Everything Thailand

ApeTruelove

now the road block is more standard compare to the past where only 1 or 2 police will stand there and catch..

now at least have 1 table and some senior ranking officer there.

i think no point knowing high ranking and ask them to clear for some small road block problems. you call them once.. u owe them once..

Roadblock normally nothing de. What I mean is if really encounter some issue wif the ppl in Thai esp those area have protection de which my friend did and he almost gone if not ppl help

vbkk88

They check is okay de. I kana a few times le just that i hate the video recording.. Most important is really need to know some high ranking ppl from the army, police and immigration.

There isn't a need to know any high ranking ppl from the army/police/immigration when u encounter routine checks in Bangkok. Due to frequent daily late nights outside, I encounter road blocks almost every night due to the clubs I patronized. Even so, most importantly u must be street smart and prepared for situations like this.

Exit taxi/car in a orderly manner. Inform them u are a tourist/resident in Thailand. Show them the screenshots of valid visas etc. They are there mostly to catch drugs/overstayers. having the valid arrival stamp plays a important factor. As long as u are not a party drug taker or any kind, just cooperate with the officers.

U have the right to take a photo/video recording of the officer who wishes to body search u for drugs or any kind. Do always remember that u should not allow officers to put their hands into your pockets. The procedure should always be u emptying your pockets and they are only allowed to tap U down.

Lastly they would not bring u back unless u look like u are on drugs. Operations like this are always conducted to fatten their wallets. Even if u are caught with drugs like some of my friends, they would often ask for $$ and let u off than to hurl u back to the police station. Sad to say, it's always the case here in Bangkok.

Only unless u are being hurled back to police station, then it's better to know some high ranking officer in the army/police. Lol. Throughout my years and countless encounters with them, I never did mentioned or tried calling someone I know up there cos there isn't a need really. Although I do know them. ;)

fightin

There isn't a need to know any high ranking ppl from the army/police/immigration when u encounter routine checks in Bangkok. Due to frequent daily late nights outside, I encounter road blocks almost every night due to the clubs I patronized. Even so, most importantly u must be street smart and prepared for situations like this.

Exit taxi/car in a orderly manner. Inform them u are a tourist/resident in Thailand. Show them the screenshots of valid visas etc. They are there mostly to catch drugs/overstayers. having the valid arrival stamp plays a important factor. As long as u are not a party drug taker or any kind, just cooperate with the officers.

U have the right to take a photo/video recording of the officer who wishes to body search u for drugs or any kind. Do always remember that u should not allow officers to put their hands into your pockets. The procedure should always be u emptying your pockets and they are only allowed to tap U down.

Lastly they would not bring u back unless u look like u are on drugs. Operations like this are always conducted to fatten their wallets. Even if u are caught with drugs like some of my friends, they would often ask for $$ and let u off than to hurl u back to the police station. Sad to say, it's always the case here in Bangkok.

Only unless u are being hurled back to police station, then it's better to know some high ranking officer in the army/police. Lol. Throughout my years and countless encounters with them, I never did mentioned or tried calling someone I know up there cos there isn't a need really. Although I do know them. ;)
all these years in thailand.. the latest i ever got home is 11pm.. never chiong so never had these kind of problems.

haha.. but having a few strong contacts also will help.

my wife's bro was caught using drugs and got lock up in jail.. even when the family is ready to pay.. the police also insists to lock him on a friday night and release on monday..

depends on the police mood.. haha

vbkk88

all these years in thailand.. the latest i ever got home is 11pm.. never chiong so never had these kind of problems.

haha.. but having a few strong contacts also will help.

my wife's bro was caught using drugs and got lock up in jail.. even when the family is ready to pay.. the police also insists to lock him on a friday night and release on monday..

depends on the police mood.. haha

I'm always outside clubbing every night so I encounter road blocks almost daily. Sometimes 2-3 road blocks on my way back. And it's always better to be in a taxi than driving/riding your own/friends car. That's why I dun drive when I go out at night for drinks/party. They normally will do a thorough search on individual cars and allow taxis to pass through unless u look suspicious or intoxicated.

Like I said, if u are a law bidding tourist/resident who does not normally violate any immigration/drug offenses, u have nothing to worry about. Most of my friends followed what I taught them and they partied worry free every time they come.

End of day, it's all about $$ when u are caught at road blocks. U have the right to ask for the officer's name as well as which jurisdiction area he is from. And send it to whoever it may concern.

Whenever I encounter them, it was always a friendly conversation and they would even comment on the girl I'm going back and which club/ damage I came from.

