fitness first

bochup84

Brother bochup the studio capacity has increased by 70% and there is no need to pre bookings for gym floor usage and pool usage.

With unlimited booking privileges and 70% increase in number of slots island-wide,
securing a spot to your favourite group fitness class(es) has never been easier.
Huh unlimited ... doesn't it mean more competition liao cos there will be those people who book multiple classes de leh.

Unic0rn

Huh unlimited ... doesn't it mean more competition liao cos there will be those people who book multiple classes de leh.
Now the classes no longer groups of 5 at 10 or 20 people, is now much more. Some places like junction 10 allows more than 50+ participants per class

roborovsky

People can book many classes, but there's a limit as to the number of classes 1 can attend cos we're human afterall. So if you are willing to waitlist those you can't get during booking time, chances are your wait list will become a confirmed booking. The number of cancellation is just shocking. You can probably able to book a class last minute in case you suddenly feel like attending.

If you have friends who still are members, you can ask them to show you the booking situation for the past few days, many classes have more than 3 spots left.
Might be the effect of 75% WFO, but definitely the effect of increased class capacity.

That said, it seems that they really maxed out the class capacity based exactly on the 1m rule. Now we've lesser space to move shuffle, kick, or spread out the weights. I do feel a bit uncomfortable with the increased capacity cos we havd enjoyed more personal space for the last 2 years due to SMM implemented in the gym.

Unic0rn

Now we've lesser space to move shuffle, kick, or spread out the weights. I do feel a bit uncomfortable with the increased capacity cos we havd enjoyed more personal space for the last 2 years due to SMM implemented in the gym.
ah i see bro roborov you have been to LM bodycombat and bodypump classes 😊

bochup84

People can book many classes, but there's a limit as to the number of classes 1 can attend cos we're human afterall. So if you are willing to waitlist those you can't get during booking time, chances are your wait list will become a confirmed booking. The number of cancellation is just shocking. You can probably able to book a class last minute in case you suddenly feel like attending.

If you have friends who still are members, you can ask them to show you the booking situation for the past few days, many classes have more than 3 spots left.
Might be the effect of 75% WFO, but definitely the effect of increased class capacity.

That said, it seems that they really maxed out the class capacity based exactly on the 1m rule. Now we've lesser space to move shuffle, kick, or spread out the weights. I do feel a bit uncomfortable with the increased capacity cos we havd enjoyed more personal space for the last 2 years due to SMM implemented in the gym.
I see. Thank you for the insights!
WRT max number of classes one can attend hor, cos AMK hub I ever see people who are there the whole day on weekends attending back to back classes, I am still quite concerned lar.

roborovsky

WRT max number of classes one can attend hor, cos AMK hub I ever see people who are there the whole day on weekends attending back to back classes, I am still quite concerned lar.
AMK club is 1 crazy club, there the people also booked like nobody's biz, but also cancel like nobody's biz 🤣
I think 1 of the reason is many members there only signed up home club membership, so they can't go to other clubs.
Apart from a couple of super popular classes (likely due to timing too), the rest if can't get just put on wait list. Otherwise just go try other clubs lah. Be more flexible, you'll definitely get to attend a class.

bochup84

AMK club is 1 crazy club, there the people also booked like nobody's biz, but also cancel like nobody's biz 🤣
I think 1 of the reason is many members there only signed up home club membership, so they can't go to other clubs.
Apart from a couple of super popular classes (likely due to timing too), the rest if can't get just put on wait list. Otherwise just go try other clubs lah. Be more flexible, you'll definitely get to attend a class.
Hais. From work and home my nearest club is AMK hub lor. Weekday no energy run to paragon lar. Actually if the weights area at AMK improve hor I don’t mind go there lift weights also. But the floor not even one hor I go there deadlift always feel like accident gng to happen. But then again the evening crowd at weights area not very nice vibes sometimes so I also don’t enjoy working out there.

Unic0rn

Properly doing a class will burn up to 800 over calories and no energy to do beyond 2 classes ie bodypump + bodycombat. Most attend classes for the group exercises and didn’t do properly to attain the proper workout effect ie brace the core, energy starts from base legs to upper body, proper speed and power ie those aunties cross jab no speed and no power ie those ladies only bouncing around w/o power in their strikes. A properly done move when contacted will send the unfortunate contact stumbling onto the studio ground.
Hais. From work and home my nearest club is AMK hub lor. Weekday no energy run to paragon lar. Actually if the weights area at AMK improve hor I don’t mind go there lift weights also. But the floor not even one hor I go there deadlift always feel like accident gng to happen. But then again the evening crowd at weights area not very nice vibes sometimes so I also don’t enjoy working out there.
Paragon is nearby along the way from work on the red line and is a much better club in terms of facilities.

Turalyon

I am thinking to join the capital towers branch to do classes during lunch time. Is it hard to get slots for classes? Why is there an add on charge for hiit classes? What classes can I join with the basic membership?

roborovsky

I am thinking to join the capital towers branch to do classes during lunch time. Is it hard to get slots for classes? Why is there an add on charge for hiit classes? What classes can I join with the basic membership?
If you are talking about the $125 gym only membership, then you cannot attend any class. Only use the gym and pool.

If you have an active AIA policy, it's better to join the AIA Vitality program and join FF with Vitality discount. You get access to all clubs and all classes under this discounted membership.

Turalyon

If you are talking about the $125 gym only membership, then you cannot attend any class. Only use the gym and pool.

If you have an active AIA policy, it's better to join the AIA Vitality program and join FF with Vitality discount. You get access to all clubs and all classes under this discounted membership.
Thanks for your reply. Anyone knows if it is easy to book for classes for lunch time on weekdays? Are the classes very crowded now that most people are back to working in office?

roborovsky

Thanks for your reply. Anyone knows if it is easy to book for classes for lunch time on weekdays? Are the classes very crowded now that most people are back to working in office?
I helped you see the classes booking at capital tower and 100 AM, for tomorrow and Tuesday lunch time classes are still available for booking (more than 3 spots available) at this moment.

Unic0rn

Best is their platinum passport membership able to visit other Fitness First clubs worldwide and all Fitness First clubs islandwide. $198 per month I think pre pandemic, now should be cheaper?

Turalyon

I helped you see the classes booking at capital tower and 100 AM, for tomorrow and Tuesday lunch time classes are still available for booking (more than 3 spots available) at this moment.
Thank you for checking it out. Need a place to work out after going back to office.

PictureHouse

125? All branches? True a not haha..

Lol

roborovsky

125? All branches? True a not haha..

Lol
Pls read.

I didn't say 125 for all clubs.
I replied to a question, thus 125 for gym only at Capital Tower for gym and pool use only.

One can join FF under AIA VITALITY discount if want cheaper than public rates and want to have access to all clubs and all classes.

Unic0rn

Relax brothers platinum passport membership allows you to be able to visit other Fitness First clubs worldwide and all Fitness First clubs islandwide in SG for all classes, gym and swimming pool usage. Okay!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.