, pay $18 for May onwards.

Above is what I understand from their FAQ.

If travel can upgrade for 1 month and downgrade back? Pay $4 more to get extra roam 6GB for travel.

i have the same question, next $8 double eight plan renewal is due to start on 19 Apr - already paid.
wonder if i can just upgrade before renewal to this $11.80 plan and pay just $3.80 balance.

Habrosus

how's the reception of eight?

been using M1, everytime MRT go underground no reception.
Coming from the likes of Singtel SIM-only, M1 Bespoke, Simba, M1 Maxx... Eight is useable. Not fantastic, though I can't say any of our MNO/MVNOs is fantastic. Neither of the above has given me "underground no reception" either. Yes, at certain point webpage not loading, but just have to wait a little while and it'll move again.

Best experience would be to get a SIM card and test for yourself, see if it works for your own areas and expectations.

chaiscool

Going with the norm that these telcos will not refund unused portion of your monthly payment, AFAIK they won't do partial collection either. So...

That would mean that your payment for the month of April (which has 30 days) is $18.

For downgrade, your plan will take effect after your current cycle of plan ends.
From the above example, your current cycle of plan ends on 30th April. So, your downgrade will take effect from 1st May.

You can apply for the downgrade on 15th April, but it will only take effect from 1st May and no, you won't get a refund coz you would still be on the $18 plan for the whole of April.

Yeah wonder if anyone got only upgrade for 1 month. So $8 march, $18 ($12 for new plan) April, back to $8 for May onwards.

jess_sy

wBABbrf.jpeg
Awesome response to SIMBA plan.

mosmos

how's the reception of eight?

been using M1, everytime MRT go underground no reception.
You may want to check is it your phone having problem with reception at underground mrt. Many others who have same problems here are using iphone.

I have used Circlelife for many years back, my usual mrt route travelling from JE to BV to MacPherson to Tampines East weekdays during 7-8am, no issues with data reception.

Now I am using Eight on $300+ xiaomi phone and simba on $100+ Samsung tablet. Both do not have issue on data on same route during 7-8am weekdays, surfing/post on FB, IG, shopee, HWZ.

Mephist0pheLes

You may want to check is it your phone having problem with reception at underground mrt. Many others who have same problems here are using iphone.

I have used Circlelife for many years back, my usual mrt route travelling from JE to BV to MacPherson to Tampines East weekdays during 7-8am, no issues with data reception.

Now I am using Eight on $300+ xiaomi phone and simba on $100+ Samsung tablet. Both do not have issue on data on same route during 7-8am weekdays, surfing/post on FB, IG, shopee, HWZ.
im using samsuck.

to be more precise, i always have issue from city hall to bishan when going back home in the evening, but interestingly i dun have issue when going from bishan to city hall in the morning.

jess_sy

I just realise there is “4G+” instead of the usual 4G on my eight plan.

Did a speed test and is faster 4G speed too.

Or all the while able to get 4G+?

froztheart

Shall try this for the month of April since just nice travelling! 🥳

mosmos

I just realise there is “4G+” instead of the usual 4G on my eight plan.

Did a speed test and is faster 4G speed too.

Or all the while able to get 4G+?
You check your phone specifications.

My xm phone can receive 4G and 4G+

But my Samsung tablet on Simba/Eight can only get 4G

wav35_

yes i read the FAQs.

for my case, it is advance payment for a renewal that has yet to start.
anyway i will ask Eight whether i can void the renewal that has yet to start or change the plan upon renewal,
may not be successful but never ask never know.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.