Fourth Avenue Residences

Passerboy

I go turf city buy car, not buy house :(
Believe it or not, I only went to Turf City less than five times in my life haha to Jiak the Ahyat seafood! Last time I rmb TPY got direct shuttle there now no more alr.. it’s a super inconvenient location and nothing there one.

not sure what plans are installed for that place, in fact, it might be more worthwhile to continue leasing it to Turf City.

NiShiZhu

Believe it or not, I only went to Turf City less than five times in my life haha to Jiak the Ahyat seafood! Last time I rmb TPY got direct shuttle there now no more alr.. it’s a super inconvenient location and nothing there one.

not sure what plans are installed for that place, in fact, it might be more worthwhile to continue leasing it to Turf City.
I go there still need to drive a car in order to buy another car :(

bujingyun82

You guys don’t live around the area. I go grandstand from time to time too. Easy to park and free parking (who doesn’t love free parking). Chill place with decent food within a short drive from my area.

GT1099

Old Holland plains GLS many short short plots still no release yet. Turf city plot pretty huge, think future future lo.
Short short plot ratio usually predominantly private enclave so see the plot ratio ba.
Saw from a planned tender construction projects document from BCA that URA intends to call for tender to prepare the land at Holland Plain in the Q42021. So my guess is by the time the land is ready for new launches, it will be around 2023.

GT1099

I think Grandstand currently provides free shuttle service everyday that drops off/pick up at sixth avenue station and a few other stops along Bt Timah. I suppose the inaccessibility calls for such a measure to bring more footfall. But agree that there isn't much things going for the mall.

Passerboy

I go there still need to drive a car in order to buy another car :(
Lucky u got car, I think last time when there was no Grab, there also hard to get a cab haha.. u literally need to walk out..
I think Grandstand currently provides free shuttle service everyday that drops off/pick up at sixth avenue station and a few other stops along Bt Timah. I suppose the inaccessibility calls for such a measure to bring more footfall. But agree that there isn't much things going for the mall.
Previously if I am right, there was shuttle bus to TPY, AMK and Bedok interchange many many years ago (more than 15y) then I think w the shuttle bus they realise no one go there too partly cos there is nothing there except the seafood, then it’s abolished.

normoh

My hairy crystal balls predict that the turf city will be cross island station as predicted by stacked with small shopping centre like coronation plaza and the rest will be cluster terrace housing and short short lux condo. But then would the GCB enclaves there be enough to support the station?

1993newbie

My hairy crystal balls predict that the turf city will be cross island station as predicted by stacked with small shopping centre like coronation plaza and the rest will be cluster terrace housing and short short lux condo. But then would the GCB enclaves there be enough to support the station?
To be fair, Bukit Brown & Mount Pleasant area already have a station built for future usage. Do you see the area to be able to support it now?

Support a station or not is subjective. Irregardless of social status, mrt provides convenience for everyone.
Sekali who knows one day we might want to visit friend(s) in this GCB enclave, no car le thus MRT comes in handy :)

normoh

To be fair, Bukit Brown & Mount Pleasant area already have a station built for future usage. Do you see the area to be able to support it now?

Support a station or not is subjective. Irregardless of social status, mrt provides convenience for everyone.
Sekali who knows one day we might want to visit friend(s) in this GCB enclave, no car le thus MRT comes in handy :)
Same like the Buangkok and Woodliegh mrt comes to mind when they refused to open with the rest of the NEL cos operator cite the low numbers of users. Dunno if this could be the case but it does not make sense like you said. There got bus service also?

When got friends stay GCB intro leh...unless it's Eric la.

Anyway Bukit Brown may be serving non-paying customers as they try to make way to new haunting sites...🤭

Passerboy

Same like the Buangkok and Woodliegh mrt comes to mind when they refused to open with the rest of the NEL cos operator cite the low numbers of users. Dunno if this could be the case but it does not make sense like you said. There got bus service also?

When got friends stay GCB intro leh...unless it's Eric la.

Anyway Bukit Brown may be serving non-paying customers as they try to make way to new haunting sites...🤭
Properties at Buangkok and Woodleigh has skyrocketed wor especially Woodleigh.. now as high as CCR condos.

nothing there at Bukit Brown or Mount Pleasant..

GT1099

Speaking about cross island line, I wonder which part of downtown line it will intersect at. Stackedhomes guessed it's going to be at KAP, but there are rumours also that it might be at Beauty World or Sixth Avenue MRT.

Though my guess is that its unlikely to be at Sixth Avenue, if it actually happens, FAR got higher chance of better capital appreciation.

normoh

Speaking about cross island line, I wonder which part of downtown line it will intersect at. Stackedhomes guessed it's going to be at KAP, but there are rumours also that it might be at Beauty World or Sixth Avenue MRT.

