ESXi Setup!

halogenz

2500k is short of x64 or something, short of 1 instruction for virtualisation

u can't run x64 inside esxi ...

2500k has vt-x which allows you to run virtualization too(correct me if I'm wrong). Only diff from k and non-k is vt-d option. And the ASUS board doesn't support vt-d.

Shutterbox

need some advise here.

I'm going to run 2 x 2008 servers VM, 1 or 2 win7 VM for product testing.
Assuming I not going to use ESXi, would VMware server or workstation be more suitable?

I'm running these on the rig on the right.

seowbin

aiseh seowbin 2 am reply

=:p=:p
ya lor.. i sleep very late one leh

2500k has vt-x which allows you to run virtualization too(correct me if I'm wrong). Only diff from k and non-k is vt-d option. And the ASUS board doesn't support vt-d.

ya.. can do vmotion
but like cannot do FT and hardware passthru.. like that bo song liao..

anime_toys08

need some advise here.

I'm going to run 2 x 2008 servers VM, 1 or 2 win7 VM for product testing.
Assuming I not going to use ESXi, would VMware server or workstation be more suitable?

I'm running these on the rig on the right.

more than enuff.

in fact, you can use virtualbox as an alternative as well.
VMware Server / Virtualbox will serve you well. Just do not overcommit your resources since technically your host need CPU / MEM resources too.

Technobagus

I have a LSI Logic PCI-e X4 RAID card that is ESIx compatible but am having problems locating a Desktop LGA1156 MicroATX motherboard that is compatible (most of the single PCI-e x16 motherboards are meant only for GPUs). Any suggestions would be welcome. Thanks.

seowbin

I have a LSI Logic PCI-e X4 RAID card that is ESIx compatible but am having problems locating a Desktop LGA1156 MicroATX motherboard that is compatible (most of the single PCI-e x16 motherboards are meant only for GPUs). Any suggestions would be welcome. Thanks.
u can hoot hp microserver from ebay or malaysia , i have a LSI logic pcie 4x card as well inside it :s34:

anyway, i tried putting a dual port intel nic card on those slot meant for GPU, it works leh... never try ,you will never know :s13:

villains

Hi! I'm interested in doing an esxi whitebox myself. But I have a few problems which I hope the experts here can help me with:

1. Say I want to use an i7 how would I know if the motherboard I get works with esxi 5.1?

2. Where in Singapore can I buy decent RAID cards which are vmware supported?

HeeroYuy84

villains

Hey thanks man. I actually followed another guy's build online, instead of vm-help (At that point the hardware not very updated).

I had to ship in a lsi card though.

the mac 13

Hi guys, looking to build a home lab with a budget of $800. Will dual boot on non-study days so would want to overclock and game. The ESXi would be a headless machine running under my bed.

Due to some requirements, have to use either Gigabyte B75M-D3H, H77m-D3H, MSI B75MA-P45. Can recommend me parts? Would probably get from TradePac for cheapest prices.

CPU: Probably 3570(Can this over clock well?)
Ram: Kingston 1333mhz 32GB(8*4, $50*4 from tradepac)
HDD: 2TB HDD still undecided
DVD - None
PSU/Casing - not sure, max $130 for both combined?
GPU - reuse/IGP

TIA!

the mac 13

Hello guys, any recommendation? :s12:

Hi guys, looking to build a home lab with a budget of $800. Will dual boot on non-study days so would want to overclock and game. The ESXi would be a headless machine running under my bed.

Due to some requirements, have to use either Gigabyte B75M-D3H, H77m-D3H, MSI B75MA-P45. Can recommend me parts? Would probably get from TradePac for cheapest prices.

CPU: Probably 3570(Can this over clock well?)
Ram: Kingston 1333mhz 32GB(8*4, $50*4 from tradepac)
HDD: 2TB HDD still undecided
DVD - None
PSU/Casing - not sure, max $130 for both combined?
GPU - reuse/IGP

TIA!

Kegler

I know im kind of out of topic here

citrix CCA got any use when looking for new job? been running xenserver since 4.1 till now.... its always been my hobby and support for my programming work.... thnking of taking CCA xenserver to venture into jobs related to cloud computing...

Any advice?

dennis91

Hello,

I've got a spare old gaming rig that I would like to use for EXSi / VMs.

I would preferably like to leave it running 24/7 but noise and power consumption are an issue!

This is my rig currently:
GA-965P-DS3 (LGA 775, SATA II, DDR2, PCIe 1.1)
E6600 @ 3.0GHz (overclocked)
2x2GB + 2x1GB PC2-5300 667MHz
1x1TB SATA II @7200RPM (Main disk)
2x500GB SATA II @7200RPM RAID 0 (Storage disk for very important data)
1x2TB SATA II @5400RPM (main storage disk)
1x NVidia 9800GT 512MB (stock)
500W PSU

I intend to update the CPU to Q9550 ($198 VideoPro) and overclock it to 3.5GHz at least.
I will replace the 2x1GB RAMS with 2x2GB making it 4x2GB total (about $80)

Question 1: Is such an upgrade economical? 8GB RAM isn't a lot I guess? Seeing as how cheap DDR3 RAM is nowadays, is it more viable to simply build a new rig just for my ESXi/VM needs?

Question 2: Assuming I do upgrade - can my 500W PSU support the whole rig?

Question 3: I probably don't need a powerful graphics card anymore. Something quiet and low power will be the best.
What is most powerful fanless PCIe 1.1 (2.0 will work too) graphics card I can change to? (that can be found in SLS)
What is the least powerful fanless equivalent? (to save on power)

Thank you all!

HeeroYuy84

Hello,

I've got a spare old gaming rig that I would like to use for EXSi / VMs.

I would preferably like to leave it running 24/7 but noise and power consumption are an issue!

This is my rig currently:
GA-965P-DS3 (LGA 775, SATA II, DDR2, PCIe 1.1)
E6600 @ 3.0GHz (overclocked)
2x2GB + 2x1GB PC2-5300 667MHz
1x1TB SATA II @7200RPM (Main disk)
2x500GB SATA II @7200RPM RAID 0 (Storage disk for very important data)
1x2TB SATA II @5400RPM (main storage disk)
1x NVidia 9800GT 512MB (stock)
500W PSU

I intend to update the CPU to Q9550 ($198 VideoPro) and overclock it to 3.5GHz at least.
I will replace the 2x1GB RAMS with 2x2GB making it 4x2GB total (about $80)

Question 1: Is such an upgrade economical? 8GB RAM isn't a lot I guess? Seeing as how cheap DDR3 RAM is nowadays, is it more viable to simply build a new rig just for my ESXi/VM needs?

Question 2: Assuming I do upgrade - can my 500W PSU support the whole rig?

Question 3: I probably don't need a powerful graphics card anymore. Something quiet and low power will be the best.
What is most powerful fanless PCIe 1.1 (2.0 will work too) graphics card I can change to? (that can be found in SLS)
What is the least powerful fanless equivalent? (to save on power)

Thank you all!

1)if that is a old rig, you might as well source 2nd hand parts, that is what i would do.

2) I did not try that before... i assume it would work, some other bro can better advise.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 vs Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550

3) gtx 610?

crypster

Q9550 I have that cpu too no HT very sad CPU not as efficient. Memory will always be bottle neck. But if you run free ESXi, you only can do with 32GB.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.