Flying to Hangzhou!

Firestorm1978

The only palatable food in Beijing

I feel was peking duck and 涮羊肉

But can’t possibly eat those everyday…

Guangzhou blindfold also can anyhow eat comforting food
The peking duck found in Beijing is really one of a kind (if you go to the really good ones). Damn shiok!

I love the ones at Da Dong and Shi Ji Min Fu. The skin is so crispy and fragrant......it's as if eating pork lard (but with duck aroma overload!)

Full_Cream_Milk

The peking duck found in Beijing is really one of a kind (if you go to the really good ones). Damn shiok!

I love the ones at Da Dong and Shi Ji Min Fu. The skin is so crispy and fragrant......it's as if eating pork lard (but with duck aroma overload!)
Yup had at both

Including 小大董 which I have no wonder why they branch out so confusingly like that.

Overall, I still prefer Guangdong style duck

Firestorm1978

it's a very old hotel so folks stay there for nostalgic reasons - just like our Raffles Hotel hahah

We wanted to try the famous restaurant there but decided against it - don't want to kena chop carrot :ROFLMAO:
Kena chop gao gao confirm! The taste is also nothing fantastic. E.g. the dong po rou........can get 10x tastier ones outside at 10x cheaper prices. Same goes for their 'special' fish and 'secret' dishes. Rather call DiDi takeaway. LOL

Firestorm1978

Yup had at both

Including 小大董 which I have no wonder why they branch out so confusingly like that.

If you prefer the crispy crispy duck skin type........go for those peking duck.

If you prefer the 'traditional' roast duck/goose similar to what we taste here............go for the Guangdong style duck (still much better than ours). SLURP. Will never forget the juicy goose meat there.

Firestorm1978

Food in Beijing is pathetic too.

It’s not called 美食荒漠 for no reason.

All the unappetising “food” passed down from their olden days like

卤煮 炒干 豆汁儿 etc

The presentation see already no appetite.

Eat also the taste not nice.

Prefer southern food more to my preference especially Guangdong
美食荒漠.........actually it seems Hangzhou has this term too................but still find it better than Beijing's. Other than its Peking duck......the other items are generally meh.

Can get so much better from cities like Shenzhen, Chengdu, Guangzhou e.t.c.

Firestorm1978

Was considered staying at peace hotel

But didn’t feel it’s worth the price.

Besides, I don’t need to go the Bund every single day even though it’s just 50m away.

Only went for the evening jazz session performed by ah laos
You didn't lose out much. Totally not worth the price. If want 'nostalgic' feel type of hotels, there are so many out there for a fraction of its price. The Hutongs there is one option.

Firestorm1978

Yup had at both

For just $20++, can sometimes even get the entire duck (they even give you the whole deck of the duck) from Didi. Shiok sia.

jgrader

the shifu use their mouth blow into duck so taste good

maikumgong

I had one of the best peking duck at 喜悦 in Xiyue building itself. Tok gong

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.