Though my guess is that its unlikely to be at Sixth Avenue, if it actually happens, FAR got higher chance of better capital appreciation.
They will need to minimize the effects of tunneling, so KAP or Beauty World is the likely ones. If not it'll be Novena forced en-block all over again.

GT1099

They will need to minimize the effects of tunneling, so KAP or Beauty World is the likely ones. If not it'll be Novena forced en-block all over again.
Able to elaborate why Sixth Avenue would have more tunneling implications as compared to the other 2 stations? Didn't quite understand this part. Thanks!

normoh

Able to elaborate why Sixth Avenue would have more tunneling implications as compared to the other 2 stations? Didn't quite understand this part. Thanks!
https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/possible-cross-island-line-mrt-stations-phase-2/#gs.c9mh0n
https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/...e-thomson-road-building-demolition/#gs.c9mlf1
This is just my opinion la. I think govt dun want irate GCB owners coming to them complaining about cracked walls and such like circle line that time. If demand compensation damm headache. Best is they tunnel along the major roads cos then if anything ownself complain ownself.

But then again hor that way will be longer and more $$$. Now i see Sixth Ave more likely as they can tunnel under less houses and to holland green then to maju and clementi.

Wah. Really stress sia trying to justify my opinion. Then those ppl involved in ther planning sure white hair thinking about this one.

GT1099

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/possible-cross-island-line-mrt-stations-phase-2/#gs.c9mh0n
https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/...e-thomson-road-building-demolition/#gs.c9mlf1
This is just my opinion la. I think govt dun want irate GCB owners coming to them complaining about cracked walls and such like circle line that time. If demand compensation damm headache. Best is they tunnel along the major roads cos then if anything ownself complain ownself.

But then again hor that way will be longer and more $$$. Now i see Sixth Ave more likely as they can tunnel under less houses and to holland green then to maju and clementi.

Wah. Really stress sia trying to justify my opinion. Then those ppl involved in ther planning sure white hair thinking about this one.
Haha, thanks for sharing your thoughts. Yea, I can imagine people in the private enclave complaining if the tunneling affects them. Esp when there are VIPs staying there.

I recall Maplewood folks were complaining when KAP MRT was being built.

doolelu123

Hi all will like to get your opinion on which stack will you go for amongst the remaining 3BR + Study units - Stack 20, 23, or 37?

GT1099

Hi all will like to get your opinion on which stack will you go for amongst the remaining 3BR + Study units - Stack 20, 23, or 37?
The facing for all 3 units are not great so it might come down to the lesser of the evils. I happen to take a video of the model when I was at the showroom and was looking at it for reference.

37 - South-West Facing, but is directly facing back of Guthrie House, distance to the building is approximately 25m based on Google Earth. If you take any unit on 6 floor or below, you will be facing the office units but that also means you don't get the full blast of the sun. Units on 7 floor and above should be able to see some views though I would caution that 7 Floor would also be able to see the roof of the building which is unsightly. Higher floor units would also get more of the west sun.

23 and 20 faces each other and the playground (lower floor may get more noise). The distance between the 2 blocks (based on Stackedhome) is 8.2m which is quite close imo. In fact, 20 looks quite close to Block 10 as well. 23 may get some road noise also since its facing is relatively more inclined towards Bt Timah Road.

Since all blocks are facing at least one building, my preference would be to take 37 (units on 6 floor or below) since Guthrie House is much further away and I don't get the full blast of the sun. If you prefer views, then 8 floor or above in 37. But this is based purely on facing, without consideration of the different layouts available.

Food for thought :)

Prestigious

You guys don’t live around the area. I go grandstand from time to time too. Easy to park and free parking (who doesn’t love free parking). Chill place with decent food within a short drive from my area.
That’s what I do too. The shops and restaurants there, though not many, are to my liking.

normoh

Agree on the stack 37 of the 3.
37 - South-West Facing, but is directly facing back of Guthrie House, distance to the building is approximately 25m based on Google Earth. If you take any unit on 6 floor or below, you will be facing the office units but that also means you don't get the full blast of the sun. Units on 7 floor and above should be able to see some views though I would caution that 7 Floor would also be able to see the roof of the building which is unsightly. Higher floor units would also get more of the west sun.

Since all blocks are facing at least one building, my preference would be to take 37 (units on 6 floor or below) since Guthrie House is much further away and I don't get the full blast of the sun. If you prefer views, then 8 floor or above in 37. But this is based purely on facing, without consideration of the different layouts available.
Agree with Bro GT on stack 37 as the best of the 3. The other 2 just too close for comfort at 8.2m to each other.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.