Everything Thailand

fightin

Sorry if I missed the question somewhere in this thread.

Is our SG drivers license valid in Thailand?
And I heard new cars with red license plate cannot be driven at night and out of the registered city?
if you are here on tourist visa.. you can use a sg driving license.. but if long term u need to convert it to a thai driving license.

yes.. red plates cant drive to other provinces and out at late night..

Nitez86

if you are here on tourist visa.. you can use a sg driving license.. but if long term u need to convert it to a thai driving license.

Actually short or long term we can use sg license to drive because there is a agreement between the 2 countries. Sg, malaysia and laos license can drive in thailand without converting. I always kana road block and they check me i show them passport and sg license no problems.

DNAT11

Actually short or long term we can use sg license to drive because there is a agreement between the 2 countries. Sg, malaysia and laos license can drive in thailand without converting. I always kana road block and they check me i show them passport and sg license no problems.
bro, u must carry yr passport at all times?

fightin

yeah bro.. once i drove to other province.. the TP keep says that cant use SG driving license in thai. if you are in bkk.. maybe will be safer.

fightin

Passport is like your ic when you go overseas,
If not how to check whether you are illegal immigrants or not.
you can photocopy your pp and when they ask.. just show it to them..

bringing the real thing out is stressful as you dont know when you will lose it

Nitez86

bro, u must carry yr passport at all times?

They said that's the law. I kana b4, go chill with friends then police, tourist police and soldiers came spot check. Target drugs and foreigners who overstay. Then sometimes I change car go out forgot to bring, don't let me go cos no passport. But lucky my wife relative is a high ranking police call him then pass the phone to the officers let him speak with them. After that they let me go. Or at least bring a photocopy one.

vbkk88

Practically everyone carries a smartphone nowadays. For tourists coming for a few days trip, u can take a snapshot of your bio data page of your SG passport as well as your arrival stamp from immigration when u entered. For Long term residents, u can take a snapshot of the visa page with the current visa u are holding as well as your bio data. That would suffice when u encounter road blocks when u are in Bangkok. That's direct from the police chief itself. ;)

DNAT11

i always carry photocopy, at least try get my luck, in case tio check no need go back police station. even if kena go station, police can call the hotel to verify I am tourist n staying at that hotel. The most one person go back to take the original.

If carry the original passport if lost .... dai jee tua tiao leh

DNAT11

Practically everyone carries a smartphone nowadays. For tourists coming for a few days trip, u can take a snapshot of your bio data page of your SG passport as well as your arrival stamp from immigration when u entered. For Long term residents, u can take a snapshot of the visa page with the current visa u are holding as well as your bio data. That would suffice when u encounter road blocks when u are in Bangkok. That's direct from the police chief itself. ;)
wahaha
important n useful info
thannnnnnks

DNAT11

you can photocopy your pp and when they ask.. just show it to them..

bringing the real thing out is stressful as you dont know when you will lose it

tks ... scare lost my passport, kan si lang ma huan 1

fightin

tks ... scare lost my passport, kan si lang ma huan 1
actually not troublesome too.. police report.. embassy for emergency document.. back sg.. go to special lane for clearance.. go to ica for new passport.. if theft or criminal reasons.. need to lodge a report in sg too..

enzo81

Yes that is right but kena caught just a very small fine

Thanks guys.
Guess I'll just bring some small notes along and hope for the best.

fightin

i always carry photocopy, at least try get my luck, in case tio check no need go back police station. even if kena go station, police can call the hotel to verify I am tourist n staying at that hotel. The most one person go back to take the original.

If carry the original passport if lost .... dai jee tua tiao leh
normally if they wannt to play stun.. u will end up in police station for 1 night.. haha

ApeTruelove

They said that's the law. I kana b4, go chill with friends then police, tourist police and soldiers came spot check. Target drugs and foreigners who overstay. Then sometimes I change car go out forgot to bring, don't let me go cos no passport. But lucky my wife relative is a high ranking police call him then pass the phone to the officers let him speak with them. After that they let me go. Or at least bring a photocopy one.

They check is okay de. I kana a few times le just that i hate the video recording.. Most important is really need to know some high ranking ppl from the army, police and immigration.

fightin

They check is okay de. I kana a few times le just that i hate the video recording.. Most important is really need to know some high ranking ppl from the army, police and immigration.
now the road block is more standard compare to the past where only 1 or 2 police will stand there and catch..

now at least have 1 table and some senior ranking officer there.

i think no point knowing high ranking and ask them to clear for some small road block problems. you call them once.. u owe them once..

fightin

i think having a SG passport really help.. they will think that we are not criminal..

so to people here.. please keep up the image. haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.