Everything Thailand

Pegasus Sinbkk

hi pegasus,

for the 30 days max.. u can actually go to the immigration to extend for another 30 days for the fee of 1900B. so it will save u some airticket money.

Hi fightin,
Thanks for this info.

It's ok - I don't mind flying back & forth as air tix are already so cheap and I also have a home in SG.

fightin

ya. but i am jus normal sinkie. wont even be able to own a townhouse etc in SG. so only choice if wanna get would be under her name. sometimes hv to take a leap of faith, else no point being together or marry etc.

bro, can i check, ur townhouse under wife, hv to pay cash in full upfront or can take bank loan? wats the loan amount/percentage and interest? paiseh if i asked something too sensitive.
if under your wife name.. you can choose to pay in full or use your wife name to get a loan. Since your name is not in the townhouse, you wont be able to get the loan.

about getting the loan, its the same in SG, credit will be check.. so find someone who have a good record.. hahah

fightin

Get a non O first for 2 or 3 mths i can't remember. Then go to the immgration apply marriage visa, u need police clearance from sg, wedding cert registered in thai, photo of ur house, map of ur house, bank statement. if have all then they will issue u the marriage visa after one mth. But ur address have to be real one ah, because within one mth they may or may not go ur house check.
thanks for the clarification bro.. will be helpful for the others :)

zhaoshanhe

Get a non O first for 2 or 3 mths i can't remember. Then go to the immgration apply marriage visa, u need police clearance from sg, wedding cert registered in thai, photo of ur house, map of ur house, bank statement. if have all then they will issue u the marriage visa after one mth. But ur address have to be real one ah, because within one mth they may or may not go ur house check.

bro, for the police clearance from sg, how do u apply for it? any requirements to fulfill or anything?

edit: found it online. the link as follows for those interested. http://www.police.gov.sg/e-services/apply/certificate-of-clearance

if under your wife name.. you can choose to pay in full or use your wife name to get a loan. Since your name is not in the townhouse, you wont be able to get the loan.

about getting the loan, its the same in SG, credit will be check.. so find someone who have a good record.. hahah

understood. thanks for clarifying... :)

fightin

bro, for the police clearance from sg, how do u apply for it? any requirements to fulfill or anything?

edit: found it online. the link as follows for those interested. http://www.police.gov.sg/e-services/apply/certificate-of-clearance

not sure if i am right on this.. for the police clearance.. you will need to go to cantonment and apply for it.. CID division.. it costs about 50sgd

if you are in thai and plan to marry here.. u will need the police clearance too.. u need to get your finger print at Royal Thai Police HQ and send the documents back to sg.

Usually will get the results about 1 week?

Nitez86

Have to go cantoment i think. There is one department for the clearance, have to wait around 10 days for the results. So please have to settle any outstanding fines or charges if not cannot get the form. But the officers all know those who go there do clearance are those leaving or been posted to overseas so they know what to do.

zhaoshanhe

Baaa lor, i not that ah sia like u leh bro. If u want to put under ur wife name have to see ur wife income how much also then the bank will tell u how much u can loan and for how many years. I think the interest should be around 3% or 4%, can't really rmb clearly, got to check the papers. Case to case, but my parents got downpayment for me quite abit because my wife salary not say alot so i scare the loan cannot pass. :o:o

mai baa rok. i also not ah sia. kae bpen kon mai yak yuu Singapore. anyway, you guys can please correct me if i am wrong.

moo ban is something only thais can buy (akin to our HDB concept for Sinkies and PRs only) so there is some kind of price moat/ceiling for it? if one is not overstretching oneself and the price and location is comparable, aint it better to get a mooban as compared to condo (u get larger living space with amenties too etc)?

fightin

mai baa rok. i also not ah sia. kae bpen kon mai yak yuu Singapore. anyway, you guys can please correct me if i am wrong.

moo ban is something only thais can buy (akin to our HDB concept for Sinkies and PRs only) so there is some kind of price moat/ceiling for it? if one is not overstretching oneself and the price and location is comparable, aint it better to get a mooban as compared to condo (u get larger living space with amenties too etc)?
bro.. not all mooban have amentities.. mooban pay a higher maintenance fee than condo.. some people prefer to stay in condo cause its your private room with 4 walls only

a mooban with detached house.. you have to worry about your neighbour as well.. like they can build something which is so ugly and make your moobaan looks like some low class area..

well i am in chonburi.. a townhouse in a moobaan only costs 1.7mi baht.. a condo sometimes cost 1.1m (studio) or higher when are they gym and swimming pool factor in..

really up to individual.