ApeTruelove

Most important is behave la. Treat people wif respect, ppl will also respect u de. Try to be funny, the losing end will always be you.

fightin

I'm always outside clubbing every night so I encounter road blocks almost daily. Sometimes 2-3 road blocks on my way back. And it's always better to be in a taxi than driving/riding your own/friends car. That's why I dun drive when I go out at night for drinks/party. They normally will do a thorough search on individual cars and allow taxis to pass through unless u look suspicious or intoxicated.

Like I said, if u are a law bidding tourist/resident who does not normally violate any immigration/drug offenses, u have nothing to worry about. Most of my friends followed what I taught them and they partied worry free every time they come.

End of day, it's all about $$ when u are caught at road blocks. U have the right to ask for the officer's name as well as which jurisdiction area he is from. And send it to whoever it may concern.

Whenever I encounter them, it was always a friendly conversation and they would even comment on the girl I'm going back and which club/ damage I came from.
yes, i agree.. being friendly and always a smile add points.. mostly they are looking for drug courier..

sometimes when they ask me if i speak thai.. i always reply nidnoi..

if not, they will shoot everything so fast..

fightin

Most important is behave la. Treat people wif respect, ppl will also respect u de. Try to be funny, the losing end will always be you.
yeah.. esp in thailand.. u dont want to spend a day in their cell.. and who knows what record it might carry in the immigration system..

fightin

do you guys know any stalls that sell authentic SG food?

i only know Uncle pang Nasi lemak?(sambalacha cafe)

vbkk88

do you guys know any stalls that sell authentic SG food?

i only know Uncle pang Nasi lemak?(sambalacha cafe)

I do know of a few places that sells food rather similar to SG food.

There's a fish soup shop near asiatique which sells very fresh fish slices similar to the ones that have Long queues in SG.

Also there's "hok dee" branches around Bangkok. They sell chicken rice/laksa/mee/soups etc. I would rate them ard 6/10 but still can cure the craving for those who seldom go back to SG.

Also used to have another sports bar at Suan Lum night bazaar that sells curry chicken/Mee goreng/curry puffs etc.

And also another stall at Meng jai selling frog porridge/Bak Kut tEh/Chilli crab etc.

fightin

I do know of a few places that sells food rather similar to SG food.

There's a fish soup shop near asiatique which sells very fresh fish slices similar to the ones that have Long queues in SG.

Also there's "hok dee" branches around Bangkok. They sell chicken rice/laksa/mee/soups etc. I would rate them ard 6/10 but still can cure the craving for those who seldom go back to SG.

Also used to have another sports bar at Suan Lum night bazaar that sells curry chicken/Mee goreng/curry puffs etc.

And also another stall at Meng jai selling frog porridge/Bak Kut tEh/Chilli crab etc.
great.. have to find a day and drive to bkk.. meng jai is near huai khwang?

Nitez86

Of course if you are a law abiding citizen there is nothing to fear. But if kana stop without passport it's troublesome, u have to go police station then ask someone go take the passport and etc. Gonna waste alot of time lor on this. For me is because sometimes when my friends came I tends to drink abit with them so if I encounter road block abit problem for me. But lucky my wife have contacts with police due to her relatives so at least safer for me. Because if I not wrong if drink driving the police have the right to tow your car back then things is gonna get real expensive here.

turtlezhu

Of course if you are a law abiding citizen there is nothing to fear. But if kana stop without passport it's troublesome, u have to go police station then ask someone go take the passport and etc. Gonna waste alot of time lor on this. For me is because sometimes when my friends came I tends to drink abit with them so if I encounter road block abit problem for me. But lucky my wife have contacts with police due to her relatives so at least safer for me. Because if I not wrong if drink driving the police have the right to tow your car back then things is gonna get real expensive here.

never knew will kanna bring back police station sia. but not everyone here know police officer leh. this info does not help everyone. but i do know a few army general etc or more like i know someone who know's them that he always intro them to me does that help me???

but i don't think i have to worrie i also law abiding citizen i always bring 11B along. :s22::s22::s22:

DNAT11

actually not troublesome too.. police report.. embassy for emergency document.. back sg.. go to special lane for clearance.. go to ica for new passport.. if theft or criminal reasons.. need to lodge a report in sg too..
redo passport v troublesome

vbkk88

redo passport v troublesome

Replacement/loss of passport can be very troublesome. Also u are subjected to interview with the ICA officer on duty at HQ if they feel suspicious. They have the right to reject your application for replacement if more than 2 times. ;)

DNAT11

Replacement/loss of passport can be very troublesome. Also u are subjected to interview with the ICA officer on duty at HQ if they feel suspicious. They have the right to reject your application for replacement if more than 2 times. ;)
last time lost one time in Sg, cannot lost again ... dun prey prey

duty free cig also, in Sg, custom ask anything to declare, i said no ( too fast)... 2 packs kena fine $200, one more time is go court .... dun prey prey also

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.