Essential phone

Fullhouse67

Ordered the Essential Phone already

I've ordered the Essential Phone (which was reserved by pre-order) and am shipping back via vPost so hopefully will get it latest by the 1st week of Sep. I didn't know about the free shipping via Amazon (which would save me about $50 in shipping and insurance fees) when I made the order but at least I will get it a few weeks earlier.

Recent reviews have largely been positive. It appears that the titanium body provides some protection in preventing screen cracks, the screen is excellent (though there are mixed responses regarding viewing in bright sunlight), the battery life is excellent and the camera is decent (except in low lighting) but could be optimised with future software updates to the camera app.
I will give a brief review once I've used it for a few weeks.

I bought the Samsung S8+ when it first came out in April but will sell it after getting the Essential Phone.

There are several reasons why I'm switching to the Essential Phone:
1. Premium materials - with the titanium/ceramic body, the phone should hold up to accidental drops. The question is whether the screen will be resistant to cracks. I will prob get a screen cover for additional protection. I prob won't get a phone case, which is my biggest bugbear with the present handphones. What's the point of having premium material in the handphone when you have to cover it with a protective case? It's like using a condom.
2. Near bezel-less display
3. Excellent design
4. Pure Android stock - Oreo was just announced. Hopefully Essential can upgrade to it soon.
5. Top of the line specs (Snapdragon 835, 4GB RAM, 128GB storage etc)

There have been some criticisms like:
1. No headphone jack - I personally think it's ok. Just use the adaptor! It frees up some space also
2. Lack of water resistance - I don't go swimming with it so if it's water resistant in the rain and for cleaning with water, then I'm fine
3. Lack of wireless charging - doesn't really bother me that much
4. Lack of storage upgrade - 128GB is more than enough for me

Will keep you all posted when the phone arrives...

miyamiya

I have a question on usb type C for using earphones.

I realize that the earphones or adaptor will be sticking out from the middle of the side, so if I want to play games in landscape mode and I need to grab the phone like using a controller, then won't the usb C cable obstruct my right hand in holding the phone properly?

At least for 3.5mm jack, it's usually off center and the connector is small, so can manage somehow.

xuan87

Yea recent reviews have been more than decent.

My two key concerns are battery life followed by camera and both seem more than good enough for me.

Just waiting for the ocean depth color then can hoot, preferably from Amazon.

deckcard

If u game a lot, ios is way better than andriod. loading time + frame rate + smoothness then ios is still king.

What 4 6 8gb ram + sd 8xx also can't win Apple A series chip.

And yes the standby time is king. If u on Low power mode the stand by time is more gay.

Actual real usage the battery is meh. If u care battery life then andriod. If u care performance then ios.

U don't expect a Ferrari to eat less petrol right.

Lol.

Not everyone play alot of games. A phone is still a phone when you think about gaming the **** out of it, just doesn't make sense. Most average peeps just have a few games to past time and that's about it.

Yes,, iOS is slightly faster at loading time but better frame rates are arguable especially compared to latest sd835. I don't really care about a phone that load slightly faster as that milliseconds of waiting isn't going to make me pull my hair anyway. But why would I want a phone that looks like everyone else's phone? What I do care about is the ability to theme and have the flexibility to custom the way I like.
I can also download and share any apps or media files easily. It's also a lot easier to root an Android phone, it opens up a lot more options to further custom or automate it to do things I wanted.

deckcard

I've ordered the Essential Phone (which was reserved by pre-order) and am shipping back via vPost so hopefully will get it latest by the 1st week of Sep. I didn't know about the free shipping via Amazon (which would save me about $50 in shipping and insurance fees) when I made the order but at least I will get it a few weeks earlier.

Recent reviews have largely been positive. It appears that the titanium body provides some protection in preventing screen cracks, the screen is excellent (though there are mixed responses regarding viewing in bright sunlight), the battery life is excellent and the camera is decent (except in low lighting) but could be optimised with future software updates to the camera app.
I will give a brief review once I've used it for a few weeks.

I bought the Samsung S8+ when it first came out in April but will sell it after getting the Essential Phone.

