Everything Thailand

DNAT11

good ar, next time i wanna know or ask things can come in here ... 555

fightin

sawatdee krup took kon.. a bro here... looking to settle down in Thailand (Chiangmai) within the next 5 years, preferably buying either a condo or a moo ban.. maybe looking for job as tuition teacher or something to supplement income... usually don't chat on forums but looking to make like-minded friends over at LOS and also contribute wat i know.. have a nice day..
foreigners cant own a mooban unless you set up a company and use it capacity to buy it. depending on the subject u wanna teach, its not easy and the income can be low.

if you are too famous.. beware that immigration might be coming for you as you are considered workig without a WP..

fightin

Sawatdee kaa, I'm Pegasus..not a guy (bro) 555. Planning to move to Bangkok soon (I hope). Most likely, will do the fly-in-n-out method with max 30 days' stay, even though I have a condo in centre Bangkok. I have been learning Thai thru Skype with a Thai teacher, so I know the basics. I do plan to bring up my Thai language proficiency to cover writing. So this means either getting a private teacher or going to a language school in Bkk.
hi pegasus,

for the 30 days max.. u can actually go to the immigration to extend for another 30 days for the fee of 1900B. so it will save u some airticket money.

Hidy Ho

For Singaporeans who wish to obtain long term stay in Thailand, there's a few visas available for us.

Mainly Tourist visa , education visa , work visa , spouse visa or if u are 50 years and above , retirement visa.

What visa do you have?

fightin

Touris i think have 2 mths/4 mths. Not very sure as last time i got
2 mths then heard can get 4 mths too. Marriage/retirement is one year, can be renew yearly. Ed i think also 1 year but have to study thai language or thai boxing something like that. Currently on marriage visa base on thai spouse, i could be wrong about the ED because never take before. :o:o
something to add on.. when u apply.. you are only given 3 months, then u need to extend at local immigration to a yearly visa.

not forgetting the troublesome 90 days reporting..

Nitez86

something to add on.. when u apply.. you are only given 3 months, then u need to extend at local immigration to a yearly visa.

not forgetting the troublesome 90 days reporting..

Hmm.. for marriage visa not 3 mths, straight away give one year already. Then renew for another year and so on lor.

Nitez86

nope not in bkk.. but in chonburi.. meet up are hard.. work is mon-sat.. and sunday is family time. haha

nice knowing you too

My wife sister is working there and living there too. Often drive over there too, heehee.. So u are married like me, have any kids.?

fightin

Hmm.. for marriage visa not 3 mths, straight away give one year already. Then renew for another year and so on lor.
oh.. never used a marriage visa.. so no idea.
but it depends on where u apply the visa at too?

some embassy dont need bank statement so they will only give u 3 months and after that extend in thai

Nitez86

Bookmarked this informative thread.... Been together with a thai girl going to 5 years... Been doing it the fly in fly out style 4-6 times yearly... My gf reside in Phuket and Khon kean.

Bro 5 years is a long time, mai tu liao. Faster marry and come here stay liao. Can hang out with me and Vbkk88. LOL

fightin

My wife sister is working there and living there too. Often drive over there too, heehee.. So u are married like me, have any kids.?
not married.. but have a 2 yr old son. :)

yeah.. bkk to chon is really near with motorways

zhaoshanhe

foreigners cant own a mooban unless you set up a company and use it capacity to buy it. depending on the subject u wanna teach, its not easy and the income can be low.

if you are too famous.. beware that immigration might be coming for you as you are considered workig without a WP..

hi bro. noted on the mooban. was tinking of buying under future wife's name. not sure on the hassle of setting up a company just for housing purchase. eligible for loan? understand there will be risk involved if under spouse name. or maybe condo under foreigner quota. all is still in preliminary planning stages.

teaching is only to pass some time and be busy. if not also hv to find something else to do.

Nitez86

oh.. never used a marriage visa.. so no idea.
but it depends on where u apply the visa at too?

some embassy dont need bank statement so they will only give u 3 months and after that extend in thai

The thai immgration will require a sum of 400k thb in a thai acc under ur name. Or u can show a income proof monthly of 40k thb. But because i am not working so there is no income proof so i deposited 400kthb in a acc lor. I think standard all marriage visa is one year liao. But got to go back sg do police clearance all these, kind of troublesome, But once u got all these done then sabai liao.

fightin

hi bro. noted on the mooban. was tinking of buying under future wife's name. not sure on the hassle of setting up a company just for housing purchase. eligible for loan? understand there will be risk involved if under spouse name. or maybe condo under foreigner quota. all is still in preliminary planning stages.

teaching is only to pass some time and be busy. if not also hv to find something else to do.
yeah.. under wife's name also will be scary just imagine having a bad ending.. even a company.. foreigners cant 100% own it.

Thai people prefer causian to teach english then asian.. haha

theking_smen

Bro 5 years is a long time, mai tu liao. Faster marry and come here stay liao. Can hang out with me and Vbkk88. LOL

HAHA... thanks for the invite... I want also... But must save and earn enough money first... Just did our thai wedding ceremony in Dec... Spend quite a bit...

fightin

yeah bro.. so when u first apply it.. its only 3 months.. then u need to go immigration and show the 400k statement and they will give u 1 year right?

embassy issues visa.. immigration issues extension of stay..

zhaoshanhe

yeah.. under wife's name also will be scary just imagine having a bad ending.. even a company.. foreigners cant 100% own it.

Thai people prefer causian to teach english then asian.. haha

ya. but i am jus normal sinkie. wont even be able to own a townhouse etc in SG. so only choice if wanna get would be under her name. sometimes hv to take a leap of faith, else no point being together or marry etc.

I bought a townhouse under my wife name, foreigners cannot buy house with land unless like set up company or etc. But very troublesome la then somemore i no business also, so i buy under my wife name. Condo is out for me because i have 2 pitbulls and condo cannot have dogs. And condo also more expensive lor. :o:s12:

bro, can i check, ur townhouse under wife, hv to pay cash in full upfront or can take bank loan? wats the loan amount/percentage and interest? paiseh if i asked something too sensitive.

Nitez86

yeah bro.. so when u first apply it.. its only 3 months.. then u need to go immigration and show the 400k statement and they will give u 1 year right?

embassy issues visa.. immigration issues extension of stay..

Get a non O first for 2 or 3 mths i can't remember. Then go to the immgration apply marriage visa, u need police clearance from sg, wedding cert registered in thai, photo of ur house, map of ur house, bank statement. if have all then they will issue u the marriage visa after one mth. But ur address have to be real one ah, because within one mth they may or may not go ur house check.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.