foreigners cant own a mooban unless you set up a company and use it capacity to buy it. depending on the subject u wanna teach, its not easy and the income can be low.sawatdee krup took kon.. a bro here... looking to settle down in Thailand (Chiangmai) within the next 5 years, preferably buying either a condo or a moo ban.. maybe looking for job as tuition teacher or something to supplement income... usually don't chat on forums but looking to make like-minded friends over at LOS and also contribute wat i know.. have a nice day..
hi pegasus,Sawatdee kaa, I'm Pegasus..not a guy (bro) 555. Planning to move to Bangkok soon (I hope). Most likely, will do the fly-in-n-out method with max 30 days' stay, even though I have a condo in centre Bangkok. I have been learning Thai thru Skype with a Thai teacher, so I know the basics. I do plan to bring up my Thai language proficiency to cover writing. So this means either getting a private teacher or going to a language school in Bkk.
For Singaporeans who wish to obtain long term stay in Thailand, there's a few visas available for us.
Mainly Tourist visa , education visa , work visa , spouse visa or if u are 50 years and above , retirement visa.
hi guys, i am also in thai for about few years now..
lets share our knowledge about thailand![]()
something to add on.. when u apply.. you are only given 3 months, then u need to extend at local immigration to a yearly visa.Touris i think have 2 mths/4 mths. Not very sure as last time i got
2 mths then heard can get 4 mths too. Marriage/retirement is one year, can be renew yearly. Ed i think also 1 year but have to study thai language or thai boxing something like that. Currently on marriage visa base on thai spouse, i could be wrong about the ED because never take before.![]()
nope not in bkk.. but in chonburi.. meet up are hard.. work is mon-sat.. and sunday is family time. hahaLiving in bkk.? Nice to meet u, living here for 2 years liao. Can meet up.
something to add on.. when u apply.. you are only given 3 months, then u need to extend at local immigration to a yearly visa.
not forgetting the troublesome 90 days reporting..
nope not in bkk.. but in chonburi.. meet up are hard.. work is mon-sat.. and sunday is family time. haha
nice knowing you too
oh.. never used a marriage visa.. so no idea.Hmm.. for marriage visa not 3 mths, straight away give one year already. Then renew for another year and so on lor.
Bookmarked this informative thread.... Been together with a thai girl going to 5 years... Been doing it the fly in fly out style 4-6 times yearly... My gf reside in Phuket and Khon kean.
not married.. but have a 2 yr old son.My wife sister is working there and living there too. Often drive over there too, heehee.. So u are married like me, have any kids.?
foreigners cant own a mooban unless you set up a company and use it capacity to buy it. depending on the subject u wanna teach, its not easy and the income can be low.
if you are too famous.. beware that immigration might be coming for you as you are considered workig without a WP..
oh.. never used a marriage visa.. so no idea.
but it depends on where u apply the visa at too?
some embassy dont need bank statement so they will only give u 3 months and after that extend in thai
yeah.. under wife's name also will be scary just imagine having a bad ending.. even a company.. foreigners cant 100% own it.hi bro. noted on the mooban. was tinking of buying under future wife's name. not sure on the hassle of setting up a company just for housing purchase. eligible for loan? understand there will be risk involved if under spouse name. or maybe condo under foreigner quota. all is still in preliminary planning stages.
teaching is only to pass some time and be busy. if not also hv to find something else to do.
Bro 5 years is a long time, mai tu liao. Faster marry and come here stay liao. Can hang out with me and Vbkk88. LOL
yeah.. under wife's name also will be scary just imagine having a bad ending.. even a company.. foreigners cant 100% own it.
Thai people prefer causian to teach english then asian.. haha
I bought a townhouse under my wife name, foreigners cannot buy house with land unless like set up company or etc. But very troublesome la then somemore i no business also, so i buy under my wife name. Condo is out for me because i have 2 pitbulls and condo cannot have dogs. And condo also more expensive lor.![]()
yeah bro.. so when u first apply it.. its only 3 months.. then u need to go immigration and show the 400k statement and they will give u 1 year right?
embassy issues visa.. immigration issues extension of stay..