1. Premium materials - with the titanium/ceramic body, the phone should hold up to accidental drops. The question is whether the screen will be resistant to cracks. I will prob get a screen cover for additional protection. I prob won't get a phone case, which is my biggest bugbear with the present handphones. What's the point of having premium material in the handphone when you have to cover it with a protective case? It's like using a condom.
2. Near bezel-less display
3. Excellent design
4. Pure Android stock - Oreo was just announced. Hopefully Essential can upgrade to it soon.
5. Top of the line specs (Snapdragon 835, 4GB RAM, 128GB storage etc)

There have been some criticisms like:
1. No headphone jack - I personally think it's ok. Just use the adaptor! It frees up some space also
2. Lack of water resistance - I don't go swimming with it so if it's water resistant in the rain and for cleaning with water, then I'm fine
3. Lack of wireless charging - doesn't really bother me that much
4. Lack of storage upgrade - 128GB is more than enough for me

Will keep you all posted when the phone arrives...

Ceramic body is virtually scratch prove but it's prone to crack. So avoid hitting on a sharp object or hand knocks especially on the body

Mecisteus

I read the body is a fingerprint magnet.

I have a sweaty palm so I usually put on a casing. But I don't use a screen protector. I prefer to enjoy the beautiful screen raw.

kopi22

Not everyone play alot of games. A phone is still a phone when you think about gaming the **** out of it, just doesn't make sense. Most average peeps just have a few games to past time and that's about it.

Yes,, iOS is slightly faster at loading time but better frame rates are arguable especially compared to latest sd835. I don't really care about a phone that load slightly faster as that milliseconds of waiting isn't going to make me pull my hair anyway. But why would I want a phone that looks like everyone else's phone? What I do care about is the ability to theme and have the flexibility to custom the way I like.
I can also download and share any apps or media files easily. It's also a lot easier to root an Android phone, it opens up a lot more options to further custom or automate it to do things I wanted.

Loading time are ok. Unless you compare side by side with an iPhone. But how's the ram management of Essential phone?? Android can has tons of ram but if makers like Samsung, only to damage the user experience.

Nothing wrong with having a common phone IMO. It means that that is a good phone and the public like it. Customizing the phone is just a past time time. Soon will get tired of it. I used to customize and root Android a lot but hell, now I just use the defaults out of the box.

Also iPhone has solid OS upgrade path. There is no worry or hoping for that. But this is very inconsistent with Android. Personally I not to worry about file transferring. I don't transfer much files. Furthermore I can use OTG too on my iPhone for basic stuffs like photos.

Ultimately I more concerned about user experiences. Apps are indeed much more optimized on iOS - games, Facebook, etc etc.... If Essential is behaving just like any other Android with stutters, I will just get a xiaomi rather then spending so much on Android.

kopi22

iphone is only good at standby time. when in use, it cant compete with the latest flagships. You can find battery life test on youtube that compares the latest phones with usage.

SD821 has drastic improvements over the SD810 in both speed and battery life but the SD835 is simply fantastic in everyway. i cant wait to see how the next generation gonna perform

Android standby is bad and inconsistent. Android still have the sudden battery drains out of the blue now and then even with the latest versions. Tons of back end services running and we don't even know what is affecting the battery.

kEvinErd

Android standby is bad and inconsistent. Android still have the sudden battery drains out of the blue now and then even with the latest versions. Tons of back end services running and we don't even know what is affecting the battery.
You...have had enough experience with Android Oreo to make this claim already?

kEvinErd

Loading time are ok. Unless you compare side by side with an iPhone. But how's the ram management of Essential phone?? Android can has tons of ram but if makers like Samsung, only to damage the user experience.

Nothing wrong with having a common phone IMO. It means that that is a good phone and the public like it. Customizing the phone is just a past time time. Soon will get tired of it. I used to customize and root Android a lot but hell, now I just use the defaults out of the box.

Also iPhone has solid OS upgrade path. There is no worry or hoping for that. But this is very inconsistent with Android. Personally I not to worry about file transferring. I don't transfer much files. Furthermore I can use OTG too on my iPhone for basic stuffs like photos.

Ultimately I more concerned about user experiences. Apps are indeed much more optimized on iOS - games, Facebook, etc etc.... If Essential is behaving just like any other Android with stutters, I will just get a xiaomi rather then spending so much on Android.

