First time in 10 years enter JB and here is my take

pohw0008

@TUV2008 ..chu said dtf 20 p cheaper. Let put the meal is 100 sgd in sg . In jb. u paid the same meal set for 80 sgd or around 240 rm??

Mean the cost of foods and fb dtf in jb are more costly in jb le...
Assume chu eat 100 dollars meal.. then 240 is high sia. Not on currency rate exchange.

@moonlighter_sg @mcylo @networked @MoeLanYong @1982-1994 agreed above?
Maybe he haven't eat dtf in Singapore for quite some time? Now the price probably alot higher..

Encouragesome1

if have own vehicle, still not too bad

if staying out of the north zone & going in by public transportation, can come by once in a while imo

:o
For a mah and other lkk ppl, if u got lot of time to spend and crowd with ppl, mostly ok can visit during off peak hrs after 10 ish and before 5 pm reach back sg.

if just buy 3-5 things not very worth cos need take leave and saving is 15-25%. Maybe if have 3 high or more and / need go for medication purchase n meds are costly here then still worth. If u r mg or pg subsidies apply for ur chronic illness management then maybe not so worth.

If go staycation or do those big ticket items then 15-25% worth the difference eg my friends went for durian, spa, hair treatment, mani pedi , dental braces n other out of panel coverage treatment etc.

Zangief

Roman spa still around or not. The jaccuzi world class standard sia can look out enjoy scenery one.

TUV2008

Really

you got to come JB to taste for yourself

SG DTF much nicer

I just had SG DTF last week

Based on their signature fried rice, the one I try in JB is as good as in SG, the prawn is also fresh... Vegetables looks very fresh and serving portion is reasonable

TUV2008

I know of a place at TPY is 1 hour $33

The lowest in SG is at People Park. I go there once a week... $20 per hour without loyalty card, $25 with loyalty card, the rate is quite standard there.

tessss

Really

you got to come JB to taste for yourself

SG DTF much nicer

I just had SG DTF last week
i agree. DTF SG taste alot better than DTF JB city square(non-halal).
there are some DTF outlets which is Halal. eg. mid valley. which tastes every worse.

thats why you dont really see much queues at DTF JB city square. people rather go eat the meng meng roast duck located at some ulu corner.

KPO_SAHM

Your price comparison is 1:1? ... but you spend RM.

There are a lot of sinkies run shops n eateries there. My relative is doing wholesale . His customers buy the goods from him n sell in jb. How much do U think his customers have to sell as compared to sinkies customers who buy n sell in sink

KPO_SAHM

i agree. DTF SG taste alot better than DTF JB city square(non-halal).
there are some DTF outlets which is Halal. eg. mid valley. which tastes every worse.

thats why you dont really see much queues at DTF JB city square. people rather go eat the meng meng roast duck located at some ulu corner.

Hala DTF is cheap but taste bad as Chinese food MUST USE CHINESE COOKING WINE. imagine no Chinese cooking wine used for all food....i ordered stir-fried spinach......it tasted so awful. Their dumplings is not pork . And ginger is not fresh ginger . They use preserved sweet ginger for century egg. Vinegar also not using Tiong vinegar....it's malays vinegar . I ate once n will never ever go back again!

DebtfreeDilemma

Bukit Indah has very nice Korean BBQ value for money and seafood Zi char. Mount Austin exudes an entirely different peaceful feel with low rise buildings

LoaGong12

yesterday feel bo liao and decided to take a day off and go to JB to see see look look. here is my take for the one day experience in JB for the first time after 10 years.

1. took the CW2 from queen street in the morning, the ride was smooth with no jam. 11 am boarded the bus and by 12 noon i am in JB. despite is a weekday I see long queue at the car lane.... now i know taking bus is better choice for time and efficiency

2. overall no big surprises, check point has improved significantly with new immigration clearnace like in airport

3. went to the DTF and City Square for a quick lunch... surprised with the menu is having more options than SG's DTF, also a pleasant surprise that many options for vegetarian on the menu. the price is about 20% cheaper than SG. I was expecting 30-50% cheaper, so the price is not really cheap IMO

4. Took a grab from city square to KSL, cost only RM5, quite a good deal for 4 of us.

5. went for a foot massage at KSL, RM 49 per hour, about S$5 cheaper than you can find in people park. also to my surprise not really that cheap.

6. Order two XO durians outside KSL that cost me RM 100, the quality met my expectation, price is reasonable.

7. Bought 500 g of cuttlefish that cost me RM 150, not sure if this is cheap or tio chop?

8. at about 7pm, we took the bus back to queen street from city square

overall experience is 6.5/10. will go in once a while but not a regular
u take bus cannot buy cooking oil and toilet paper!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.