Nitez86

There is no price range for townhouse to be honest, i've seen 80 million thb townhouse, very big & luxury. I also seen 2 million thb townhouse, compact & so so. Condo can be very expensive if u r going for 2 bedrooms up. I stay condo before, windy, no mosquito, more safety. Cannot keep dogs cannot wash car. Cos i have 2 pitbulls and i have the habit of washing my 2 cars myself, i dunno why but just dun like to send my cars for ppl to wash, got this habit so townhouse is my only choice.

zhaoshanhe

bro.. not all mooban have amentities.. mooban pay a higher maintenance fee than condo.. some people prefer to stay in condo cause its your private room with 4 walls only

a mooban with detached house.. you have to worry about your neighbour as well.. like they can build something which is so ugly and make your moobaan looks like some low class area..

well i am in chonburi.. a townhouse in a moobaan only costs 1.7mi baht.. a condo sometimes cost 1.1m (studio) or higher when are they gym and swimming pool factor in..

really up to individual.

luckily there's this thread and u guys to help provide advice and experience. i will consider all these before making more concrete plans. Thanks.

another query for discussion, u guys register your marriage here in SG first then in Thailand right? that's supposedly the correct procedure right?

fightin

luckily there's this thread and u guys to help provide advice and experience. i will consider all these before making more concrete plans. Thanks.

another query for discussion, u guys register your marriage here in SG first then in Thailand right? that's supposedly the correct procedure right?
i am not married so nitez will be the man for u.. haha

but it depends on you to marry in sg or thai.

Nitez86

I didn't registed in sg, i just went back sg get the letter from ROM stating i am free to marry then i registed in thailand. Cos i dun see a point why i need to register in sg as i will be staying here. Bro marriage nothing to worry once u get all the papers ready u r gd to go, it's the sinot thing tat is headache.

fightin

I didn't registed in sg, i just went back sg get the letter from ROM stating i am free to marry then i registed in thailand. Cos i dun see a point why i need to register in sg as i will be staying here. Bro marriage nothing to worry once u get all the papers ready u r gd to go, it's the sinot thing tat is headache.
i am lucky that i dont have to worry about the sin sod.. gf parents had passed on.. left auntie and grand parents.. they only ask me mai tong mee gik.. haha

and every month they are sending money for my son too.. haha

Nitez86

i am lucky that i dont have to worry about the sin sod.. gf parents had passed on.. left auntie and grand parents.. they only ask me mai tong mee gik.. haha

and every month they are sending money for my son too.. haha

U choke dee lor, the wife family well to do. I seen some ppl pay sinsod up to 1 million thb de lor. Siao one lor, but they said is actually depending on the family background and education level of the daughter. Means if the daughter got more value then more expensive lor, i was thinking next time old liao value drop le can refund ma.

fightin

U choke dee lor, the wife family well to do. I seen some ppl pay sinsod up to 1 million thb de lor. Siao one lor, but they said is actually depending on the family background and education level of the daughter. Means if the daughter got more value then more expensive lor, i was thinking next time old liao value drop le can refund ma.
normally they will give some of it back right? her families are farmers but are being respected in that district..

they are selling the jasmine flowers where u can hang inside your car.. very good business..

krungtep and upcountry are really different

Nitez86

normally they will give some of it back right? her families are farmers but are being respected in that district..

they are selling the jasmine flowers where u can hang inside your car.. very good business..

krungtep and upcountry are really different

They said it's for the sake of face. So that relatives and friends know that the husband have the ability to take care their daughter. Some will give back full some will give back half, be it they return u full or half u have to fork out the cash first liao.

theking_smen

They said it's for the sake of face. So that relatives and friends know that the husband have the ability to take care their daughter. Some will give back full some will give back half, be it they return u full or half u have to fork out the cash first liao.

Yup for the sake of face... Even though my in-laws didn't ask for any sinsod. During the thai wedding ceremony still need to have some money to show off to everyone else...

turtlezhu

Sawatdee kaa, I'm Pegasus..not a guy (bro) 555. Planning to move to Bangkok soon (I hope). Most likely, will do the fly-in-n-out method with max 30 days' stay, even though I have a condo in centre Bangkok. I have been learning Thai thru Skype with a Thai teacher, so I know the basics. I do plan to bring up my Thai language proficiency to cover writing. So this means either getting a private teacher or going to a language school in Bkk.

wadee p.j i tot your gone so you been lurking around!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.