What I find unpalatable is that even Google's own apps are better on iOS than on it's very own Android.

But what I dislike about iOS apps is that there's no user interface consistency across various apps, which destroys the overall user experience ultimately. One app can have a Settings or Back button at the top left corner, another can have it in the bottom right, or the top right, etc... It's extremely unpleasant when you use various apps and switch between them most of the time.

batboyz

Nothing wrong with having a common phone IMO. It means that that is a good phone and the public like it.

There is nothing wrong with being the same. This is correct. However, this is a matter of preference. It's also a matter of choice. More people like/use something does not equal to something good. Good is relative from one person to another.

Also iPhone has solid OS upgrade path. There is no worry or hoping for that. But this is very inconsistent with Android.

Hence the reason why ppl choose Nexus/Pixel/Essential/OnePlus. Laymen won't care about upgrade/software updates. As long as can use, they don't care about anything else.

Personally I not to worry about file transferring. I don't transfer much files. Furthermore I can use OTG too on my iPhone for basic stuffs like photos.

Ultimately I more concerned about user experiences. Apps are indeed much more optimized on iOS - games, Facebook, etc etc....

The keyword here is user experience. I am 100% agreed with this, but I am coming from a different angle. User experience to me also includes transferring/browsing files easily anywhere/whenever I want without the need to connect to an external device, which is obviously not provided in iOS, so it failed. I use Google Drive heavily and companies that I have worked/working with also utilise Google services, so features like whatsapp/photos backup to Google Drive/Photos are essential. I also can migrate/change from one phone to another without issues.

Wondering how you know iOS apps are more optimised than in Android? You developed/optimised one before? It's running faster/more smoothly does not equal to more optimised. There are many internal/external factors involved that may affect everything through the lifecycle of an app.

garychengjw

No its not.

You can disable and/or uninstall unused apps to prevent battery drainage.
Not all android phone "bad and inconsistent". Depends the make, battery size, screen res, etc...

if i give you phone with high res display with small battery, of cause the drainage will be quicker then others.

so don't whack the entire android ship with one bad experience. my s7edge already 1yr old + and the battery life is still amazing. :D

kopi22

You...have had enough experience with Android Oreo to make this claim already?

Please lor... Google has been making same promises for every version. They also claim the same for Android N.... but those mysterious battery surges still happening leh.

kopi22

There is an iPhone fanboy that can't spell Android trying to stir **** in here..

Please la. Share experiences as a whole nothing wrong ma. It's such common topic. People nowadays own more than one type of phones of different platforms. If you cannot take such discussion, don't read lor. Since Essential is supposed to be a highly anticipated phone, nothing wrong with comparing to other platforms.

"fanboy" is an outdated term already.

miyamiya

Please la. Share experiences as a whole nothing wrong ma. It's such common topic. People nowadays own more than one type of phones of different platforms. If you cannot take such discussion, don't read lor. Since Essential is supposed to be a highly anticipated phone, nothing wrong with comparing to other platforms.

"fanboy" is an outdated term already.
This is phone thread, you want to compare to other phones based on hardware features, that's super fine. That means if you want to say "Hey the upcoming iphone 8 got even less bezel than this non-essential phone, wahaha I go back suck Apple's D*ck", than yah no problem, we can argue on this point until cows go home ****.

You want to compare to other "platforms" then go to some other "Android vs iOS" thread.

The essential phone's UI is basically stock Android, stock until cannot stock. Nothing much to discuss on this, any further it's just discussing about OS merits. I don't need that sh*t here.

I'd rather talk about how disappointing the camera app is now. Seems like whoever behind this needs to do something asap before actual delivery. I go see the essential website, it's some Ah Tiong lady behind the camera experience. Dunno she can make it or not.

deckcard

I'm not sure how long you have used Android but I'm surprised when you said you have rooted and customized Android phones in the past but it has taught you nothing? You know there are "tools" to find out what's causing the battery drain? If you do, you should know your statement is incorrect becos things doesn't happen out of the blue. Next time dun customize phones just for past time but actually learn something out from it

deckcard

Root are many things but not just root la.. but I do agree if want to be idiot prove, join the fruit crowd. But that's also why I won't use the fruit phone :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.